We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Tuscan

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Tuscan
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,973 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Tuscan
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,533: English reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

We arrived early and wanted to drop off our luggage and tour the city by foot. We checked in and were told the room was being cleaned and to return after 3pm. We arrived back at the hotel around 7pm, tired from a long day of exploring and walking all over Fisherman's Wharf. I walked up to the counter to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Maganda V
ncarls0n, General Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review

Hey Traveler, Thank you for sharing your feedback. While I am disappointed to read that your stay got off to a rocky start, I am delighted that Jose took such great care of you. He is truly an asset to our hotel and is always working with our guests to make their stay perfect. As far as the initial problem...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 31 December 2016

Good size room, easy checkin. Complimentary coffee and tea in the mornings. Bed very comfortable and housekeeping excellent. They offer a 5.00 credit if you decline housekeeping per day. Shower excellent and nice products supplied. Only offer valet parking which is expensive at 65 per day. You can park around the corner for 30. Wish I had known that. Restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RSTS1972
ncarls0n, General Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review

Hey Traveler, Thank you for taking time to review us after your stay! It sounds like overall everything was great and you were able to enjoy many of our amenities. Parking is based on supply and demand and all garages that have 24 hour security range from $50-85 for a 24 hour period depending on where you are in the...

Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

When we got to the room the smoke alarm was chirping every 15 saconds. Called twice, no one came. Whent to the desk to complain, someone did fix it befor we got back at the end of the day. Kids were cold, only a light blanket and a sheet on the pull out bed. Called for a extra blanket, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Randy F
ncarls0n, General Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review

Hi Randy- Thank you for your feedback, we truly appreciate hearing from our guests regarding their stay. It sounds like we missed several opportunities to make your stay great and for that I am incredibly disappointed. Please know that your feedback did not fall on deaf ears and that we will be addressing these issues across all departments. The $700...

Iqaluit, Canada
Reviewed 28 December 2016

great location..price point for rooms ok..just dont park there..its 65 us a night..theres a parkade across the street for 36.00 a night..the rooms are comfortable..bit a bit smaller than average..doors swing in wrong direction be careful when opening ur room door not to hit anyone..they swing out into the hallway..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ringseal
ncarls0n, General Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review

Hey Traveler, Thank you for sharing your feedback after your recent stay. We love hearing from our guests! Warm Regards, Nikki Carlson General Manager

Mendocino, California
Reviewed 23 December 2016

This is the place we always stay, as it is pet-friendly, and within walking distance of outside dining at Fisherman's Wharf. We are also able to dine outside at the hotel's fabulous restaurant (breakfast, lunch and/or dinner). Everyone is very friendly and helpful, with a concierge in the lobby to help travelers find their destinations of interest. The Inn is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MendoTripper
ncarls0n, General Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review

Hey Traveler, Thank you for the great review! It's great to read you enjoyed our location, staff, and yummy restaurant Pescatore! Cheers, Nikki Carlson General Manager

Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

Hotel located at Fishermans Wharf. Good location. Close to cable cars and if one likes to walk you could engage in a leisurely walk to market street to experience the city in about an hour. The hotel was neat and clean. My room faced the north point street with a view of both the Golden Gate and the Bay Bridge....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank iecart1
ncarls0n, General Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review

Hey Traveler, Thank you for taking time to review our hotel! It's great to read that you found the accommodations and the location suitable for your travel needs. Pescatore is a great local Italian spot, I am happy that you were able to enjoy their yummy food and warm environment. Please come back and see us again! Cheers, Nikki Carlson...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed a lovely stay here. The location is perfect - close to all areas of interest -- easy walking distance and not hilly. Some great eating places are nearby as well as a lovely restaurant attached to the hotel. On arrival we had a slight issue with our room : there was a lot of very loud / rude...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debandab
ncarls0n, General Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review

Hey Traveler, Thank you for the great review! We are thrilled that you loved the location and that our staff took great care of you. I am happy we were able to get you moved to a more quiet location to enjoy the remainder of your stay. Cheers! Nikki Carlson General Manager

Windsor Heights, Iowa
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

Excellent location. Could walk to all locations we were interested in. The pier, embaradaro and the Ferry building. Good restaurant attached to hotel and for snacks Trader Joe's only one block away. Very clean and a very friendly staff at front desk.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _wnskirnick
ncarls0n, General Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review

Hey Traveler, Thank you for the 5 star review! We love when our guests come to celebrate their special occasions with us, so glad we could be a part of the birthday plans. It's great to read that our location was perfect for your travel needs and that our staff took excellent care of you. Cheers, Nikki Carlson General Manager

Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

Perfect location by t h e Wharf and close to North Beach and China town. Fantastic restaurant attached to hotel. Service good. Room was a little small but we just slept there. Place was very clean and other amenities close such as convenience store.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank eurekaray
ncarls0n, General Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review

Hey Traveler, Thank you for the great review. It's great to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the location suited your needs! Come back and see us again soon. Cheers, Nikki Carlson General Manager

Melbourne, Florida
Reviewed 14 December 2016

We had a garden view room which was very nice, comfortable and not too expensive. Hotel was also quiet.Hotel was just a few blocks to Pier 39 excellent restaurants and transportation. Cable car was just a few blocks away so was the Trolley. The Embarcadero was within 2 blocks.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pilltime
ncarls0n, General Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review

Hey Traveler, Thank you for the 5 star review! Please come back and see us again soon. Cheers, Nikki Carlson General Manager

655 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (507)
Viewed
Room/Suite (133)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
View from Room (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (88)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (197)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (111)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Standard King - 1 (18)
Viewed
Standard Queen Room (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#47 of 229 in San Francisco
1,685 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf ...
#66 of 229 in San Francisco
834 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherma...
#56 of 229 in San Francisco
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Fisherman’s Wharf

Neighbourhood Profile
Fisherman’s Wharf
Packed with family-friendly entertainment, quality hotels, and good food, there’s something for everyone at Fisherman’s Wharf. From street performers and historic cable cars to art galleries and museums, a postcard-worthy photo is available on every corner. Bring your appetite: seafood lovers will be rewarded with Dungeness crab and sourdough bread bowls, while Ghirardelli Square will satiate anyone’s sweet tooth after a day at Alcatraz and the Golden Gate Bridge. Don't forget to say hello to the adorable sea lions that make this neighbourhood a true San Francisco treat.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan hotel, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman's Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Tuscan

Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1405 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Price Range: ₹ 15,794 - ₹ 34,478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscan 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Tuscan staff and other travellers.
91 questions
Ask a question
Baltimore, Maryland

See all questions (91)

Questions? Get answers from The Tuscan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try for a room overlooking the little garden/patio”
 of 5 bubbles 26garyw, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from the elevators, but not too far, then its a hike after walking all day.”
 of 5 bubbles Jlovato23, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the view on the inside yard”
 of 5 bubbles 629laurentf, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get an internal room”
 of 5 bubbles LJCLose, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for closer to elevators”
 of 5 bubbles Drrory, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5