We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mountaineer Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Mountaineer Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mountaineer Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 164: English reviews
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

We chose this because of its proximity to downtown, which is awesome. It's cheaper than one of the fancier hotels in downtown, and the drive is incredibly short (just on the other end of the tunnel), while parking is pretty cheap too (find street parking downtown!) We chose a non-smoking room (even though we're smokers) just so our room wouldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kaytimack
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us a detailed review. I do apologize for the issues you had , especially the "smoking rooms" near by. The fact is that those folks you may have witnessed smoking next door, were not actually in smoking rooms. They were simply being rude to us and you. All of our...

Durham, North Carolina
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

The rooms are tired and worn but I felt it was clean. The carpet is gross and the rooms need a coat of paint. It's a family owned business and the 93 year old owner can be seen on property. I wouldn't choose to stay here again but if push came to shove I would. The tile in the bathrooms...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MaryJoHarrisSmith
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello and thank you, I appreciate your nice words about our staff. I am sorry you found the rooms to be less than satisfactory. We are a very old property and we try to bank on our character! We will probably never be modern and shiny and that is the way we would like it. We are steadily making improvements...

Big Stone Gap, Virginia
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Girlfriend and I drove from Big Stone Gap, Virginia for a nice get away and we could've stayed anywhere but we chose here. The atmosphere was like being at the beach. Beautiful flowers everywhere, the pool was very clean and had a really nice gazebo to relax in. The room was clean and cozy. The staff was so nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank KristieWebb
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Wow and thank you!! Guests like you make it all worth while. Our owner absolutely loves his guests and feeding them if possible! He has spent 40 years planting herbs, flowers, trees and bushes to enhance the property. Some of the plants are actually from his home country of Greece. We made many improvements to the pool area this year...

Columbia, SC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

My wife and I decided to stay at this very budget friendly hotel to save money for going out to eat and other fun stuff. We saved money but at a cost. The room was very retro to say the least, but not a cool retro. The matresses were vintage 1960s, well used and well stained. I laughed most of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nosaj01
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

I am disappointed to see such blatant slander posted here, and I assume by former disgruntled employees. The absolute fact of the matter is that any old furnishings that may have been on this property have all been disposed of this past Feb and March. We totally refurnished all of our rooms, and most specifically with all new mattresses and...

Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

We booked here because frankly the rest of the city was charging exorbitant rates for Labor Day weekend. We wound up loving the retro feel and were impressed by the friendly staff. The water pressure is awesome and the beds were clean and comfortable. A couple of suggestions, although the rooms have AC, it's controlled by the front desk so...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DavidWeaver
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your warm and favorable review. We do admit that the central ac is difficult to make perfect for every one, but we can usually come up with a happy middle ground. We do have fans and heaters available for whichever way you need to feel comfortable.I am so happy that you enjoyed the character of the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016

I visited Asheville to be in North Carolina and as an Elvis fan to follow where he performed, downtown at the local Civic Centre. Unfortunately i had not enough time, having to travel by public transportation to see it as I was leaving early on Monday morning and only there for the weekend. Downtown is buzzy and the best bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank capricornia52
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

We enjoyed meeting you and are glad you had a nice visit to Asheville. Thank you for giving us a favorable review. Please stay with us again if you return to the mountains.

Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewed 28 August 2016

I stayed here for 5days in July though the rooms are old Tv and frig not new the location price and hospitality were excellent. Having stayed at many newer much higher priced hotels in asheville what this one may lack in peoples expectations it is a fine family friendly place to stay. While it might not be what people expect...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank doehen
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Thanks to a guest you "gets it". This place is ancient by comparison, having the original building constructed in 1939! We are definitely trying to upgrade a bit, but we don't want to destroy the vintage integrity. We do care about our guests, and we certainly hope you will return.

Jacksonville, North Carolina
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Great people ...great breakfast ... We were in the rear building which was a little scary ... The place is tricky to get in and out of . BathRoom and furniture needs repair ...good location though close to wherever we wanted to be

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle H
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello and thank you, We appreciate your fair assessment of our property. We are glad you enjoyed the staff and the breakfast. We are sorry you felt the back building was "scary", but just as reassurance, we want all future visitors to know that we have an on site security guard watching things 24-7 and a security cameras in multiple...

Portland, Maine
Reviewed 20 August 2016

The Mountaineer Inn has a ton of character, and if you’re looking for something affordable but more interesting than the standard chain, this is your spot. Bonus features include a complimentary breakfast in the lobby with fresh bagels, donuts and fruit, plus a pool that stays open until 11pm! The rooms are standard, but very clean and also have a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kate G
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much! We are so glad you enjoyed all that our property has to offer. We do boast a lot of character and personality here, nothing like those bland corporate chain hotels run by drones. Our owner is 93 and still here everyday to share interesting stories with anyone willing to listen. Please come back!

Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

This place is exactly as advertised. It is an older place but it is very unique. The employees were all very friendly and nice. The rooms for the area are competitive and you are getting what you pay for. The rooms could use an upgrade but they add to the character of the place. They offer a decent breakfast of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jeffrey O
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review of our establishment. We definitely offer one of the few vintage and character loaded spots in all of Asheville! Most folks enjoy our hospitality and overlook our imperfections. We are continuing to upgrade every month, but not losing sight of keeping the vintage quality. We will always remain extremely fair priced and not rate...

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Days Inn Asheville/Mall
#46 of 62 in Asheville
1,000 reviews
SpringHill Suites Asheville
#45 of 62 in Asheville
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Asheville
#43 of 62 in Asheville
218 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family owned motel , originally built in 1930's with leftover blocks from the Blue Ridge parkway construction project. Mountain man neon sign has been designated a historic landmark. Centrally located in the beautiful mountains of Asheville, NC. The property has been featured in many motion pictures throughout the years. The main building has "old fashioned" rooms with original cedar walls, and tiled bathrooms. The newer portion has extra large rooms with two double beds. All rooms have fridges, coffee pots and wifi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mountaineer Inn

Address: 155 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1887
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Price Range: ₹ 4,005 - ₹ 5,770 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountaineer Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Mountaineer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountaineer Hotel Asheville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mountaineer Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Mountaineer Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I suggest staying in the one-story part, near the office; I think it's the quietest area.”
 of 5 bubbles Skylark414, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay on upper level to the right of the office to be away from traffic in/out from main road.”
 of 5 bubbles buffalogail, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“either at the front or at the back in the annexe, all good”
 of 5 bubbles capricornia52, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in front are easily accessible if you have a lot of luggage.”
  • Queen bed and bonus recliner.
 of 5 bubbles B2306OTkateg, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The '50's" rooms are personable and close to the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles SusanA710, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay