We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1015 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94109-6902
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Traveluro
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Travelocity
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (110)
Room & Suite (44)
Dining (2)

About

#203 of 245 in San Francisco
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

If you’re looking for a budget friendly hotel in San Francisco, look no further than The Monarch Hotel.

Nearby landmarks such as Ghirardelli Square (1.4 mi) and Fisherman's Wharf (1.6 mi) make The Monarch Hotel a great place to stay when visiting San Francisco.

Guest rooms offer a flat screen TV and a desk, and The Monarch Hotel makes getting online easy as free wifi is available.

You can also take advantage of some of the amenities offered by the hotel, including 24 hour front desk, baggage storage, and express check-in and check-out.

While you’re here, be sure to check out some of the Italian restaurants, including Scoma's, The Cheesecake Factory, and The Stinking Rose - San Francisco, all of which are a short distance from The Monarch Hotel.

Should time allow, Lombard Street, Full House House, and Chinatown are some popular attractions that are within walking distance.

The staff at The Monarch Hotel looks forward to serving you during your upcoming visit.

Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Chinese, Filipino
476Reviews6Q+A45Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 28
  • 96
  • 176
  • 74
  • 102
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
H.MP wrote a review Mar 2020
Sweden56 contributions44 helpful votes
It’s not the best but it was ok, close to everything. The area was a bit sketchy, it’s not for everyone but if you don’t scare easily and mind your business it’s fine :) close to a good pizza place and some good places for breakfast
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at The Monarch Hotel
Responded 16 Mar 2020
Thank you very much for detailing your recent experience with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed a reasonable stay here, and that you were able to use the local eateries. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again when you are in San Francisco in the future. Best Regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
Anna M wrote a review Dec 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
When you leave and the door of the room closes behind you, it sounds like anywhere else, except the door mechanisms are old and the door won't shut all the way unless you give it an extra push. It feels like any other hotel room door, but don't let it deceive you, it won't close on its ownlike any other hotel door. I didn't know and I came back to find it unlocked and things missing from my room. The area is full of homeless and other strange looking people, but the security is next to none, anyone can enter. My room is on the 5th floor and even that's unsafe. The front desk was like, ma'am, we only have a security camera in the lobby, it's your own fault, you should have known (that their doors aren't fitted well enough to lock up?) tell the manager tomorrow am (will you let them know? Nah ma'am, I'll leave a note, let them know yourself), 'what could i do?' 'Wait until tomorrow ma'am, cos you don't want to spend all night waiting for the police', 'go wait till tomorrow', and so on, they're clearly well experienced with this sort of thing... I'm not commenting on the lack of cosmetics repairs (you get what you pay for, after all, 260/night will get you a very low end place in San Francisco), but for all crappy places ive stayed at, never did I feel more unsafe. That, and bye-bye the one of a kind (though not too expensive) jewelry and the one of a kind handbag....
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at The Monarch Hotel
Responded 16 Dec 2019
Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently. Our property is very safe, but there is a responsibility on each guest to ensure that their room door is closed when they leave. This is a standard safety measure that a person takes wherever they go, whether it be at home, leaving their car, or leaving a hotel room. Many hotel rooms have doors that need to be pulled closed - this is not at all unique to our property, and it is a shame that you did not check to ensure that it was closed. It is a pity that this incident left you with such a poor impression of our property, but if there is anything that our team can do to assist you in terms of filing a police report, don't hesitate to contact us. We will be happy to assist you in any way that we can.
Read more
RoamingNomad1 wrote a review Dec 2019
London, United Kingdom258 contributions123 helpful votes
Never judge a book by its cover, which is exactly what we did when looking at The Monarch hotel in Geary Street’s website and instantly regretted it. Our stay at this establishment has got to have been THE worst experience of our lives! Where else can you find a hotel where you must put your hand down the toilet bowl to help it flush? Where else does the heating have strange dust like substances come flying airborne out of the vent, which is quickly followed by a smell of burning? Where else does the room safe not have a key, the lights buzz when you turn on a switch, the bathroom door require lifting to avoid the noisy scraping on the ground, and a shower tap with just one temperature that’s so hot it burns your skin - and in my personal opinion - is dangerous? I could also go on to say the room is dated, the curtains are wipe down plastic, the carpet has certainly seen better days, the paintwork is tarnished and our room was so cold we feel we would probably have been warmer if we slept on the roof outside! When a complaint was made at reception, we were told that there was nothing they could do, and we would have to speak with the management who wasn’t there at the time. This we have now done - twice - and are still currently awaiting on a reply. Originally, we were booked to stay for a week but left after one night, and for this privilege, we were charged over $570 plus tax. Our total bill for this horrendous and pitiful experience came to $671.05 I will never recommend this establishment to anyone. Ever!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at The Monarch Hotel
Responded 5 Dec 2019
Thank you for your feedback. Your stay does not sound like the type of stay that we generally provide for our guests, and we apologize for all of the issues that you had during your time here. We will review your comments in detail as a team, and we see what changes that we can make in terms of both improving our property and training our staff, to improve our future guests' experiences. Thank you again for your detailed comments, we really appreciate them. Best wishes, Hotel Management
Read more
bookmarksf wrote a review Nov 2019
san francisco2 contributions6 helpful votes
My third time staying at the Monarch. A no-frills Euro-style hotel catering to those who don't expect to be pampered as though they were staying at an all-inclusive. The staff is consistently professional and helpful.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at The Monarch Hotel
Responded 14 Nov 2019
Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently, and for taking the time to leave your valuable feedback. We are always pleased to welcome you to our property, and it is most rewarding to hear that you have always had great experiences. We hope to host you many more times in the future! Best wishes, Hotel Management
Read more
Sanpauloo wrote a review Jul 2019
Stillwater, Minnesota28 contributions24 helpful votes
The good: close to a lot of interesting places in SF., Hotel is pleasant enough- Staff is friendly. The bad: no air conditioning, which is probably not a problem but was when I was there due to a heat wave for SF. Area is scary and loud at night due to the homeless population, which is not in other areas of SF where I visited-The Monarch is right near the tenderloin district- look it up. So depending on your age and where you are from this can be an issue. However a local said there is a code with the homeless to leave you alone, which they do.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at The Monarch Hotel
Responded 12 Jul 2019
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay, we are pleased to have provided you with a good stay, and we trust that you enjoyed your visit to San Francisco. Homelessness is an issue throughout the city, unfortunately, as well as here, but rest assured that our guests have never been disturbed by anyone locally, and the area, despite appearances at times, is very safe. We hope to remain your hotel of choice in San Francisco. Best wishes, Hotel Management
Read more
Beth N wrote a review Jun 2019
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom26 contributions54 helpful votes
We visited The Monarch Hotal at the end of a road trip LA to San Francisco. The hotel is self is good for a budget hotel in this city. It's nicely decorated, very clean and the staff were helpful. There are no facilities in the room but free tea coffee, water and ice 24/7 in the foyer. There is absolutely no parking, meters all round the hotel which need to be empty some parts of every night. There is a lot next to the hotel which is owned by a particularly unpleasent man who will let you park for 30 dollars a night. What really let's this area down is the area, it is right opposite the homeless shelter and large gangs of homeless people camp around the hotel day and night, over a hundred of them and although they do not threaten or engage with you the continually fight between themselves. This give a very unsafe feeling when outside the hotel. This is the view from our window, day and night.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at The Monarch Hotel
Responded 6 Jun 2019
We really appreciate the time that you've taken to leave such a detailed review of your stay with us. Thank you very much, it's great to hear that so many aspects of your stay pleased you so much, and the information that you've provided will be very useful for travelers who are considering staying with us. We would sincerely love to welcome you back again in the future, and we hope that you'll return to San Francisco very soon! Best wishes, Hotel Management
Read more
Ryan C wrote a review Apr 2019
11 contributions7 helpful votes
The property is a 2 star property so our expectations weren't high. We read previous reviews and they were unfair. The hotel is clean and comfortable and had charm. It's not modern in anyway but has old fashioned character which is reflected in the price. I'm not sure what other guests expected as its clear its a no frills hotel when you book. It's main advantage was its location. Walking distance to the retail and finance district and we regularly walked to and from Fishermans Wharf and China Town. Great location for the price. You can also Uber it to any attraction for as little as 10 bucks. So easy. I feel I need to address the' homeless and poor neighbourhood issue' raised by other guests in their reviews! Absolute nonsense, pay no attention to these snobs, they're up their own backsides. Yes SF has a real homelessness issue but that's not restricted to The Monarch Hotel or even the local neighbourhood. Their homeless population are spread all over the entire city and the issue is sad rather than scary. This should play no part in your decision to stay here. The neighbourhood where the hotel is located is very vibrant and gritty, its not 'rough', 'scary' or 'rundown' as described in other reviews. We're from London and I've felt more intimidated walking home in my own neighborhood than at any point in SF. According to other reviews you should avoid Tenderloin which is a few blocks from The Monarch, again we had no issue at all. Overall a very good hotel for the price and a great location for a holiday. If you're not incredibly sensitive then you'll have no problem especially considering the Hilton is a short walk away and is four times the price. Hope this helps.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at The Monarch Hotel
Responded 29 Apr 2019
Thank you for your detailed feedback which is likely to be very useful for anyone considering staying with us. We are pleased that your stay was so successful and that you had a wonderful time during your visit. We hope that you will have another opportunity to visit this beautiful area and our hotel soon. Best wishes, Hotel Management
Read more
alan h wrote a review Apr 2019
Morecambe, United Kingdom296 contributions226 helpful votes
It's had a refurb since we were last here; they've even put an inside door on the lift...sorry, elevator. The reception chap was really helpful and the revamped rooms are fine. To get the best prices, check that there are no major events in SFO, or the rates will 'rocket'; book well in advance. We have previously stayed at The Grant Hotel as they offer a basic breakfast service; The Monarch could consider doing this. Our main reason for staying here is that Tommy's Joynt' is across the street, where you can eat and drink on a budget.....and Bonus, Bonus; there's No Tipping,as you fetch your food from a counter...and boy is it good. The neighbourhood has a rather significant homeless presence, but don't let that put you off; just don't make 'eye contact' with them.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at The Monarch Hotel
Responded 25 Apr 2019
Hi Alan, We are so touched by your comments; it is wonderful to hear that we provided you with a home from home during your time here. We hope to have another opportunity to host you again before long. Best wishes, Hotel Management
Read more
rover_733 wrote a review Apr 2019
Dallas288 contributions61 helpful votes
Stayed here for a couple of days while on a short trip. Had to make a decision between staying in city versus near airport/rent a car. I chose former. The hotel itself is OK - what you expect from 1-2 * property. The place is old, the elevator is scary (needs to be replaced). There are a lot of homeless people near teh property at night and also folks smoking pot openly on streets.. Not recommended for family with Kids. All in All cheap hotel in downtown
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: arrive during day.. high floor
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at The Monarch Hotel
Responded 23 Apr 2019
Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay at our hotel; we are much appreciative. It sounds as if our property was suitable for your short stay in this area, and if you have similar accommodation requirements here again, we hope that you will choose to stay with us again. Best wishes, Hotel Management
Read more
Sailaway wrote a review Mar 2019
3 contributions2 helpful votes
What a wonderful old grand lady. We were so impressed with our visit. Very clean, comfortable bed and spacious room. The bathroom was adequate for a building of its age, and we did not have to share. Reasonably priced and very pleasant and helpful staff. Would definitely visit again. 10 stars.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at The Monarch Hotel
Responded 16 Mar 2019
Dear Guest, To see that we were able to provide our guest with such a wonderful experience is the highest compliment we can receive. Thank you so much for sharing! Best wishes, Hotel Management.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$191 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
monarch hotel san francisco, monarch san francisco
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan FranciscoDowntown San Francisco / Tenderloin / Theater District / Van Ness
NUMBER OF ROOMS
101
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Monarch Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Monarch Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Great American Music Hall (0.1 km), San Francisco Music Hall Of Fame Gallery (0.3 km), and Ace's (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Monarch Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, laundry service, and baggage storage.
Is parking available at The Monarch Hotel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Monarch Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Brenda's French Soul Food, Tommy's Joynt, and Saha.
Is The Monarch Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of San Francisco.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Monarch Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Chinese, and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to The Monarch Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Alcatraz Island (4.6 km), Golden Gate Bridge (6.4 km), and City Lights Booksellers (1.8 km).