We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Monarch Hotel

Expedia.comUS$ 167*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 189*
US$ 167*
US$ 189*
US$ 166*
US$ 189*
US$ 166*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Monarch Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

388 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 274: English reviews
Start your review of Monarch Hotel
 Click to rate
Murrieta, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Well... last minute travel plans landed us at the monarch hotel. There's not much to report. The building is incredibly old, and it smells old. There are no amenities which kind of sucked but we knew that before booking. It isn't in the greatest part of the city and there are homeless people everywhere. All that being said.. the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lolitarocks
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed review - we appreciate you taking the time to leave us such comprehensive feedback. We are very happy that we were able to accommodate you at short notice, and that you had a decent stay at a great price. We hope that you enjoyed exploring the city! Thank you for choosing to stay with us,...

Reno, Nevada
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

Booked this place the day of because we were extending a trip to Palo Alto a day in the city. On a positive, there were multiple great brunch options the next morning within walking distance. At the same time, I'm sure that outweighs how old this place was. It wasn't that well maintained, had a musty scent, and parking was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carina R
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Carina, Thank you for taking the time to detail your recent stay with us. We do, as you mention, have an old property, but our team work tirelessly to keep it cleaned and maintained to a very high standard, and we trust that you enjoyed your clean room. We hope that you will consider staying with us again if...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Good price and location. Polite staff. Would stay there again for business. Looks of great restaurants in the area. Clean room however not the newest. Not much more to the this place just a comfortable place to lay your head.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meaux007
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

We pride ourselves on providing a clean comfortable place to stay in this area at a reasonable price, and we are happy that is what you received. We do have an older property, but we work hard to ensure that it is cleaned and maintained to the highest possible standard, and we hope that you agree. We hope to welcome...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Great location, we walked to most of the spots we wanted to visit and it was easy and fast to do! The rooms are a little basic, but for the price, it is good value. There were some homeless people on the street near the hotel which is a little unsettling but we noticed that was the case on most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham-M95
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Graham, Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently, and for taking the time to leave your review. We are happy that you enjoyed the value that we provide in this area, and that you enjoyed both your room and our fantastic location. As you noticed, San Francisco does have an element of homelessness, as do most cities...

Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

Great location since its in downton San Francisco. Very comfortable for the price per night. Nice and helpfull people in the front desk. No food service in the hotel but you can catch a meal in lots of places nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Florence Nicole A
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Florence, We were delighted to welcome to the hotel recently, and we're just as delighted that you had such a great stay. We'll be sure to pass your comments onto our staff, they are always happy to receive positive feedback from our guests. We hope that you will think of us the next time you need a room in...

Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for a 4 day weekend vacation and were very disappointed. They really know how to edit their pictures, because it was nothing like what they posted. I could have been okay with it, except the heater did not work and our room was chilly. Luckily my boyfriend was able to fix it...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank cc_1116
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

We are very disappointed to read your review, and see that you experienced so many issues during your stay. We do wish that you had alerted us to the fact that your shower and sink were draining so slowly - we would gladly have rectified the problem or transferred you to a more suitable room. We will be sure to...

Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

The Monarch is charming and clean. The view of the beach across the road is amazing. The complimentary breakfast was perfect and enough to hold you over until lunch. Bring your camera and some wine and get ready to relax.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maggie G
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maggie, we loved reading your review, thank you very much! It's really great that you enjoyed both your stay with us, and our complimentary breakfast so much. Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope that you will have a reason to stay with us again soon. Best Wishes, Hotel Management

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 1 December 2016

I rarely write reviews but after reading some of the scathing reviews, and wanting to cancel my own reservation after reading them (but had booked a nonrefundable reservation), I wanted to make sure this sweet little hotel receives the credit it deserves. I just stayed one night, prior to a residency interview in SF, so to be fair, was only...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lauren S
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much Lauren for making an exception for us, and taking the time to write such a comprehensive review of your stay with us. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much, and that you found us to be a reasonable, yet clean and comfortable hotel for your short stay. We sincerely hope that your residency interview...

las vagas
Reviewed 25 October 2016

It was a Saturday and the eve before a Giants game SF was busy and I finished work at 7:30 pm having completed a 12 hr shift at UCSF Parnassus. I was not looking forward to the 70 mile drive home, when horror of horrors my car notified me that my rear tyre pressure was very low. Tired, in need...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hyawatha
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, so sorry to hear about your car, but we are delighted to hear that we provided a comfortable stay during this unfortunate moment. We always aim to provide a relaxing and comfortable environment and so we are thrilled to see that we achieved that. I hope this means you'll be back again someday on your next visit. Thank...

Shanghai, China
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

This is a reasonable pick for a quick overnight stay. Old and in need of a facelift, rooms are nonetheless clean. There's no breakfast in the price and the complimentary coffee in the lobby is not great. The immediate neighbourhood is inhabited by a number of homeless and drunk people - plenty of nighttime shouting and scuffles to be heard....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Scott L
MonarchHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Scott, we pride ourselves on our service with clean and comfortable rooms, so we are delighted that you had such a positive experience with them. Just like many cities, our city also suffers from homelessness. But, we assure you that our hotel is safe, and we hope that you will stay with us again in the future. Thank you...

71 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (68)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
The Opal San Francisco
#100 of 228 in San Francisco
1,102 reviews
Music City Hotel
#123 of 228 in San Francisco
370 reviews
Alexis Park San Francisco
#178 of 228 in San Francisco
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#150 of 228 in San Francisco
821 reviews
Adante Hotel
#175 of 228 in San Francisco
696 reviews
The Fitzgerald Hotel
#171 of 228 in San Francisco
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi

Additional Information about Monarch Hotel

Address: 1015 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94109-6902
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Price Range: ₹ 8,010 - ₹ 14,211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Monarch Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monarch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monarch Hotel San Francisco
Monarch San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Monarch Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
7 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Monarch Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room away from the elevators (I was given one, for quiteness”
hyawatha, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“choose rooms with windows away from the street”
sr201753j9, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you don't like elevators, get a room on a lower floor. It's a tiny & old elevator!”
692sandig, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Corner rooms with better view and more sunlight”
anthonycK4482ID, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“don't book”
B1936ETsaram, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 167* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 166
TravelocityUS$ 166
CancelonUS$ 189
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates