We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
655 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116-2804
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!ALWAYS BOOK DIRECT
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
$330
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/12/22
Traveluro
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (224)
Room & Suite (175)
Videos (3)

About

#56 of 97 in Boston
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
European styled boutique Hotel set in former private residence dating from 1892; situated in the Back Bay neighborhood.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Nightclub / DJ
Baggage storage
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Rate:ALWAYS BOOK DIRECT

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
155Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
65Attractionswithin 0.5 km
1035Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 435
  • 410
  • 105
  • 53
  • 32
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
FarAway559486 wrote a review Apr 2022
2 contributions
The location is superb. I had breakfast, lunch and dinner at their new restaurant on the first floor, Landwer. American and Mediterranean fare. Quality of food and service was outstanding. Highly recommend staying here for business and personal travel. The staff was proactive and very friendly!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Call the hotel directly for your best rate
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from AdamL-Innkeeper, Manager at Charlesmark Hotel
Responded 14 Apr 2022
Thank you for the kind words. When you come back be sure to call us for the best possible direct booking discount - 617-247-1212.
Read more
Laraine114 wrote a review May 2021
Scottsdale, Arizona102 contributions65 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
I only stay at the Charlesmark Hotel in Boston--last time was in 2018--it was great then and now! The location cannot be beat! In Boston's Back Bay and walking distance to shops and restaurants in every direction, the Boston Public Library-original and new wing, the T and Blue Bikes (to rent and drop all around town). Boston Common is a gorgeous public park a 5-10 minute easy walk away. The staff have always been great and this time, they truly went above and beyond. three wonderful front desk managers, housekeeping and other team members were able to quickly locate a bag with gifts I left in a closet in my room when I got to my next destination and they are mailing on to my family in another state where I went to next.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Lombard, Innkeeper at Charlesmark Hotel
Responded 12 Mar 2022
Laraine, Thank you for the very kind words about our staff! I'm happy to hear that you love the area so much. Charlesmark is truly a perfect location for the back-bay public Common's. I know you've stayed with us before so I'm sure you know, but just in case, If you call us at 617-247-1212 and book directly with our front desk team we provide an extra discount to our favorite guests that book direct.
Read more
Nora B wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
My husband and I loved staying at this hotel as the location is fantastic, staff is friendly, welcoming and the rooms are meticulous and cozy. We have stayed here many times and look forward to our next visit!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from AdamL-Innkeeper, Manager at Charlesmark Hotel
Responded 14 Apr 2022
Thank you for the kind words. When you come back be sure to call us for the best possible direct booking discount - 617-247-1212
Read more
Jean K wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution3 helpful votes
Enjoyed everything about this hotel. From our interactions with the staff to our beautifully appointed room. Yes, our room was small but very well thought out. One of the cleanest hotels we have been in in a long time. Everything was in perfect working order and in pristine condition. Even though the parking was not on site the garage was very convenient and hassle free. We parked our car for 3 days and were able to walk from the Charlesmark to everywhere we wanted to visit. So much fun to feel like a local. Many restaurants and shopping right outside the door. The Charlesmark was instrumental in making our trip to Boston extra special.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Lombard, Innkeeper at Charlesmark Hotel
Responded 12 Mar 2022
Z1282WWjeank, Thanks so much for your kind words about our staff and the room condition! We're glad to hear you had a great time and that the location was convenient. Hopefully we'll see you again sometime soon! The next time you are looking to visit, feel free to give us a call at 617-247-1212 to book with our front desk team. We give everyone that calls a discounted rate for our favorite guests.
Read more
Hernando D wrote a review Oct 2021
116 contributions149 helpful votes
+1
Promoted as a chick boutique, it felt like a way overpriced, deceptively marketed budget motel. The only good thing was the location (excellent). Otherwise: small room, dated furniture and dirty looking carpet, dark hallways, small reception with amateur attendants, and room cleaning only upon request. The so called continental breakfast was a joke (see picture). I do not recommend for the price they charge.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Lombard, Innkeeper at Charlesmark Hotel
Responded 12 Mar 2022
Hjdiazesq, Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. Our rooms are smaller than most suburban cookie-cutter hotels, we do our best to ensure they are functional and have all the amenities you would expect in moden hotel. Our website describes our rooms as "Very stylish and functional but not large". As many may know the city of boston (and the state in many cases) had some restrictions on what we can serve for breakfast during the pandemic. Unlike many of our competitors who removed all food items we wanted to get our guests started for the day with something. If you can provide us with some details (feel free to call me) on how we could better set your expectations we would be happy to talk with you as we try to be very honest in what photos we post, and how we describe our product on our website. For example our website listed exactly what items we could serve for breakfast and what was included in the room. Thanks again for your feedback, if you end up coming to stay in the city again feel free to call me and I'll do my best to make sure you don't feel deceived again.
Read more
carsandquilts wrote a review Oct 2021
New York City, New York41 contributions17 helpful votes
This was our first trip to Boston and we wanted to able to walk to all the tourist attractions. This hotel offers that, however, the hotel is very bare bones, no lobby or lounge. Breakfast was just coffee, juice and breakfast bars, nothing else, so we had to go our for breakfast. Our room faced the street and was very noisy with trucks unloading food to restaurants in the middle of the night. Lots of homeless sleeping across the street at the public library and some nights they were very loud. The room was very basic, no dresser drawers for storage, just shelves. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom also very efficient and clean. The staff were very friendly and let us store our bags at checkout so we could spend the last day in town. Overall a good experience but next time will stay further out to save money and take the T (very good subway system) into town.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: rooms facing street very noisy
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Lombard, Innkeeper at Charlesmark Hotel
Responded 12 Mar 2022
carsandquilts, Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback, I'm happy to let you know that after some renovations we have a great cafe that operates our lounge and bar and has a full sit-down menu in the attached restaurant (next door). The Landwer Cafe also now serves our guests fresh pastry and coffee in the morning, and offers a discount on all other menu items to our guests. I'm happy to hear that our staff were friendly and were able to help you with your luggage. As a note we do have rooms that are less costly and do not directly face the street so if you would like to consider one of our Standard rooms, or one of our Cabin rooms instead of our Queen rooms you may have less city noises. Thanks again for staying with us and if you do decide to come back into the city and stay with us again, give us a call at 617-247-1212 and we'll make sure to give you our best direct booking rate.
Read more
KDHC wrote a review Sep 2021
12 contributions8 helpful votes
1 out of 5. We check in to learn that the bar and restaurant was under renovation. The first room the air did not work. When we check in the temp was 74. It increased to 75. We went out for dinner and ask the front desk rep to look into it. When we returned 4 hours later the temp was 78 degrees - the woman at the front desk was gone. The man at the front desk quickly move us to another room and apologized for the renovation and lack of disclosure. Very disappointing…..can’t wait to see what the free breakfast looks like tomorrow. Stay tuned…..
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Be honest about the condition of the property
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Lombard, Innkeeper at Charlesmark Hotel
Responded 12 Mar 2022
KDHC, Sorry that your stay was less than awesome. I'm glad that the 2nd agent was able to resolve the issue and made sure that you had a room that was fully working the way we expect it to. I'm also happy to let you know that Cafe Landwer has completed their build out and are fully operational at the bar, the lounge and the attached restaurant next door. All our guests get a discount, and they also now serve our included breakfast items. If do ever want to return free free to call me and I'll do my best to ensure you have a better experience.
Read more
AnnTravelsALot wrote a review Jul 2021
Austin, Texas305 contributions114 helpful votes
This was my 3rd time to choose this hotel and I didn’t even price or source any others. I love the location and I love the minimal yet hyper-functional styling of the rooms - almost Scandinavian in their simplicity. While the rooms are small, there are many drawers, shelves and cubbies to hold all your belongings out-of-the-way. The bathroom is clean and neat. I love the movie lending library. The staff is VERY responsive and friendly. There are many walkable bars and restaurants in the area. And, with the North End only about 2mi away, we walked back from big Italian meals twice. During the heatwave, we experienced some cooling trouble in our room, but the hotel handled it professionally and proactively with all their guests. Couldn’t ask for better. I miss having the former lounge in the lobby and the more robust breakfast buffet, but that will return when they complete a remodel hopefully no later than this fall. I will definitely plan a return. Also, don’t miss visiting the public library across the street!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Lombard, Innkeeper at Charlesmark Hotel
Responded 12 Mar 2022
Ann, Thanks so much for your detailed and very kind review. I hope we will see you again soon! I'm sure you know this as one of our returning guests, but, if you call us at 617-247-1212 we can provide an extra discount for booking directly with our front desk team.
Read more
Marina C wrote a review May 2021
2 contributions2 helpful votes
This hotel is situated directly across from the Boston Public Library, in the heart of Boston, only a short walk from Back Bay station. The rooms are renovated and very comfortable. The front desk staff were absolutely amazing. Friendly, and genuinely eager to make our stay as nice as possible. When the bar opens back up after Covid, this is one of those hotels you *want* to hang out, relax and unwind in. I did just that, walking to some fantastic places to eat. BOSTON IS BACK ☺️
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Lombard, Innkeeper at Charlesmark Hotel
Responded 12 Mar 2022
Mariana, Thank so much for the kind words about our front desk team! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in the area and got to have some relaxing and unwinding time throughout the area. Hopefully we'll see YOU back soon! When you do come back don't forget to call our great front desk team at 617-247-1212 and book with them for the best returning guest direct discount.
Read more
Black Diamond wrote a review Feb 2020
Holbrook, Massachusetts16 contributions13 helpful votes
The location was great, right in the Back Bay area. The receptionist was very nice and welcoming. Surprisingly we had an actual key for the room... I must admit that I have never seen a hotel room with a physical key in my generation. A long snake style corridor lead to the very tiny room. The lighting was very poor, I struggled doing my makeup. It was a full size squeaky bed making noise with every movement... and the worse of the worse, there wasn't any blackout curtains, the blinds wasn't enough to block the sunlight around 7 am. Breakfasr was a joke, very disappointing. I only give 1 star just because the staff, they are very friendly and readily to help.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Lombard, General Manager at Charlesmark Hotel
Responded 25 Sep 2020
We're sorry you were not happy with your stay. We would love to welcome you back next year to try us again. You will get that same friendly staff and the boutique feel. I would suggest trying one of our queen rooms as they are a bit larger and should fit your needs better. Also in early March we finished updated the lighting in the bathrooms to be a brighter LED style light which may also help with makeup.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$282 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
charlesmark hotel boston
LOCATION
United StatesMassachusettsBostonBack Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Charlesmark Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Charlesmark Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Boston Public Library (0.08 km), Back Bay (0.05 km), and Newbury Street (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Charlesmark Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Charlesmark Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Charlesmark Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Charlesmark Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Charlesmark Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sorellina, sweetgreen, and The Friendly Toast.
Are there any historical sites close to Charlesmark Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Printing Office of Edes & Gill (2.7 km), Old North Church & Historic Site (2.7 km), and Longfellow House Washington's Headquarters National Historic Site (4.9 km).
Is Charlesmark Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.