We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hostelling International- San Francisco\/ Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

755 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 500: English reviews
Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I stayed here for a week with my teenage sons. We had a triple private. It was all that we needed. One or two of the staff were a bit personality-less but that didn't detract from the overall experience, and by and large most were extremely helpful and friendly. The breakfast is simple but good - bagels, cereal, fruit, tea,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FelicityKT
HISFDT, Public Relations Manager at Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown, responded to this review

We're so happy you were able to experience San Francisco with your teenage sons! Having previously been a teenage son, I hope your time with them was hassle free -- I was a brat. We look forward to welcoming you and the boys back to San Francisco soon!

Grapevine, Texas
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This hostel was very well kept and clean. There were lots of little extras that made it seem very homey. There were coffee and bagels available all day long, secure luggage storage for before and after checkout, a movie room, lounges, etc. I also appreciated the security passes for added safety. I also adored all of the green things this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annie H
Paris, France
Reviewed 11 April 2014

What a pleasant stay there ! The hostel is very well located (just a few minutes from Market Street) and staff member are very nice and helpful ! The hostel is very clean (shared bathrooms, kitchen, rooms) and my room was quite comfortable. The street is supposed to be noisy but it didn't bothered me at all. Just one negative...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ThomasFNLO
HISFDT, Guest Relations Manager at Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for the tremendously pleasant feedback! Street noise can definitely be seen as the only setback of being so centrally located. We try our best to combat this by offering free earplugs available to all guests located in our lobby and at the front desk. If other rooms are available, we're always happy to attempt to move guests to...

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed here for three nights and stayed in a 4 dorm bedroom. Welcoming staff was very rude and didn't care much for helping us or our arrival. Room was very small and not much room for all luggage and room was full. Very basic which was surprising considering how much we paid. My bed sheets were dirty and stained, didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aupair123
HISFDT, Guest Relations Manager at Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire staff, I apologize you felt your experience during check-in was unsatisfactory. The last thing we would ever want any one to feel upon visiting a new place is unwelcome. Regarding the restroom situation, each of our floors has three public restrooms and half the dorm rooms have en-suite restrooms. Unlike other hostels, we don't charge...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed in a private room, which was a good size and had a comfortable bed, the street noise can be a bit loud at times, but that's probably why they provide ear plugs downstairs. We didn't have the free breakfast, but it's looked good - bagels and stuff like that.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Shillier
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We got a private en suite room. Very clean and spacious. Go for it, spend a little more to have some privacy, a view and a big toilet. Felt like a hotel, but hostel price. Breakfast is FREE. Yummy bagels (lots of them with different flavours), fruits, cereals,...more than any other hostel will provide. Very nice kitchen area. Very clean...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shirniong
HISFDT, Guest Relations Manager at Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you tremendously for leaving your feedback. Your kind words and assessment of our hostel and the surrounding area is 100% spot on. We're extremely excited and pleased you had such a fantastic stay with us. Please do us the honor of hosting you again the next time you visit San Francisco. With love, from the entire HI-SF Downtown Staff.

Bakersfield, California
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Right in downtown, so there is constant noise at night. Bring a power strip or a extension chord. Staff was knowledgable but not too friendly at all. Kinda got the impression that it's just bed factory. But if you want to go to all the touristy stuff it's a great reasonable spot.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aaron C
HISFDT, Guest Relations Manager at Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive recommendation of our hostel. I'm very sorry you gathered the impression that we are a bed factory, as this strongly goes against our hostel and organizational mission. We strive to make our hostel feel like a home away from home for all of our guests, and I can guarantee if you choose to stay with...

Blacksburg, Virginia
Reviewed 17 March 2014

If you're traveling on a budget but still looking for nice, centrally-located accommodations this is a great option. I stayed here with a friend for four nights and had a wonderful experience. Obviously if you are staying at a hostel you shouldn't be expecting the amenities of a five-star hotel, but I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maggiem3vt
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I joined my friends over in San Francisco, and we stayed in a six-room dorm for two nights. The Australian that stayed with us was absolutely lovely; so this place is great to meet new people. We arrived at midnight as our plane was delayed. Our cab driver informed us that we ought to be careful as downtown can be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laurenpreston13
HISFDT, Guest Relations Manager at Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown, responded to this review

We greatly appreciate you leaving a full account of your experience of our hostel during your stay. We're happy you were able to meet some great people during your travels, as that is what hostelling is all about! It's disheartening you were greeted by such an experience upon your arrival. I can assure you, these types of situations in Downtown...

Reviewed 8 March 2014

I live about two hours away and stay in the City on business a couple of times a year. This venue for now at least is the sweet spot for price and value. It pretty much has everything I need. A good kitchen, comfortable beds, great location, close to BART and MUNI lines and a reasonable price. I've stayed at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wanderin J
HISFDT, Guest Relations Manager at Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your review! We're happy we can be your "go to" place when you're passing through San Francisco. We love our regulars and it's awesome you're able to see how we operate in the different seasons. It's nice to see you've tried other places and have decided to stick with us. On behalf of the entire staff...

242 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (220)
Viewed
Room/Suite (63)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
4,909 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 230 in San Francisco
2,211 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
3,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#82 of 230 in San Francisco
1,179 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 230 in San Francisco
1,518 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#76 of 230 in San Francisco
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Union Square

Neighbourhood Profile
Union Square
Originally home to rallies supporting the Union Army in the Civil War, this grand square has become the city's premier shopping and entertainment district containing the largest number of upscale department stores, chic boutiques, art galleries and theatres in the city. It's a large open area where tourists and locals gather, watch cable cars and crowds go by, enjoy a snack, or plan their day of shopping and sightseeing, If feeling the pulsating energy of the city is on your agenda, Union Square is the place to soak it in.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay in the heart of the city, just one block from Union Square and steps from Chinatown and the cable cars! HI-San Francisco Downtown is close to the best cafes, clubs, theaters, and shopping. You'll love our new look, low prices, and four-bed dorms (coed dorms range from 4-8 beds). Free continental breakfast, free WiFi, DSL Internet, guest kitchen, free linens and towels, daily housekeeping, free/low-cost daily activities and tours, 24-hour reception, and no curfews, chores, or lockouts. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown

Address: 312 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1704
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Price Range: ₹ 3,370 - ₹ 10,312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown 1.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown Hotel San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Leeds, United Kingdom
4 months ago
5 months ago
Redmond, Washington
8 months ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“City view rooms are loud. Use the freely supplied earplugs and you'll sleep well.”
 of 5 bubbles 513iang, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The rooms with city views are fun to look out but street-noisy. The rooms with in-facing windows have no view but have NO street noise.”
 of 5 bubbles itz_mon, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Second floor interior rooms are relatively quiet and easily accessible, which is important if you don't want to climb tons of stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles AdventurousDolphin, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't be afraid of the shared dorms and throw yourself in to the hostel experience.”
 of 5 bubbles EBroadbent, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room on level 3 but away from the kitchen or or level 4. The lift takes ages to go to higher floors, level 2 is loud.”
 of 5 bubbles 48ryans, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay