We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Commonwealth

Save
Share
500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$581
Hotels.com$581
eDreams$544
FindHotel$611
Travelocity$581
Priceline$616
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (843)
360
Panoramas (73)
Room & Suite (758)

About

#28 of 99 hotels in Boston
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Modern interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Paid public parking on-site
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room service
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
On-demand films
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
43Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
24Attractionswithin 0.5 km
5240Reviews46Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 4,014
  • 859
  • 233
  • 90
  • 44
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Oversized wrote a review Oct 2021
London, United Kingdom58 contributions59 helpful votes
It’s a hip and nice hotel and after a long day watching the regatta and walking for miles we were ready for a sound night’s sleep. Except there was music blaring. Call to reception was evasive and was told I had to wait for security to come up and confirm the readily apparent noise. Waited twelve minutes, no one came. Called reception again and was told we could move to another wing/floor. Repacked and we’re met by security who did admit the noise was internal to the hotel. On check out was offered a $100 credit. So didn’t press the point as I was too tired to ask for more. But with surge pricing due to the Head of the Charles I should have insisted on greater recompense. Staff were actually very friendly otherwise and the baseball vibe was fun. Be aware if you are staying on a weekend night.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Lucas Mulkern, Owner at Hotel Commonwealth
Responded 30 Oct 2021
Dear Oversized, I am very sorry that you were disturbed by music that was playing in our event space and for the way our team handles this. I can assure you I have spoken with the front office team. I'm glad to see that we were able to accommodate a new room for you. We hope you will be able to come stay with us again in the future and so we can provide a better experience. I would be happy to assist you with a future reservation. I can be reached at 617 532 5055 or at Lucas.Mulkern@hotelcommonwealth.com.
Read more
JJTRAVELREV wrote a review Sep 2021
Madrid, Spain54 contributions27 helpful votes
Not what we were expecting! We read reviews online and it seemed amazing... We booked the Fenway Suite and we just stepped in and stepped out instantly. The room is old and beaten up, the door to the balcony was broken and it was directly next to the highway which made it very noisy. The hotel is beaten up, not at all worth what I was paying for! I changed to the four seasons at the same rate, crazy to think these two are the same price.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Not how it seems in pictures! dated and beaten up
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lucas Mulkern, Owner at Hotel Commonwealth
Responded 22 Oct 2021
Dear JJTRAVELREV, I am very sorry that your stay in our Fenway Park Suite fell below expectations. We have addressed these items that you mentioned. Please feel free to contact me directly the next time you are visiting Boston. I will be happy to personally oversee the details of your reservation. I can be reached at lucas.mulkern@hotelcommonwealth.com or at 617 532-5055. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Read more
Ashley wrote a review Sep 2021
6 contributions6 helpful votes
We stayed here recently for a few days while attending a Red Sox Game. This was our first time staying here and it did not disappoint! The location is great- a few minutes walk to Fenway Park and some great restaurants, sores and brewery. The staff was great and they were more than willing to assist with any request we had.. The suite itself was clean, larger than expected and had a great view of Commonwealth Ave and the Citgo sign. The green line t station is next door and very convenient. I highly recommend and don’t let some recent negative reviews lead you to stay elsewhere. Yes they charge a daily resort fee, but there are some great items included (water and snacks daily). We will be back next year when we attend another game or want a weekend away.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lucas Mulkern, Owner at Hotel Commonwealth
Responded 22 Oct 2021
Dear A8880QZashleyh, Thank you for choosing Hotel Commonwealth for your visit to Boston. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay. We certainly appreciate you taking the time to share your review. We look forward to wleoming you back again next year.
Read more
Tracey W wrote a review Aug 2021
Winter Park, Florida28 contributions39 helpful votes
Great location for Red Sox and BU move in but a tad overpriced. The restaurants are closed due to the pandemic (understandable) but there was nothing on the website letting me know when I booked. Valet parking is so outrageous we ended up returning our rental to the airport once we move our child into the dorm. The doormen were always on their phones and the one time I asked for help calling a cab in the rain they commented that they didn’t provide that service. While I love the location we are booked elsewhere for parents weekend in October.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t have a car
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lucas Mulkern, Owner at Hotel Commonwealth
Responded 3 Sep 2021
Dear Tracey W, Thank you for choosing Hotel Commonwealth while moving your child into Boston University. I am disappointed to see that you will be staying elsewhere when returning for parents weekend. I will certainly follow up with our door and valet team to ensure the issues you mentioned do not happen in the future. We hope you will give us another opportunity when visiting BU again.
Read more
jhtgth75 wrote a review Aug 2021
Sweden31 contributions46 helpful votes
A nice Boston hotel,. Great rooms and friendly staff. Located next to a noisy highway. So keep that in mind if you are a light sleeper. Short walk to Newbury Street with shopping and eateries. Subway station next to the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lucas Mulkern, Owner at Hotel Commonwealth
Responded 13 Aug 2021
Dear jhtgth75, Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review. We do have many room types with different views and locations. We will be happy to reserve you a different room for your next stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$200 - $603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
commonwealth hotel boston, hotel commonwealth
LOCATION
United StatesMassachusettsBostonKenmore / Fenway / Kenmore
NUMBER OF ROOMS
245
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Commonwealth
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Commonwealth?
Nearby attractions include Fenway Park (0.3 km), Commonwealth Avenue Mall (0.09 km), and Key To Amaze (0.06 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Commonwealth?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Commonwealth?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Commonwealth?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Commonwealth?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, paid public parking on-site, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Commonwealth?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bleacher Bar, Cask'n Flagon, and Hojoko.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Commonwealth?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Commonwealth?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Commonwealth?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Commonwealth offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Commonwealth?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.