We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

988 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 730: English reviews
Start your review of The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco
 Click to rate
Berlin, Germany
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

The Pickwick is an older Hotel but maintains its charms. All staff including cleaning and maintenance are extremely welcoming which makes the stay. Rooms are bright and comfortable and the hotel is located next to the shopping district. I will stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jfmarshall
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I was excited to stay here, the entrance into the hotel was gorgeous and I couldn't wait to explore the surrounding area. However the room is very small and the bed was so uncomfortable and squeaky. For the price I expected more but who am I to set prices. The room was very old, the bathroom doesn't have a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kendra2405
PickwickManagement, Front Office Manager at The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review! In regards to parking, we do have parking onsite directly located under the hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again soon! Warmest Regards, Allen Allgood, Front Office Manager

New York City, New York
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Best choice made since I decided to volunteer at the ACA conference at the Moscone Center. The hotel was less than ten minutes away and food was always in reach!! When I couldn't pay for the entire time at the moment, I was allowed to pay in installments, if you will. TIFFANY WAS AMAZING; JACQUIE WAS MOST GRACIOUS!!! Both wonderful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oparelisa
PickwickManagement, Front Office Manager at The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Pickwick Hotel and for taking the time writing this great review about your experience with us and personally mentioning Tiffany and Jacquie! Our team strives to provide a pleasant stay. We thank you for taking the time to write a review as your feedback is helpful in obtaining this goal. We are thrilled to hear...

Chantilly
Reviewed 1 week ago

this is the second time I stayed there for work . Very noisy. The AC did not work and they had to come fix. the hotel is old and worn but if you are in need of location location location this would be a good economical choice

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BKKkkkk
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

So close to Moscone Center for the work portion of my trip and then in a great location for the leisure part! Shopping, eating and activities all within walking distance. Rooms are small bit love that the windows open and the shower was surprisingly nice. The room had everything we needed and was at a good price esp for San...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
PickwickManagement, Front Office Manager at The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Pickwick Hotel and for taking the time writing this great review about your experience with us! Our team strives to provide a pleasant stay. We thank you for taking the time to write a review as your feedback is helpful in obtaining this goal. We are thrilled to hear your stay was enjoyable and we...

Herndon, VA
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here a whole week in March for a convention down at Pier 48. Location - centrally located for a lot of activities in San Francisco, though you are right on the edge of the Tenderloin district which has a mixed reputation. Value - Only one long block from the Marriott Marquis (official hotel for my event). The Pickwick was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daddy00
PickwickManagement, Front Office Manager at The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write such a positive review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again soon! Warmest Regards, Allen Allgood, Front Office Manager

London
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great location and decent quality for the price (deal on booking.com) Room very clean and comfortable, nice coffee making facilities. Traffic noise a little loud and noisy neighbours in next room but overall very good for a few days in the city. Gym small but open 24 hours.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holly121
PickwickManagement, Front Office Manager at The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Pickwick Hotel and for taking the time writing this review about your experience with us! Our team strives to provide a pleasant stay. We thank you for taking the time to write a review as your feedback is helpful in obtaining this goal. We are thrilled to hear your stay was enjoyable and we look...

Concord, New Hampshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Front desk manager was not sympathetic to the need to move a two night stay one day earlier: wed-thurs. to Tuesday- wed due to a change in a medical appt will in SF from East Coast. I asked for them to honor rate originally booked and was told No. I was charged extra $300 for same room. Poor customer service!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikevortho
PickwickManagement, Front Office Manager at The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review

I apologize that the rate was higher for the additional night. The hotel was unable to modify your reservation due to being booked thru booking.com reservations. The cost for the new reservation was higher due to rates change daily and you had never booked the day before. You were offered a discount when you called and spoke with me a...

Indialantic, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We spend 2 nights here and the only positive thing is the location. Er stayed on the 6th floor and the room was worn and sad looking. I would say this place in due for a make over. Even the staff was not particularly friendly. I cannot recommend this place at all.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank myopinioncounts23
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The location is fine. And the price was cheap when I stayed at $169 US. Do not pay more than this. Possibly the worst hotel I've stayed at for a long time. Bed so uncomfortable - and it groaned like the Adams family door every time I breathed. I asked to change rooms after a sleepless night and a hissy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lolascarlett

298 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (271)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (83)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (134)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downto...
#97 of 227 in San Francisco
454 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
#56 of 227 in San Francisco
608 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#95 of 227 in San Francisco
2,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#22 of 227 in San Francisco
788 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#128 of 227 in San Francisco
1,208 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#123 of 227 in San Francisco
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in SoMa

Neighbourhood Profile
SoMa
South of Market (SoMa), has an urban and sophisticated vibe, but you're more likely to find big nightclubs and lots of industrial loft residences than you are to find boutique shopping. Although it’s the epicenter for tech startups in the city, visitors will be able to do more than just business - museums, top quality restaurants, and the San Francisco Giants now call this neighbourhood home. Most of its freeway-sized streets may not capture the same character as other neighbourhoods in the city, but pockets of charm, like South Park, can still be found throughout its side streets.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Pickwick Hotel is close to many popular attractions within walking distance…take a hop on to the historic Cable Car just a block away, a leisurely stroll to Union Square, Museums or Theaters all within 3 blocks. Attending a conference, The Pickwick Hotel is just 2 blocks away from the San Francisco Moscone Convention Center and 2 blocks away from the San Francisco Federal Building. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Address: 85 5th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-1812
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Price Range: ₹ 10,800 - ₹ 22,647 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pickwick San Francisco
Pickwick Hotel San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
East Aurora, New York
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
over a year ago
East Aurora, New York

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't pay for parking on the premises, there is a parking lot across the street that is a lot cheaper.”
 of 5 bubbles RiverDanie, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher and Quiet room”
 of 5 bubbles 131tulab, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The hotel has a bar that has happy hour most evenings with reduced drink prices and small plates meals at the bar(think tapas)”
 of 5 bubbles lawrences658, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you are used to spreading out in the rooms this hotel is not for you .”
 of 5 bubbles S1190ZSsharond, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors not facing the street are less noisy buy the elevators are slow.”
 of 5 bubbles Ostracario, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5