We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Whitcomb

Expedia.comUS$ 169*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 333*
US$ 169*
US$ 203*
US$ 333*
US$ 169*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Whitcomb
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,914 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,309: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Whitcomb
 Click to rate
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

This is an older hotel that is conveniently located close to attractions/ transport links to include the 'BART' trams. We actually got the BART from the Airport which was around $9.00 directly to the hotel (short walk) very easy to use and navigate - we also got it back to the airport. I had read some negative views about the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GARETH H
Key West, Florida
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Thank goodness we were only in this hotel for one night. It is so old, which I don't mind, but when the plastic on the toilet seat is peeling... come on! They can't spend $15 on a new seat? The light switch was filthy with some hardened drip of food or something, there was an "M" clothing sticker stuck to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Krystin M
Derby
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We booked this hotel on Priceline and were a bit concerned after reading the negative reviews. We thoroughly enjoyed our 6 night stay here. Yes the hotel isn't new but it certainly has plenty of character. Built early in the last century it has a beautiful lobby area and the rooms are more than adequate for the price. It is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John W
Kevin V, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Good day John, Thank you for your comments and we are working to address the Wifi issues. Kevin V/DOO

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have to admit I was concerned about our stay after reading some of the reviews on here but decided to go ahead as it seemed to be the best combination of price and location for a twin room for our dates. San Francisco is a very expensive city for accommodation, so it can be a bit of a gamble...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank garneresque
Kevin V, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Good day gameeresque, Thank you for your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Kevin V/DOO

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

yes this is not a modernized hotel as many travelers may consider. But our room was not dirty, not shabby, had no mildew or cracked bathroom sink. The shower was not as strong as ideal but it wasn't a major negative. Wifi in the room was fine too - don't know why others mentioned poor wifi in room. The sofa...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank uchao
Kevin V, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Good day uchao, We would like to thank you for sharing your views. Kevin V/DOO

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Beautiful hotel! The staff was friendly and very helpful, always ready with a smile or, in the hotel doorman's case, a song :) Mr. Varun was sweet and he does take care of the guests to make sure they are enjoying their stay. I appreciate the thoughtfulness and help!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dessie M
Kevin V, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Good day Dessie, We are truly grateful you enjoyed your stay and for your comments. Kevin V/DOO

Squamish, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were on a budget and chose Hotel Whitcomb because it was under $100. Parking is $38 dollars and the previous reviews regarding it being in the Tenderloin part of downtown were true. We were hoping that the area and upkeep of hotel were better than the reviews but after dark the area is pretty rough. The hotel staff themselves...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brentlin
Kevin V, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Good day Brentlin, Thank you for your comments. Kevin V/DOO

Reviewed 1 week ago

Me and my husband stayed In this hotel for 5 nights and we had a very pleasant stay. Varun helped us a lot and did his best to make our stay comfortable. The best part of this place is its prime location. Located very near to the Bart station (just right at the hotel's entrance) and 10 minutes walk to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mansi A
Kevin V, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Good day Mansi, We all truly thank you for your comments. Kevin V/DOO

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here in late April 2017 for a family holiday and while the hotel was ok it's just on the edge of a rougher part of town so plenty of beggars, drugs and the smell of urine just outside the front door. We had a Toyota 4 Runner SUV and were charged over $50 USD plus tax per night...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chris B
Kevin V, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Good day Chris, Thank you for your comments, we try to keep our parking rate lower and I believe we are currently the best option. Kevin V/DOO

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nothing wrong being old and quaint. Upkeep however is poor and charming easily becomes run down. That is the general impression alas also the experience. The room however was fine. The bed was good. The bath old and the sink could not be closed. That said the staff was friendly and polite. The area however is appalling which drug dealings...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ger T
Kevin V, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Good day Ger T, Thank you for your comments, and the areas of concern are being addressed. Kevin V/DOO

775 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (651)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (157)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (129)
Viewed
Bathroom (62)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (272)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (116)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Superior Guestroom (68)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#120 of 228 in San Francisco
1,154 reviews
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#137 of 228 in San Francisco
288 reviews
Serrano Hotel
#98 of 228 in San Francisco
2,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Best Western Plus Americania
Best Western Plus Americania
#131 of 228 in San Francisco
1,008 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#185 of 228 in San Francisco
740 reviews
Cova Hotel
#95 of 228 in San Francisco
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in SoMa

Neighbourhood Profile
SoMa
South of Market (SoMa), has an urban and sophisticated vibe, but you're more likely to find big nightclubs and lots of industrial loft residences than you are to find boutique shopping. Although it’s the epicenter for tech startups in the city, visitors will be able to do more than just business - museums, top quality restaurants, and the San Francisco Giants now call this neighbourhood home. Most of its freeway-sized streets may not capture the same character as other neighbourhoods in the city, but pockets of charm, like South Park, can still be found throughout its side streets.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Hotel Whitcomb

Address: 1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-1400
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Price Range: ₹ 9,435 - ₹ 17,966 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Whitcomb 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hotel Whitcomb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitcomb Hotel San Francisco
Whitcomb San Francisco
Whitcomb San Fransico
Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Whitcomb staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question
Brisbane, California

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Whitcomb staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For quieter room ask for a room facing away from Market”
Brentlin, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms away from Market and 8th Streets are quiet”
countrydean, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“Stay elsewhere.”
brivvy, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Again, away from Market Street as it gets loud at night. Upper floor towards the rear.”
keeb56, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our room was in need of a lot of repairs, and we were on the lower level.”
, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 169* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 203
TravelocityUS$ 169
AMOMAUS$ 333
View all 16 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates