We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Riu Plaza Fisherman’s Wharf

Save
Share
2500 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1450
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Book now with 10% off!
US$ 117
View deal
Expedia.com
Booking.com
US$ 117
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Riu.comUS$ 135
PricelineUS$ 141
Prestigia.comUS$ 143
View all 21 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (48)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (9)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 18/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Riu Plaza Fisherman’s Wharf
Updated 18/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#136 of 251 hotels in San Francisco
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Silver level
The Hotel Riu Plaza Fisherman’s Wharf is located close to Pier 39, one of the most iconic parts of San Francisco, and it offers the best services to enjoy an unforgettable stay. Airport (SFO) is approx. 24 km away. This hotel is ideal for both leisure and business travel. Enjoy our free wi-fi, outdoor pool area, gym and conference rooms. The 531 modern designed rooms are perfectly equipped to offer you maximum comfort featuring satellite TV, a mini-fridge, coffee machine, air conditioning, and many more amenities. For gastronomy lovers, we offer American buffet breakfasts with live cooking stations and á la carte lunches and dinners. In addition, you also have the option of the snack bar, open all day, where you can try delicious snacks and appetizers.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Golf course
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Car park
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Vending machine
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Green
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Price:Book now with 10% off!
156Reviews23Q+A13Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 66
  • 42
  • 16
  • 12
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sarahm6288bs wrote a review 27 Nov
Eureka, California1 contribution
Lovely place and great service. Food was amazing. The hotel was quite and nice plus clean. The beds were so comfortable and rooms had plenty space. Not a good view from the room but that’s the only complaint I have. I will be back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Junior A wrote a review 26 Nov
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom2 contributions
Avoid this hotel, some staff are very rude especially those on front desk. Manager is very unhelpful and uncaring. Despite us not wanting use of the swimming pool & wifi EXTORTIONATE resort fees were charged ,threats were made if we didn't pay them so we as couple arriving here were very sad & disappointed within our 1st 5 mins of arrival here. WHY SHOULD u have to pay them if your not using what they are charging you for? Well if you don't you won't be checked in ( blackmail & threats) Then if only carry cash & don't have a credit card $250 of your spending money here will be held behind reception until you leave, no understanding taking into consideration by the manager that $250 you have is to spend in Sanfransico not take home & lose out on. BLACKMAILED THREATENED UNCARED ABOUT RUDELY SPOKEN TOO PUNISHED FOR HAVING CASH. !!!! PLEASE AVOID THIS HOTEL)
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
JET wrote a review 23 Nov
Bacolod, Philippines26 contributions23 helpful votes
Price was reasonable and relatively cheaper than the other hotels. Check-out was quick. Check-in took a long time because of the long queue . I guess this hotel is packed during the weekends. Room was clean. Breakfast buffet was very good.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
R W wrote a review 16 Nov
1 contribution
Horrible experience as it pertained to getting a phone call answered! 😶 Had the worst experiences EVER! Tried to call to see if we could have an early check-in while at SFO but no one answered. Ended up driving to the hotel only to be met with an extremely looooooong line to check-in. Took almost an hour to make it to the front counter! Staff is extremely helpful but it takes FOREVER to get a staff member. We also saw a mouse 🐁 at the firepit tables. Didn't want to make a scene by going to the front desk so we went to the room and called the front desk. Again, a SUUUUUPER long hold time (about 30 minutes). When the operator finally answered, she apologized for the delay in answering, citing they are understaffed. I told her about the mouse 🐁 at the firepit. Then I explained to her that their phone service had been horrible since prior to our check-in. She apologized and said they were understaffed and that the owners didn't want to hire someone to answer the phones and then told me to post here to vent my frustrations. It's an older hotel that needs updating all around. The bathrooms are super tiny and there are no extra blankets in the room. Great location but I don't recommend it if customer service is important to you. It definitely doesn't meet the standards of the other Riu Hotel chains but I'm hoping they work on it because it definitely has potential. Not sure if we'd stay there again until lots of changes occur.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Other at Hotel Riu Plaza Fisherman’s Wharf
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Having read your feedback we are really disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay. At the same time, we are very surprised to hear that you had the perception our property need updating all around, when the hotel was completely refurbished in 2019. and las year 3 former conference rooms were converted in a new restaurant for breakfast. Our number one priority is to ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible, which we succeed in doing with the vast majority of our guests, as you can see from the guest reviews. Therefore, please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you experience with the front desk, this is definitely not our usual standard. Please know, we have even recently launched our RIU Guest Experience App so that our valued guests can also conveniently send any requests during their stay directly to the front desk via their mobile phone. Overall, we are obviously disappointed with a 2 Star rating, and you can be assured we took the necessary steps to ensure our management team gets to read your post and be discussed with all concerned staff. As we mentioned before, we are always on the lookout for ways to make your experience memorable. Notwithstanding your disappointment we hope that your experience on this occasion will not deter you from visiting us again so we can prove this was an exception! With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Plaza Fisherman’s Wharf Online Reputation Manager
Read more
jkinnard0605 wrote a review 16 Nov
Brookings, Oregon2 contributions
We enjoyed the convenient location, wonderful sitting area outside, great bar, and the best breakfast ever with an amazing selection of foods! Also, we loved being able to leave our luggage there AFTER check out in order to spend time on the pier-our flight didn’t leave until late afternoon. Will definitely return when we visit San Francisco in the future!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$181 - US$366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sheraton san francisco, san francisco sheraton, sheraton fishermans wharf
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan FranciscoFisherman’s Wharf
NUMBER OF ROOMS
531
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Riu Plaza Fisherman’s Wharf
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Riu Plaza Fisherman’s Wharf?
Nearby attractions include Pier 39 (0.3 km), Fisherman's Wharf (0.2 km), and Musee Mecanique (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Riu Plaza Fisherman’s Wharf?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Riu Plaza Fisherman’s Wharf?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Riu Plaza Fisherman’s Wharf?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Riu Plaza Fisherman’s Wharf?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe De Casa, Eight Am, and The Baked Bear.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Riu Plaza Fisherman’s Wharf?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Hotel Riu Plaza Fisherman’s Wharf offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Riu Plaza Fisherman’s Wharf?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Alcatraz Island (2.4 km), Golden Gate Bridge (5.9 km), and City Lights Booksellers (1.2 km).
Is Hotel Riu Plaza Fisherman’s Wharf accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.