We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Acadia Oceanview Hotel

323 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7550
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (88)
Room & Suite (32)
Pool & Beach (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#14 of 17 motels in Bar Harbor
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Here you will find the beauty of land and sea, combined with comfort, affordability, & real Down-East hospitality. Our secluded location, is ideally situated on the brow of Ireson Hill, the highest elevation on the east side of Mount Desert Island. Wake up to a spectacular sunrise & enjoy the ocean & mountain views. Within minutes of Acadia National Park, and charming downtown Bar Harbor, you will have no shortage of adventure options here. Pool & Spa are open July & August depending on weather.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Public wifi
Pool
Hot bath
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Seating area
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English
450Reviews7Q+A80Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 171
  • 158
  • 71
  • 25
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Weston L wrote a review Nov 2023
6 contributions1 helpful vote
There are three reasons to stay here. It's a pretty cheap option. It's close to the park. And the view. You do get what you pay for though, and this was a very ok experience that could have been better. The hotel does feel dated, but I knew that going into it, so I wasn't terribly upset by that. We did find a pretty big stain on our sheets, and there were quite a few spiders hanging out in our windows. There was a pretty decent storm the night we stayed here. At a nicer place, you might expect the staff to make sure things were hunkered down and secured, but here we had to listen to all of the outside furniture being blown over and pushed across the patio all night by the wind. This place also really loves signs. There are signs all over the place. Including a plethora of signs to drive 5 mph, which, unlike me, you should follow. The first day there I did not follow these signs, which admittedly, was my own fault. Although I was driving safely and at a reasonable speed, it was certainly faster than 5 mph...when the front desk worker caught me, they proceeded to yell at our vehicle, walk after our car, and stare us down until we left the property. Oops!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Cat wrote a review Oct 2023
8 contributions
The Cons: we stayed in a room In the back ( probably the cheapest). Room a bit run down and small. Could not park directly in front of room. Staff not friendly at all. Pros: close to park. And they have free coffee, and ice. Grounds are nice and spacious.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Timmy wrote a review Oct 2023
United States26 contributions8 helpful votes
The motel was fine, for the most part (a bit of black mold around the shower wall). However, they are in the hospitality business, and motel desk staff could not be more unhappy in their job. Please consider smiling at the guests and making them feel welcome.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
capecodda wrote a review Sept 2023
Boston, Massachusetts69 contributions37 helpful votes
Pros - Clean enough and tidy Cons - staff unfriendly almost like we were bothering them. One roll of toilet paper, flushing issues with toilet No fire alarms Flimsy lock on door Unkept grounds around hotel Camper in back of hotel was our view and an empty pool The sponge in sink looked like it had been there all season. Thin walls No shuttle service I would stay here if you truly can't afford the higher-priced locations. I think the extra money to be closer to town and in more updated hotels is worth the cost. Perk for this hotel it is located next to Mainely Meat which is fantastic.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Kit K wrote a review Sept 2023
Minneapolis, Minnesota33 contributions11 helpful votes
We loved this place! Beautiful view of the water (unless it's foggy). Very responsive staff. Clean and quiet. It is about 4 miles north of the town center, again, very quiet. Note: there's a sign in the office that if you book direct with them, there is a 15-20% discount over using a booking service. While you're there, eat lobster outdoors just north up the road at C-Ray's. Then pick up a homemade blueberry pie at a roadsign just to the south. Perfection!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Debra B wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution
Upon entering the room, we could smell bleach and actually were pretty happy about that, thinking it was cleaned very well. The bathroom was clean and the beds made, room appeared to be vacuumed as well. Overall it appeared to be a very nice room at a quick glance. Very soon, my eyes drifted to the ceiling above the bed I would be using and the ceiling over one of the queen beds was not pleasant at all. It was stained most likely from a water leak but it appeared to also be dirty and moldy, at least that is my opinion. When I opened the TV console to put my food in the fridge I was greeted with, a disgusting scene. I heard some of the rooms had recently been re-done and there were no issues at all, perhaps they did not get to the room we were staying in, I don't know. It is my opinion that the SPECIFIC room we were staying in should NOT be available for reservations until the ceiling is fixed and the TV console has been thoroughly cleaned. I am not saying don't stay here, I am simply saying don't reserve that specific room. Perhaps by the time someone else stays there it will have been re-done like the other rooms. Facing the motel it was the very last room on the right, around the corner. Sorry I don't remember the room number.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Inspire438420 wrote a review Sept 2023
2 contributions
Walked in office to check in, it immediately smelled of a strong moldy odor. We went to our room, smelled horrible, mini fridge didn’t work. The person behind the desk was nothing but friendly.we left
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The only thing it has going for it was the beautiful ocean view. Don’t stay there!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Acadia Ocean View Motel, General Manager at Acadia Oceanview Hotel
Responded 17 Sept 2023
This person did make a reservation with us but never stayed with us. It was a non-refundable reservation. She wanted a refund. She said if she didn't receive a refund she would post a review discouraging other people from staying at Acadia Ocean View Motel. This review was posted in an effort to retaliate because she did not get a refund. I suggest anyone considering staying with us to read the other reviews and make up your own mind.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tom P189 wrote a review Sept 2023
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania84 contributions34 helpful votes
We stayed here 2 years ago on our last visit to MDI and returned for 6 nights this year so I suppose that says it all. We’re out exploring all day regardless of the weather so a basic, comfortable and reasonably priced accommodation is what we’re looking for and this is perfect for us. The property is set back from Rt 3 (it’s quiet, no road noise) and it overlooks Frenchman’s Bay (scenic, east-facing). Our king room was spacious, adequately furnished, very comfortable. Daily cleaning service is available. Suggestion: Replace the towels! Nevertheless we will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Guide545533 wrote a review Aug 2023
Acton, Massachusetts1 contribution
There is no pool as advertised. I had so many problems with the toilet they gave us our own plunger. The units were generally clean, but worn. I had to ask for a replacement hair dryer as the one in the room did not work. Staff members were around to take care of problems.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Peter T wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
This was a pleasant surprise for us. First you drive thru a grove of trees so it’s hidden from the main road, then you see the view of the ocean etc. Pretty awesome. It has a big pool and deck and also sitting decks that protrude out over thsloping lawn w great views of the water. The room was super clean! Staff was very friendly and helpful. Good deal too when you see other not as nice places are charging. Highly recommend this to everyone. We’ll be back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bar Harbor area.
PRICE RANGE
₹12,021 - ₹22,301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sea breeze hotel bar harbor, sea breeze bar harbor
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Sea Breeze Motel
LOCATION
United StatesMaineDownEast and Acadia MaineMount Desert IslandBar Harbor
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ACADIA OCEANVIEW HOTEL (Bar Harbor) - Motel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Acadia Oceanview Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Acadia Oceanview Hotel?
Nearby attractions include PEDEGO BAR HARBOR (6.2 km), Mount Desert Island (7.4 km), and ImprovAcadia (6.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Acadia Oceanview Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, free parking, and a hot tub.
Which room amenities are available at Acadia Oceanview Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Acadia Oceanview Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Acadia Oceanview Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Travelin Lobster, Thrive Juice Bar & Kitchen, and Rose Eden Lobster.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Acadia Oceanview Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Acadia Oceanview Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St. Saviour's Church (6.6 km) and Bar Harbor Historical Society (5.9 km).
Does Acadia Oceanview Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the bay view available here.
Is Acadia Oceanview Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.