We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
185 State Street, Boston, MA 02109-2627
E-mail hotel
Hotel direct offer!Early Summer Sale
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Traveluro
eDreams
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (405)
360
Panoramas (9)
Videos (4)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#59 of 97 hotels in Boston
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice

Harborside Inn is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Boston, offering a charming environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as Faneuil Hall Marketplace (0.2 mi) and Acorn Street (0.8 mi), guests of Harborside Inn can easily experience some of Boston's most well known attractions.

As your “home away from home,” the hotel rooms offer a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a refrigerator, and getting online is easy, with free wifi available.

Guests have access to 24 hour front desk, baggage storage, and newspaper while staying at Harborside Inn. In addition, Harborside Inn offers breakfast, which will help make your Boston trip additionally gratifying. And, as an added convenience, there is parking available to guests.

If you like Vietnamese restaurants, Harborside Inn is conveniently located near Pho Basil, Beantown Pho & Grill, and Pho Pasteur.

If you’re looking for something to do, Freedom Trail (0.6 mi), Boston Tea Party Ships & Museum (0.5 mi), and HarborWalk (0.1 mi) are a nice way to spend some time, and they are all within walking distance of Harborside Inn.

Enjoy your stay in Boston!

Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
Wifi
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Rate:Early Summer Sale
1764Reviews32Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 669
  • 745
  • 204
  • 81
  • 66
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
anaest wrote a review Jun 2022
Vancouver, Canada1441 contributions136 helpful votes
+1
The location is perfect, one street across Quincy Market, close to Aquarium and waterfront, with blue line train access right out of the door. The hotel has been renovated. It is quite nice but very dark inside whole day, regardless of bright sunlight outside. The door to the room is difficult to fiddle, it still use old fashion keys that is reusable ( I hope they clean it properly with alcohol after each guest - such unhygienic practice ). There is no drinking water in a bottle provided, no coffee or tea, no kettle, no microwave, there is just no way to make some hot drink in the morning. Tea and coffee is provided till 1030am only and you have to go downstairs to main lobby to get it. What a strange arrangement for a modern day hotel. When on vacation I like to wake up when I feel like it and have my coffee in my pyjama in the room - not happening here! The parking is at a garage that has no in out access. It is more like a car storage place for the length of the stay. You basically leave your car there and pay $39 per night until you check out. You are expected to use public transport during your stay. This could have been communicated during reservation so guests can plan accordingly. If we knew we would have returned the rental car earlier, before checking in to this hotel ( last few days of our New England trip before flying back from Boston ) instead of paying $39 per day for “storing” the car. It also affect our itinerary plan as we had planned for day trip out of Boston to Rockport and Providence. Each in out of the car park is a minimum of $18 on top of the $39. I wish I stayed else where with valet and in out parking despite the higher rate. In my opinion communication is either poor or intentionally vague or misleading. Also there are plenty of places around the area where you can park for around $24 per 24 hours. The reception could have mentioned that instead of just telling us to park where they perhaps have a kick back from the garage. Overall we didn’t like this hotel at all. From the unfriendly staffs to the poor amenities to the fiasco of the parking. Not recommended at all, especially if you have car with you.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Lombard, Innkeeper at Harborside Inn
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for staying with us, and for your detailed review. I'm sorry to hear that you felt we did not communicate with you throurally. As you booked with a third party (booking.com), it is hard to say exactly what we could have done to explain this better. When guests ask us about parking on the phone, or when they book directly with us we mention that we do not recommend renting a card and/or parking if you are not leaving the city. Our website clearly displays the price of parking as well. At check in our front desk mention the complimentary coffee and tea that happens each day. As far as we can tell there are no garages or lots on this half of the city that are less than the $39 per 24 hours. Most other garages in the city have a reset time of 5AM and will restart your daily fee at that time, costing you an extra day parking each day rather than per 24 hours. If you would like to provide more feedback about the unfriendly staff I would be happy to hear so we can work on training.
Read more
filup434 wrote a review Mar 2022
London, United Kingdom18 contributions8 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We really enjoyed our stay this past weekend. The location is incredible. My wife and I were joking that everything we wanted to do ended up being < .03 miles so we never got any steps in to walk off all that Italian food. The team at the front was really helpful and gave fantastic recommendations. I really enjoyed how the building holds some of the original brick walls and signage but it feels so new. Definitely recommend for other people who want to be centrally located and not pay too much.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Lombard, Innkeeper at Harborside Inn
Responded 12 Mar 2022
filup434, Thanks so much for your review. We're happy to hear that our staff were friendly and helpful! I'm also glad to hear that their recommendations and the location was so perfect for your visit. Hopefully you'll come back and stay with us again soon! The next time you are looking to visit Boston, feel free to give us a call at 617-723-7500 to book directly with our front desk team and score a discounted rate for returning guests!
Read more
TravelGirl80004 wrote a review Jun 2022
Arvada, Colorado195 contributions67 helpful votes
My husband and I stayed here for three nights and found it to be a really clean, nice place. We weren't in the room much but it's a fantastic location for sightseeing. The room looked recently update and was very clean. But the best part about staying here was the location. Right across the street from where you can pick up the hop on hop off buses. A short walk up the street to the Meeting House and loads of other historical sights. About a 10 minutes walk over to the North Shore area for Italian food. Right across the street from Boston Harbor.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Lombard, Innkeeper at Harborside Inn
Responded yesterday
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your kind review. I hope we will get yo host you next time you visit us again. When you do come back, don't for get to call our front desk and ask for our returning guest direct discount. 617.723.7500
Read more
FarAway05411025717 wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
This hotel is in a great location for all the place you want to go in Boston. It was located right near the Greenway, 1 block from the markets, and the aquarium. The inn has a unique layout which we found charming and not a problem. Our room was a 2nd floor city view. The window looked out over the street behind. Did not have problems with noise outside. The room was clean and had a refrigerator. The only thing lacking was space in the bathroom, hooks on the door for towels would have helped since we elected to not change towels everyday. The lack of an open bar was not a problem as there were 2 very good bar/restaurants within a 2 min. walk, one right behind the hotel that was great. The location and price made this the perfect hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Lombard, Innkeeper at Harborside Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your detailed review! We are glad that the location worked so well for your stay. While our prices are typically 10-20% less than the local chain hotels that are our competitors, we like to save our favorite returning guests even more money when the call us and book directly with our front desk team. The quickest way to reach them for your next trip is 617-723-7500.
Read more
Marta A wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Location is great and thats about it. The bar on-site isn't open. They're trying to get someone to lease it so...yea. the room in the annex building is called a cabin and is literally like and interior tiny cabin on a cruise ship. At 279$+++ it's really a ripoff and not worth it. Keep looking. Find somewhere else. We've stayed ar citizenm and bostonian. Both were less money and 100000000000 time better
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Lombard, Innkeeper at Harborside Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We try to very clearly explain the cabin rooms when booking, and when guests look them up on our website. We have listed the cabin rooms as "King Cabin - No windows" or "Double Queen Cabin - No Windows" to help clarify the room has no windows. While some guests do love this style because we are in the center of the city and the rooms hear none of the city sounds (traffic, street noise, etc), others prefer the more traditional room styles of our City View, or Atrium View rooms. Feel free to consider the other styles we have for your next trip.
Read more
ksgoldman wrote a review Jun 2022
Newton, Massachusetts28 contributions63 helpful votes
The hotel is okay. The lighting in the room and the bathroom is horrible. It's the darkest hotel room I've ever stayed in. Not sure why they don't provide better lighting. The bathroom is like an underground cave given how dark it is.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Terrible lighting - very dark in the room and bathroom
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Lombard, Innkeeper at Harborside Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback. We recently replaced many of our light fixtures and switches. We have three different styles of switches, the standard house-style light switch, the large dimmer-style light switch, and our new switches which have dimmers built in as a small slider next to the rocker switch itself. We like to have a "welcome glow" upon entering which we are able to achieve by lowering the dimmers to a low setting. If you raise the dimmer on the side of the switches than it should be much lighter in the room.
Read more
foanie wrote a review Jun 2022
Frimley62 contributions22 helpful votes
The hotel is in a fantastic location, right next to the Aquarium T stop, close to the waterfront area (no surprise given the name) and very close to the freedom trail by the Old State House. The rooms were great as were the staff. The only thing we were surprised about was that there was no tea/coffee making facility in the room, instead there was coffee available in the bar from 7-10.30am. Also the bar is currently shut because of COVID.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Lombard, Innkeeper at Harborside Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and loved the location. I hope you will get a chance to come back and visit again. If you do make sure to call our front desk team directly for the best returning guest discount at 617.723.7500.
Read more
Rachel C wrote a review May 2022
Chelsea, Massachusetts24 contributions5 helpful votes
I traveled for business in February. This hotel is very close to where I needed to be, and it's in a super convenient location. The lobby is really nice. The hotel rooms are a bit dated, but it was clean and comfortable and spacious for what you normally see in downtown Boston hotels. You could hear a lot of street noise, and there are bars right across the street so the Friday night stay was a bit loud.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Lombard, Innkeeper at Harborside Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. We are glad the location worked so well for your stay. We do have some rooms that do not face the street (Atrium View), and some rooms that are cabin style (Cabin King) for guests that are more sensitive to noise. When you come back if you would like to discuss what option may be better for your stay feel free to call our front desk directly at 617-723-7500 to make your reservation.
Read more
Ann M wrote a review May 2022
8 contributions
Clean, quiet, great service, outstanding location. Both desk and housekeeping attentive, friendly, professional. We booked a king room with sofa sleeper, high floor with a view. We loved the view and room size was very adequate for two adults. Very nice bathroom. Beds comfy. Will stay here on our next Boston trip, absolutely. Loved it!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Lombard, Innkeeper at Harborside Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your kind words, we will share your feedback with the desk and housekeeping team. We hope you will be back soon. When you do come back make sure to call our team at 617-723-7500 so we can give you the best direct discount.
Read more
Barb C wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions
Friendly, helpful staff. Clean hotel. Really great coffee each morning! Very quiet rooms, bathrooms updated and nice. Beds comfortable. We enjoyed staying there and would highly recommend this place!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Lombard, Innkeeper at Harborside Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your kind words, I hope we will get to see you again soon! When you come back don't forget to call our front desk team directly for the best returning guest discount.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$299 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
harborside hotel boston, harborside inn boston
LOCATION
United StatesMassachusettsBostonFinancial District / Downtown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
116
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Harborside Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Harborside Inn?
Nearby attractions include Cocktails & Cannoli (0.4 km), Cashunt Boston - Private Games (0.3 km), and Boston Crawling (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Harborside Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a business centre, and breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Harborside Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Harborside Inn?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Harborside Inn?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Harborside Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Salumeria Italiana, Monica’s Mercato, and North Street Grille.
Is Harborside Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Boston.
Are there any historical sites close to Harborside Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Printing Office of Edes & Gill (0.7 km), Old North Church & Historic Site (0.8 km), and Longfellow House Washington's Headquarters National Historic Site (6.3 km).
Is Harborside Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.