We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
47 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02116-5728
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Traveluro
eDreams
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (301)
360
Panoramas (24)
Room & Suite (272)

About

#49 of 97 hotels in Boston
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Silver level
Copley Square Hotel was the election headquarters for President William McKinley, and has hosted many celebrities including sports legend Babe Ruth and jazz artists Sydney Bechet, Ella Fitzgerald, Billie Holiday and Duke Ellington in the Storyville Jazz Club. Built in 1891 on Huntington Avenue and Exeter Street, Copley Square hotel has the distinction of being the city’s second-oldest hotel in continuous operation. (pre-covid)
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Doorperson
First aid kit
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Bulgarian

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
171Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
60Attractionswithin 0.5 km
2397Reviews41Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,266
  • 769
  • 232
  • 76
  • 56
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Mark M wrote a review Yesterday
Danbury, Connecticut19 contributions6 helpful votes
I thought I had booked the Marriott Copley Square and was a little concerned as I approached the front desk. I was in the wrong hotel. I was only staying for one night and the room was pre-paid so I thought I'd make the best of it. Only one of the two elevators was working - not a great start. When I got to the room I was pleasantly surprised. The room was relatively large, as was the bathroom. It was neat and clean and had a refrigerator and microwave that I didn't use. The bed was comfortable with luxury type fluffy bedding that I would have expected from a luxury hotel. The internet worked, there was a very small desk and HD TV with all the requisite channels. What more does a business traveler need? The location is a block or so from Copley Square and there are lots of great shops and restaurants all around - there isn't one in the building. So all in all it's a luxury hotel without the usual amenities like room service, restaurant, garage etc. Eduardo at the front desk offered me a complementary bottle of water when I arrived, booked my dinner reservation and lent me a Hotel umbrella as I headed off to dinner in the rain. By the way, I saved about $50 vs the other luxury hotels that actually have amenities. That's why I labeled this a very high value hotel. PS take a minute to look at the hotel architecture and history. It's a pretty interesting old building.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Andrew K wrote a review Jun 2022
New York City, New York836 contributions311 helpful votes
The smirking manager knows his listings lie: "The Queen bed is just 5 inches wider than a Double," he told us. He's ignorant as well as a liar: Queens are 6 inches wider as well as 5 inches longer. What's the big deal, you might think? Twin beds are 39 inches wide. Doubles (also called "Full" beds) are just 54 inches wide. That means that if you're sharing a bed with a partner, you each get 27 inches of space: a foot less than a Twin! But wait, there's more: the AC didn't work in the first "Queen" room they gave us -- we had to switch. There's only one garbage can in the room -- in the bathroom; there's no hair dryer -- but you can ask for one. On the plus side, there's hot water, and the room is cheap. But don't compare its price to a Queen room elsewhere -- compare it to a Double bed room. By the way, the rooms are large enough to fit a Queen-sized bed -- they must have gotten a great deal on double beds no other US hotel wanted.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Bruce B wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Arrived and elevator was not working.I have COPD,no one offered to help carry luggage to our third floor room.Next morning when leaving they were still not repaired.Complained at front desk,no offer of apology,or reducing VERY over priced room rate.UNACCEPTABLE!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
manuela b wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Terrible room for almost $500 a night! The shower was cold. I think the fact it was somewhat clear was pure luck. Our friend in Boston told us it is well known that that's a bad hotel. Let me say it again:$500 a night
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: the good location is the only good thing of this place
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Christina Y wrote a review Jun 2022
New York City, New York3 contributions
Worst business hotel experience ever. No hairdryer in room and not offered upon check in. Also no phone in room. Barebones. Not sure how they get away with charging so much. Rude reception. This totally ruined my morning. Please do not stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Don’t stay here
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Shani L wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions3 helpful votes
I had a HORRIBLE experience at The Copley Square Hotel this weekend. It started when I entered my hotel room to find clothes and food all over the floor and 2 people in bed......very close.... I immediately informed the front desk that my room was occupied and they could not explain how I was assigned this room with a key card that clearly worked to gain entrance. I had to ask for some sort of compensation but was not offered it by the staff. Needless to say, my stay started out with a very uneasy feeling. The hotel is dark and dingy. The thermostat makes a loud double banging noise every 30-40 minutes which sounded like someone knocking on the door. This woke me up multiple times throughout the night and as a female traveling alone, it was frightening. It took over an hour to get a hair dryer brought up to the room despite being told after multiple phone calls it was on it's way. The bathroom outlet did not work and then the hair dryer stopped as well. In addition, you could hear the shower of adjacent rooms which was very loud. The parking is across the street in Copley Square. I paid for it at check in and EVERY time I tried to go in and out of the lot, my QR code would not work and I had to wait for assistance, holding up the line in this very busy parking garage. The hotel was of no assistance, since they repeatedly told me it was a third party vendor and they could not help. Then, to top it off, I noticed some extra charges added at checkout and had to spend time rectifying that. The only thing this hotel has going for it, is it's location, which is excellent. We travel to Boston at least 5-6 times a year for business and to visit our son in College. I will NEVER stay here again and will go back to The Westin, which is always a wonderful and pleasant experience.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Edward Donovan, Owner at Copley Square Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Shani, We did not meet our obligation to you of providing outstanding service. I make no excuses, we missed the mark and for that I am sorry, we are better than this. We spoke of the opportunities you faced, some we can easily correct and some, like the parking require the help of other to do so. It is our mission to provide a great home away from home for the guests we are lucky enough to host and will work hard to provide outstanding service. I hope that you will consider giving us another chance, I would consider it a privilege to show you how we learn and grow from our mistakes. Best Edward
Read more
Alan S wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Small Rooms first room had no working phone Transferred to handicap This room had three problems to start First no phone line at all Second no chair at all to sit on Third normally handicap bath are walk-in shower This bath had a tub with a bench The bench was not installed correctly and my wife fell in tub The next day the shower curtain fell down. The curtain was for a temporary in home with no fastener in wall just compression fittings Very expensive but it was a holiday weekend Staff was very helpful and friendly in trying to resolve.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Donna D wrote a review Jun 2022
Boston6 contributions8 helpful votes
This hotel is a shadow of its former self. Read the recent reviews on its site. They're spot on. My room had no CLOSET, bureau or even a chair, no hair dryer, no info on anything, no bedside anything, switches I had to use cell flashlight to read.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
TigerRoll wrote a review May 2022
Ocean Park, Maine130 contributions79 helpful votes
I liked the hotel. Complementary bottled water was a nice touch. I booked the room as a King room and it turned out to be a postage style room with a full sized bed which was smaller than a queen. It was close to the elevator which I did not mind, It was clean. As I was leaving I told the nice lady at the desk that Room 506 was not a KING room I followed it up with an email but got no response.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Room 506 is not a KING ROOM
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Adam G wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
We had the unfortunate event of booking through a fradulent website for this hotel. Upon arrival we were greeted by Peter (MOD) and he handle the predicament like a pro and made it the smoothest, easiest process it could be given the situation. We decided to stay elsewhere, I get a lot of points at Hilton that I could not pass up, but he was giving us suggestions as to which Hilton to stay at and advice as to what to do in Boston. Peter is a true hospitality expert that deserves a ton of credit for exceeding expectations - even for us after he knew we booked elsewhere! We need more Peter’s in hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$259 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel copley square, copley square boston
LOCATION
United StatesMassachusettsBostonBack Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
164
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Copley Square Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Copley Square Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Boston Public Library (0.1 km), Back Bay (0.2 km), and Newbury Street (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Copley Square Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, dry cleaning, and reduced mobility rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Copley Square Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Copley Square Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, paid public parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Copley Square Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sorellina, sweetgreen, and The Friendly Toast.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Copley Square Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Bulgarian.
Are there any historical sites close to Copley Square Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Printing Office of Edes & Gill (2.8 km), Old North Church & Historic Site (2.8 km), and Longfellow House Washington's Headquarters National Historic Site (5.0 km).
Does Copley Square Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is Copley Square Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.