We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pacific Tradewinds Hostel

Traveller (45)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (4)
  • Excellent81%
  • Very good14%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“common room”(30 reviews)
“pb j”(6 reviews)
“quiet hours”(6 reviews)
Free Wifi
Non-Smoking Rooms
Laundry Service
Breakfast included
Airport Transportation
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (491)
There are newer reviews for Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
460 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
More languages
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon roompb jquiet hoursflights of stairsbunk bedsmeet other travellersother gueststhe financial districtawesome staydorm roomlaundry servicefourth floorno elevatorhome away from homeamazing locationbart stationpublic transport
Updating list...
81 - 85 of 460 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Good location; friendly staff; well cleaned sheets; pretty good for the price and the location. I was not carrying any luggage so that was not an issue but for people carrying, the hostel is on the 4th floor with no elevator service.

Thank Partha B
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

Small hostel in convenient place from which to explore the city and easy to get to from airports. Staff are super friendly and helpful and there are activities available if you want. Check in is efficient, place is clean and tidy. Great value.

Thank Rob S
Reviewed 23 August 2017

The staff at PTH are very friendly and super helpful, they're really approachable and try to accommodate any needs you have. After a few days they'll start to feel more like family and less like staff. The room I stayed in had 3 bunk beds,...More

Thank Edward Z
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

The staff at The Pacific Tradewinds Hostel are some of the friendliest people you will ever meet! They are travelers much like everyone else with their unique goals in life and stories to share. At first, you may feel like a complete stranger coming into...More

Thank Richard C
Reviewed 16 August 2017

I was sharing a room with 5 other people and I had a great experience. I also had all I needed in order to have a pleasant stay. The staff were super friendly and helpful all the time. The hostel is located in the financial...More

Thank Victor G
View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in San Francisco, CA
See all 230 hotels in San FranciscoSee all
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Laundry Service
Price range
US$ 37 - US$ 94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Price range
US$ 37 - US$ 94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (45)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (4)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Financial District
The Financial District lies just east of Chinatown but
can seem a world apart given it’s San Francisco’s
version of Wall Street. The rush of business people
make up a hectic weekday and add to a frenetic pace of
life, but visitors who spend a few hours walking the
narrow streets will be rewarded with fine examples of
historic and contemporary architecture, including the
iconic Transamerica Pyramid. After business hours,
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
25 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from sfhostel | Property representative |
Unfortunately, because we are in an old historic building is has been deemed technically infeasible and financially prohibitive to install an elevator. For guests unable to navigate our stairs we will arrange equivalent... More
5 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from sfhostel | Property representative |
Hi Pragati, I recognize your name so I know we have already answered this question for you personally, however I will answer it again here for the benefit of other readers. As a small hostel, it's necessary that all our... More
Lauren S
25 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Courtney L | Property representative |
Hey Lauren. As we are right in downtown San Francisco, we do not offer parking. There are parking garages 1 block away for $28/24 hours. Alternatively, we know of some first come, first served free street parking across the... More
Room Tips
"You can choose from quiet or 'social' dorms. Social dorms are on the same level as kitchen/common..."
Read review
"The quiet floor is preferable, since it does not have the communal lounge right outside."
Read review
"You just get a bed, definitely pick the bottom bunk."
Read review
"Rooms on the 3rd floor are quieter."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing