We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Surf Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Surf Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

202 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Surf Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 108: English reviews
Carcassonne, France
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I just spend a few nights in this hotel which is very well located. But my room had bad smell, wifi not working correctly, ridiculous breakfast and extremely noisy ! I paid over 1200 $ for 6 nights !! Just get away from there unless you pay 75 $ or less a night !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bregfa
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Surf motel. As you stated we are extremely well located to be able to enjoy all the venues around us and still be close when it is time to relax in your room. We certainly apologize about the "odor" you had in your room. When we have...

Porterville, California
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Took a chance with this hotel, looking at the comments..some good and some bad, couldnt beat the price and the location was great. actually walked to the wharf and it wasn't to bad of walk. plenty of places to grab a bite to eat within a block. the room was cute and clean to my surprise and i would st

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scottsize
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing review of your stay at our Surf motel. We do strive to offer clean and comfortable rooms with a great customer service and we appreciate you noticing. Location is so important when choosing a motel especially when traveling with your family and you pointed out that is is an easy walk to the Wharf. We...

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

We spent just one night there and we didn't plan to be there actually. But the hotel was nice for what we needed. Good staff and free wifi upstairs. But the connection wasn't so good because I had to be standing close to the door to go online.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LarissaSantos
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your stay at the Surf motel. We always appreciate compliments on our property as well as "needs help" comments. We strive to provide clean and comfortable rooms for our guests and free WI-FI is always a huge plus for our guests. Good staff is almost as good as anything we could provide for our...

Beaverton, Oregon
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

First off, the positive. Location is fabulous. Was able to take the bus just 2 blocks away to downtown. Free parking. Best breakfast in town is across the street at Home Plate. Go there ! The negative. Small rooms, not very clean, breakfast was a wrapped pastry at the front desk, coffee is made in your room. The worst thing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Connie C
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your stay at Surf motel. We were pleased that you agree with us that our location is wonderful. As for the rude service you received, please accept our deepest apologies as we do not ever want our guests treated as you were treated. We pride ourselves on clean and comfortable rooms with great customer...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My wife and myself stayed at the surf motel for three nights and found the hotel to be very clean and quiet even though it was on the very busy Lombard street.The only complaint was the very poor breakfast which was a sticky bun and a cup of coffee that you had to brew yourself in your room.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tommy133
Rocky P, Public Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Surf Motel. We are in a great location for the venues that are offered by our motel making travel to them a little easier. Clean and comfortable rooms are our goal with friendly customer service so knowing you received all of that is our priority. When you are next in the Bay...

Okinawa, Japan
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I stayed there this past weekend, and I didn't see anything really wrong with this hotel. I understand this is not the Hilton hotel, but the bathroom and showers were functional, bed was nice and firm, A/C work :D but from 10am to 7pm you can hear the outside traffic but it didn't bother me. Great price, great location, great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cameroguy
Rocky P, Public Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review of the Surf Motel. We are doing extensive renovations as this is being written and are glad you were able to have a wonderful weekend with us. It is our goal to provide for our guests a clean and comfortable room, and great customer service.. We look forward to seeing you again when you...

Reno, Nevada
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The location is good cause there are lot of clubs and restaurents situated nearby. They have smoking room, which is very hard to find in San Francisco. House keepers keeps the room clean. Free parking. Bad things are first of all their tv doesn't work. Toilet makes a enormous noise when you pull the trigger to flush, weak heart patience...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank walid g
Rocky P, Public Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on your stay at the Surf Motel. We are so pleased to hear you had a great stay with us and you enjoyed all of the clubs and restaurants nearby. We are doing extensive remodeling so on your next stay with us you will find lots of wonderful changes. Our goal is to provide clean...

Mesa, AZ
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We are currently staying in room 214 and have had 4 big black spiders in our room. I contacted the onsite worker Michael who is doing everything by himself and has no power what so ever, I requested a refund but they don't have the money to refund me. I spoke with the owner on the phone and she was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gregory B
Rocky P, Public Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response to your stay at the Surf motel. Since your stay we have clearly screened each room with our exterminator to eliminate problems you had found. Nature has a way of sneaking up on us and we appreciate you letting us know so we can take care of the problem. We sincerely apologize for your situation...

Santa Barbara, California
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I was on a week long road trip through California and I had a two night stay in San Francisco. I price lined my hotel and I was given surf motel. I immediately got on and got really scared of the reviews.i stayed on a Tuesday and Wednesday night. I was greeted when I got there by a very nice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sblibra86
Rocky P, Public Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your current stay at the Surf Motel. We are doing extensive renovations and expect your next stay to be completely different from the bad towels and noise. Our motel does have an excellent location and makes getting around to all the events wonderfully easy, so we are glad you were able to enjoy the transportation options....

Reviewed 5 March 2013

I staied in room 211 and 212, there were people running around half naked fighting in front of the hotel. There were people drinking drinking and partying all night we call numerous time...no answer... we call Police and anything to try n slow them down! Nothing work!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SurfMotorBadBoy
Rocky P, Public Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on the Surf motel. We pride ourselves on clean comfortable rooms for your stay and that would include a quiet peaceful environment. We truly apologize for your noisy stay and we will be addressing the front desk not being able to calm the situation down and remove the party goers. It is our intention you...

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#166 of 230 in San Francisco
535 reviews
Marina District
Knights Inn San Francisco / Near the Presidio
Knights Inn San Francisco / Near...
#171 of 230 in San Francisco
86 reviews
Marina District
Travel Inn
Travel Inn
#181 of 230 in San Francisco
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Lombard Plaza Motel
Lombard Plaza Motel
#136 of 230 in San Francisco
133 reviews
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#135 of 230 in San Francisco
201 reviews
Marina District
La Luna Inn
La Luna Inn
#158 of 230 in San Francisco
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Marina District

Neighbourhood Profile
Marina District
Beautiful homes, beautiful people, and a beautiful backdrop of the Golden Gate Bridge welcome visitors to the Marina. Originally the location for the Panama-Pacific International Exposition in 1915 (whose remnants can be seen at the Palace of Fine Arts), much of the land was filled and flattened to accommodate a world’s fair. That ample space has given way to a jogger’s paradise at the northern edge of the city. With the picturesque bay setting as its backdrop, it’s no surprise that the area has hosted numerous movie productions. Daytime activities focus on café culture and boutique shopping, while the evenings turn this neighbourhood into a party-going hotspot.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Surf Motel

Address: 2265 Lombard St., San Francisco, CA 94123
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Price Range: ₹ 6,076 - ₹ 15,362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Hotel San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Surf Motel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Surf Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“210 was quiet (it was at the back in the middle)”
 of 5 bubbles A5481TUjamesh, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Non smoking rooms”
 of 5 bubbles BMatthews2013, 16 Mar 2016 | Read review
“get a floor on 2nd level and avoid 49er home game weekends.”
 of 5 bubbles 498mackc, 16 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Do not stay here”
 of 5 bubbles jimd406, 5 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Do not let them out you in the Handicapped room on main floor, even if they tell you it's cheaper!”
 of 5 bubbles karls665, 4 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay