We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Tuscan

Booking.comUS$ 292*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 292*
US$ 292*
US$ 292*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
The Tuscan
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,021 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Tuscan
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,580: English reviews
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Straight from the airport after a trans-Atlantic flight, this hotel was a welcoming experience for us. Beautiful mini-suite, perfectly laundered sheets, super comfy bed and spotless bathroom. This hotel is in the perfect location for exploring Fishermans Wharf. A highlight of our visit to San Fran was hiring bicycles and cycling across the Golden Gate Bridge and getting the ferry...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CavChon
Groveton, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago

They are undergoing a huge renovation and it is a mess. The staff are the most professional and friendly I have ever met. In particular, I would like to commend two of the top folks we dealt with. The lady at the Front Desk (HAIMY) was an angel. Also, the Concierge, Aiyaz was a tremendous help. It was a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SpiceFolks
ncarls0n, General Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review

hey Traveler, Thank you for the great review! Haimy and Aiyaz are fantastic I am delighted they took such great care of you. We look forward to having you back after the renovation. Cheers, Nikki Carlson General Manager

Lyndon Station, Wisconsin
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel online as a Best Western. There was no notification given that it had changed or that they were in the middle of a major remodeling, rebranding. We had been told when we made our reservations that we would likely be able to check in early after our night flight. Because of the remodeling, the number of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2CAPs
Glasgow
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Currently staying till Saturday 15th we are in room 205. We arrived Monday 10th. So far we have found staff more than willing to help with any enquiry. We are delighted with the room apart from the street noise early in morning so if I'm a front room I would say to use earplugs as it's very noisy from 1...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank LennieBelle
ncarls0n, General Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review

Hey Traveler, Thank you for taking time to share your feedback! We truly value it. It's great to read that the remodel has not effected your stay and as you mentioned our amazing staff is always here to help and provide an elevated experience for all travelers no matter what the circumstances! Cheers, Nikki Carlson General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived yesterday from Vegas.....what a disaster to walk into....MAJOR MAJOR renovations going on....no lobby,, stairs to walk up to reception....was 4 of us 2 rooms...one stunk of cigarette smoke...inn a non smoking hotel....new room got....the rooms are small for what you pay....disgusting....no lift at all today....stay away ...far far away....jack hammers at 8 am.......room service yelling at 8.30am........would never ever...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cheryl F
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel when it was the Best Western plus the Tuscan through British Airways. At no point did BA or the Tuscan informed us of any refurbishment works were going to be underway at the time of our visit. When you arrive you go up a flight of stairs into a corridor where there are signs of building...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank PeJ54
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Difficult to say a lot as the building was in the middle of a huge renovation But the staff were brilliant and really worked hard due to the circumstances Position was great Can't wait for new hotel to open

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian G
ncarls0n, General Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review

Hey traveler, Thank you for acknowledging the great work of our employees! They are the ones that make this such a special place to stay. We look forward to having you back when the project is completed. Cheers! Nikki Carlson General Manager

La Paz, Mexico
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Agreeing with all previous reviewers about the major disruptive renovation, the shabbiness of the current rooms and bathrooms but what is SHAMELESS is that they continue to take bookings for the hotel at EXORBITANT rates. No doubt all will be well when finished, but it is FALSE ADVERTISING to put up future photographs/pictures. We are leaving in disgust.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mooiboot
ncarls0n, General Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review

Hey Traveler, Thank you for taking time to write a review. It's disappointing to read that the renovation had such a large impact on your San Francisco experience. It's never our intention to leave our guests feeling as though we did not communicate effectively so for that I apologize. If you have any further concerns you would like to address...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Do not stay here. Cancel your reservation. So bad they are now charging people if they leave early. Under construction. Receptionist said, too bad, so sad. In room letter, "apology", but we have provided ear plug..and they are complimentary! Don't stay here!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank distaff
ncarls0n, General Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review

Hey Traveler, Thank you for taking time to write a review. It's disappointing to read that the renovation had such a large impact on your San Francisco experience. It's never our intention to leave our guests feeling as though we did not communicate effectively so for that I apologize. We are not charging any guests for departing early and in...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had booked The Tuscan when it was part of the Best Western chain and prior to any refurbishments for part of our Honeymoon. We received notification that the hotel had changed names and was also under "light" refurbishments. We arrived and it was lot more than "light" refurbishment. It was not the sight you want to see on the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank leannewhite175
ncarls0n, General Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review

Hey Traveler, Thank you for taking time to write a review. It's disappointing to read that the renovation had such a large impact on your San Francisco experience. It's never our intention to leave our guests feeling as though we did not communicate effectively so for that I apologize. I hope our direct communication after your check out and our...

640 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (516)
Viewed
Room/Suite (133)
Viewed
View from Room (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (88)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (206)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (87)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Standard Queen Room (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (17)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 227 in San Francisco
1,835 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf ...
#70 of 227 in San Francisco
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Fisherman’s Wharf

Neighbourhood Profile
Fisherman’s Wharf
Packed with family-friendly entertainment, quality hotels, and good food, there’s something for everyone at Fisherman’s Wharf. From street performers and historic cable cars to art galleries and museums, a postcard-worthy photo is available on every corner. Bring your appetite: seafood lovers will be rewarded with Dungeness crab and sourdough bread bowls, while Ghirardelli Square will satiate anyone’s sweet tooth after a day at Alcatraz and the Golden Gate Bridge. Don't forget to say hello to the adorable sea lions that make this neighbourhood a true San Francisco treat.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan hotel, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman's Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Tuscan

Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1405 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Price Range: ₹ 16,175 - ₹ 28,612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscan 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Tuscan staff and other travellers.
96 questions
Ask a question
Baltimore, Maryland

See all questions (96)

Questions? Get answers from The Tuscan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“check that the room you have booked has undergone refurbishment”
jacquelinepp2013, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“No idea as the new rooms will be totally different”
Mark&Nic, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The higher floors were being renovated”
armyrangermom, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“parking garage right across the street for $36 over the hotel's $55 rate, just have to make sure to exit every 24 hours.”
tinasJ1795QG, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“noisy near street with trucks and construction”
lisawL6686YC, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 292* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 292
PricelineUS$ 292
TravelocityUS$ 292
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates