We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mountaineer Inn

210 reviews
Save
Traveller (77)
Room & Suite (22)
Pool & Beach (2)
Overview
  • Excellent13%
  • Very good24%
  • Average14%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible36%
Travellers talk about
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Pets Allowed
2.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (210)Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
29
52
30
26
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
29
52
30
26
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice outdoor poolroom was cleanan older hotelvisited ashevilleclose to downtownbiltmore estatechannelsfrigconveniencemountains
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2017

Listen, I have no issues staying in cheap motels like this. I can deal with the old carpeting, the old school tv, I can deal with the old ripped torn, and barely standing turniture. I can even deal with the shower that hardly has any...More

Thank tennboy1981
Response from Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Manager at The Mountaineer InnResponded 30 December 2017

Thank you for your review. Looking at this review please assist us with two things, one, did you accepted the room in its current condition and two, did you contact the front desk to address any issues? Had this or any of your concerns been...More

Reviewed 10 December 2017

My wife and I visited Asheville during the fall leaf season. Everything was so expensive until we found the Mountaineer, We had read the reviews which were not very flattering, but we decided to try anyway. Boy were we surprised, it is quaint, has the...More

Thank Moneywilltravel1
Response from Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Manager at The Mountaineer InnResponded 30 December 2017

Thank you for the review.

Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

Friendly staff but it definitely could use an update... Great location and price for Asheville... Smoking rooms available which is a plus for smokers... Pet Fee is very reasonable... My Yorkies are enjoying it..

Thank Smith A
Response from Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Manager at The Mountaineer InnResponded 30 December 2017

Thank you for your review, we will be refreshing our rooms in the coming months.

Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

First off the room had a bad smell when we first went in and when we finally got to room heater didn’t work well at all and housekeeping is a joke towels and washcloths had holes in them and the floor was gross the bed...More

Thank sassypants86
Response from Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Manager at The Mountaineer InnResponded 30 December 2017

Thank you for your review posted on November 20th but I am very confused by many of the comments you posted. One our staff is not allowed to use the pool and two our pool closes in October.

Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

The night clerk named Josh was extremely rude to us when we had questions about the reservation for our three rooms. We called an advisor from the website we booked off of and she called this inn to help us get answers to our questions....More

1  Thank jenorjoshwall
Response from Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Manager at The Mountaineer InnResponded 16 November 2017

I am reaching out with sincerest apologies for the misunderstanding surrounding this situation. Unbeknown to our excellent employee Josh, our owner changed the room rates unexpectedly and unannounced. The issue really stems from the guest cancelling some reservations she thought were duplicates, and then finding...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345642
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Pool
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Pool
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$ 58 - US$ 96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 58 - US$ 96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (77)
Room & Suite (22)
Pool & Beach (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Lydia S
30 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt | Property representative |
We accept pets for a one time fee of $25.00 .
0
Votes
Bellaire56
27 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt | Property representative |
Well this is a property with 3 separate buildings. Breakfast is served in the main office and the pool is in the lower parking lot.The property is only about an acre total.
0
Votes
dr_ruthSydney
14 August 2015|
Answer
Response from Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt | Property representative |
Hello, We look forward to meeting time travelers such as yourselves, unless you meant to say you will be staying in December 2015! Just teasing. Your best bet for Christmas dining is either the Grove Park Inn or The... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Book a room in the back, very quiet."
Read review
"Book elsewhere"
Read review
"rooms facing road are best, do not get a smoking room"
Read review
"Do not stay here"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing