We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Bijou

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

733 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bijou
See the most recent reviews
Showing 452: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 6 November 2016

Our family spent 3 nights at the hotel recently. The staff were always attentive and considerate even before one of our family had a serious fall while on a tour of the city's sights. The accident unfortunately end up with one of the family members being hospitalised, requiring a short stay at the UCSF Medical Centre and further treatment upon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zoe T
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Cute little hotel in a great location. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Had an old and dated feel. Not the nicest hotel ive ever stayed in but For the price it was great. I would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
San Diego, California
Reviewed 4 October 2016

The location is very central but I would advise against staying here if you are female and traveling alone. There are tons of homeless at all times of the day. There were a couple of times I felt unsafe. It is not the hotels fault but I feel like you should know these things. The rooms are small but have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cynthia S
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights as part of a city break. Rooms are of a good size, and each have a quirky name, ours being Escape From Alcatraz! There is no restaurant however the hotel provide a breakfast bag each morning which contains a Danish pastry, an orange and a bottle of water. Yoghurts are also available at breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 4791HRJ
HotelBijou111, General Manager at Hotel Bijou, responded to this review

Dear 4791HRJ, Thank you for your stay with us here at Hotel Bijou. Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry that we disappointed you with your stay. Like any other large metropolitan city we have our fair share of vagrants and city life. We work hard with the local law enforcement and Neighborhood organizations to try to keep...

Orange County, California
Reviewed 26 September 2016

I understand maybe from a tourist perspective this is a "great location" but I can assure you that from a business travelers standpoint it was a mess. I've stayed in hotels across the globe for work and this was the ONLY time I felt unsafe. The neighborhood is a mess and the homeless were literally sitting on the front step...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alyssa C
HotelBijou111, General Manager at Hotel Bijou, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Alyssa C, Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'm very glad to see that from a product and service perspective we were able to come through for you. But, I am very sorry that you felt unsafe while staying with us. I understand the issues with our location and we do what we can to provide...

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2016

A great hotel in a great location. A few minutes walk from the Powell Station which is easily reached by BART from San Francisco International. You can catch the Cable Car to Fisherman's Wharf from nearby too. There are homeless people in the area but this is no reflection on the hotel (it's a city-wide thing). Staff are friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nicsta196
Mumbai, India
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Location Superb as its near Powell Station and union square # courteous staff # nearby restaurants and buses one can take to explore the city. They offer breakfast in packets with fruits and water bottle # stayed for 3 nights with family - value for money

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SujitDoshy
Koenigsbrunn, Germany
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Hotel Bilou is a perfect place to start from if you want to explore the city on foot. It is located only five minutes from Union Square and Market Street. If you follow the street way up Nob Hill, it will take you directly to Fisherman's Wharf or Chinatown in half an hour. This part of San Francisco is loud...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ggeerrmmaann
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

This updated whimsical hotel is a fun place. Theater is closed (not mentioned on website) and turning into restaurant. This hotel is cleaned and people are courteous. The complementary coffee and/or tea were nice. After 6-7 pm the homeless swell the streets and the bar across the street made this location noisy and scary. It was bum nation. My family...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yadira o
HotelBijou111, General Manager at Hotel Bijou, responded to this review

Dear Yadira, First thank you for your review of our property. We pride ourselves in how we can positively impact our guest's stay in San Francisco. Like any other big city, we do have our issues with the Tenderloin. We are located right on the border of the Tenderloin and downtown San Francisco. We are currently working on our new...

Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Small Rooms, bad location for Central Area, a lot of poor peoples in that area, noisy zone, very expensive for what they offer and "tricky" way for travel to Airport by "check-out" call reception. I will not recommend for a Family trip in SF.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dorin C

290 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (145)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (67)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (113)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Play It Again Sam (Double Full Room) (24)
Viewed
Presidio (Queen Room) (27)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (16)
Viewed
What's Up Doc (Queen Room) (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 229 in San Francisco
1,234 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#95 of 229 in San Francisco
2,238 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#130 of 229 in San Francisco
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#82 of 229 in San Francisco
1,362 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#184 of 229 in San Francisco
719 reviews
Union Square
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Union Square
Holiday Inn Express San Francisc...
#99 of 229 in San Francisco
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Union Square

Neighbourhood Profile
Union Square
Originally home to rallies supporting the Union Army in the Civil War, this grand square has become the city's premier shopping and entertainment district containing the largest number of upscale department stores, chic boutiques, art galleries and theatres in the city. It's a large open area where tourists and locals gather, watch cable cars and crowds go by, enjoy a snack, or plan their day of shopping and sightseeing, If feeling the pulsating energy of the city is on your agenda, Union Square is the place to soak it in.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Bijou is the most unique of all the Bay Area boutique hotels in downtown San Francisco. Inspired by San Francisco's rich cinematic history, our San Francisco Union Square hotel is adorned with classic movie palace designs and dramatic Hollywood portraits. Each of our 65 comfortable guest rooms in our Union Square hotel in San Francisco is named after a motion picture shot here in the city. Using the original movie stills as decorative accents, Hotel Bijou provides our guests with the most interesting downtown San Francisco hotel rooms while simultaneously keeping you centrally located to everything this exciting city has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Bijou

Address: 111 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Price Range: ₹ 8,872 - ₹ 23,658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Bijou 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Bijou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bijou Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Bijou San Francisco
Bijou San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Bijou staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Bijou staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some street noise at night”
 of 5 bubbles , 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go for a quad room.”
 of 5 bubbles christinenO2475SQ, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Good accessability”
 of 5 bubbles ZoeT317, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“It was best to have a room not overlooking the street”
 of 5 bubbles 674alyssac, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors mean further away from the street noise”
 of 5 bubbles Nicsta196, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5