We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District

PricelineUS$ 145*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 145*
Great Deal
US$ 147*
US$ 147*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District
See the most recent reviews
Showing 164: English reviews
Laurel
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I would give zero stars, but it isn't an option. Bed bugs galore! Desk attendant doesn't care about anything. The rooms are disgusting. There isn't enough parking for everyone staying in the rooms. There is exactly one roll-away cot that is always "in use." The breakfast is a joke. It is literally bread and a broken toaster. You can hear...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica G
Jyoti P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this review

We appreciate All comments and take all into consideration. Thank you.

San Francisco
Reviewed 7 August 2014

please get maid to close door if they are not around to cut the not have someone come to the room and steal. I experience it for myself. The maid was not around and a customer room door was open and a phone was sitting on the desk in the room.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carolyn J
Jyoti P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this review

We are very sorry for any inconvenience and this information will be forwarded immediately. All rooms should be safe and secure at all times. Thank you.

Barstow, California
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is really close to many attractions & landmarks in the city. There is a great neighborhood full of shopping & eateries behind the hotel. We walked to Fisherman's Warf & Pier 39 with our two kids. (It was a long walk, but very nice) Nice neighborhoods surrounding. The hotel itself is a little pricey, but if you want...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DiscoStella
Jyoti P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this review

Thank you for the honest feedback, we are taking steps to make this property better! Thank you for your patronage.

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Having read several blistering reviews of this motel I was a little apprehensive when my spouse made us a reservation here. I was literally astonished by how nice the room appeared when we first opened the door. Freshly painted walls, large firm bed, and "non scratchy" towels; all contradictions of some reviews. To be honest, the interior of the motel...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sunjammer72
Jyoti P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind words, we are a limited service budget hotel and it is nice to see that the changes we are making is being noticed. You hit the nail on the head with everything you said and we hear you! We love this location as well. Thank for the patronage.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Do not book this place! Easily the worst hotel ever. We stayed for all of 50 minutes, couldn't wait to get out of there! Filthy isn't the word. We booked 3 rooms for our party, 1 was downstairs, right off Lombard Street, felt less than secure! Other two upstairs, rickety old stair case and landing which hadn't been cleaned/swept in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sab703
Jyoti P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this review

We are very sorry that your visit here was not what you expected, however we cannot respond to name calling and the inaccuracies you listed. We are happy that you found a hotel more suitable for you. Thank you for the feedback.

Reviewed 2 July 2014

Well, we booked this hotel online for 4 nights as we wanted to really experience San Francisco during Pride Weekend and a couple days after...the very first 10 minutes we walked in (btw, no elevators!!) we knew this was a mistake. First off, parking is limited, and first come, first served...and, good luck if you have a larger vehicle in...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Leasa1
Jyoti P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this review

Your review has been forwarded to the appropriate management. Thank you for the feedback.

Reviewed 18 June 2014

We booked and paid for a room but when we arrived the desk manager told us the room had been rented to someone else. He said he had only two rooms left but would need to split our party of four up and charge us more than double the price we had already paid for each of the two rooms....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MyZeroGeography
Jyoti P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you felt that way about us. However when you use a third party to book, it limits what we can do, as our hand can also be tied. The rate you were quoted was the fair market value for that day in that season, I am sure this does not help and we are very...

Everett, Washington
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This place should be closed and totally remodeled. The carpet was pulled up in several locations the front of the gas fire was just leaning against the front of the fireplace. The unit had a whirlpool tub and all the jets were covered in some brown crusted scum .The jets did not function the stopper to fill the tub did...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Robert C
Jyoti P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this review

We absolutely understand that everyone has a level of comfort and we are glad that you found a hotel that is suited for you, We are by no means a Sheraton, we are a limited service budget hotel and we are upgrading things and your list will be taken under consideration. Thanks for the feedback.

San Francisco
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brendan H
Jyoti P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this review

Gresham, Oregon
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We checked in at 3:00. At 3:05 I told the desk we would be checking out the next am. Bath room light was out. Had 2 remotes to make TV work. It didn't ! Had to carry luggage up a flight of stairs thru last years leaves. Room was filthy. When u look out the window you can see the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Denis S
Jyoti P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this review

We have made some changed in this hotel and we are looking at ALL of our reviews and finding out what our travelers want and need. So thank you for the info.

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#157 of 228 in San Francisco
573 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#78 of 228 in San Francisco
565 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Plaza Motel
Lombard Plaza Motel
#126 of 228 in San Francisco
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#107 of 228 in San Francisco
482 reviews
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#143 of 228 in San Francisco
543 reviews
Marina District
La Luna Inn
La Luna Inn
#154 of 228 in San Francisco
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Marina District

Neighbourhood Profile
Marina District
Beautiful homes, beautiful people, and a beautiful backdrop of the Golden Gate Bridge welcome visitors to the Marina. Originally the location for the Panama-Pacific International Exposition in 1915 (whose remnants can be seen at the Palace of Fine Arts), much of the land was filled and flattened to accommodate a world’s fair. That ample space has given way to a jogger’s paradise at the northern edge of the city. With the picturesque bay setting as its backdrop, it’s no surprise that the area has hosted numerous movie productions. Daytime activities focus on café culture and boutique shopping, while the evenings turn this neighbourhood into a party-going hotspot.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District

Address: 1940 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2807 (Formerly Ramada Limited San Francisco/By the Bay)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Price Range: ₹ 9,537 - ₹ 17,776 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited - San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Ramada San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Southbury, Connecticut
Santa Monica, California
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the rooms in the far end of the building - Away from Lombard St.”
hbhansen, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else. Trust me.”
  • booger on the wall above light switch. Very visible. Two second wipe with a rag....
  • splattered walls (this is just one) one splatter looked like blood
  • other side of toilet footing. pubic hairs and what looks like urine...
  • moldy and splattered bathroom window that serves as an exhaust fan.
  • two balls that go to someone's body jewelry in one corner of bathroom. (more found throughout ro
  • moldy bathroom ceiling (some bleach and a wet rag would make this a 2 minute clean up)
  • a pubic hair hanging out with the mold on the ceiling
  • dirty gross light fixture in bathroom that looks like it has been on fire
NanetteS, 25 Mar 2016 | Read review
“try another hotel :o”
tcarmo, 7 Mar 2016 | Read review
“If you don't like stairs, get a room on the 1st floor.”
triciachatter, 10 Aug 2015 | Read review
“avoid this hotel and go someplace else. Cramped tiny rooms”
jondavi, 23 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$ 145* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$ 147
Expedia.comUS$ 147
CheapTicketsUS$ 147
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates