We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village

Save
Traveller (133)
Room & Suite (37)
Pool & Beach (3)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good25%
  • Average15%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible23%
Travellers talk about
“bad reviews”(3 reviews)
“back packers”(2 reviews)
“cool vibe”(2 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Beachfront
Kitchenette
Self-Serve Laundry
Airport Transportation
1 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (189)
There are newer reviews for Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
34
35
26
27
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
34
35
26
27
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbad reviewsback packerscool vibespent two nightsbudget travellersmain officecleaned dailyamazing locationphone numberbus stopfoodland supermarkethear the wavesmin drivefull kitchenbeach frontbeachescraig
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
51 - 55 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2016

Stayed there in December and I couldn't believe the disgusting room that they put us in! It smelt like urine and when I complained the guy at reception was so rude back.I got charged twice, once on my credit card and I paid cash,not been...More

Thank georgia096
Response from connerjwagner, Manager at Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation VillageResponded 19 February 2016

Aloha, We apologize for the miscommunication. You were not charged twice. We took half upon the time you made the reservation and you paid the remaining half, in cash, upon your arrival. You were not satisfied with the room so we refunded you half and...More

Reviewed 5 February 2016

My brother Curt and I stayed here two nights in January this year and we highly recommend staying here. It was clean, very reasonable bike and surf board rentals as well a convenient walk to Waimea Bay. Easy bike ride to and from Sunset Beach...More

Thank muktiiam
Response from connerjwagner, Manager at Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation VillageResponded 7 February 2016

Amy and Curt!! Thank you guys so much. It was an absolute pleasure having you here and we are so stoked that you liked it. Hopefully we will see you guys soon! Mahalo, - Conner, Craig, and Sharlyn

Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile

If you want to see the real Hawaii and experience it properly, stay here. I stayed for 4 nights in plantation village. It was great. Good vibes and had a great surfer vibe, clean rooms and amazing coastline. Northshore hasn't been commercialised and neither has...More

Thank Aaron N
Response from connerjwagner, Manager at Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation VillageResponded 3 February 2016

You guys are awesome. Mahalo so much for staying with us, and we are so glad you enjoyed yourselves! Aloha and see you guys next time!

Reviewed 28 January 2016 via mobile

Had a great time at backpackers - I can't speak for the plantation village as I was at the Main house - but it was a lovely old house, good communal area and great location. It's definitely not glamorous, pretty tattered but for $30 a...More

Thank gkate1963
Response from connerjwagner, Manager at Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation VillageResponded 29 January 2016

Alright! Stoked that you enjoyed your time here on the North Shore with us. Hopefully we will see you again soon. Craig is the man no doubt. Mahalo for the kind words! Aloha

Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

This place is an insult to Hawaii. We stayed in two different crappy and dirty rooms during 5 days, I rarely let reviews..but this time it's worth it. Why so dirty? When we check-in the floor was so dirty that my baby was black and...More

2  Thank FrancoisNada
Response from Sharlyn F, Owner at Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation VillageResponded 16 January 2016

As the business owner I would first like to say that I sincerely apologize that you had a bad experience with us. I am making sure that our cleaners pay extra attention to making sure the rooms are a clean as possible. We are low...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Oahu
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Beachfront
Free Internet
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Self-Serve Laundry
Details
Price range
US$ 34 - US$ 160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette
Details
Price range
US$ 34 - US$ 160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (133)
Room & Suite (37)
Pool & Beach (3)
Dining (2)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
paulinecox59
14 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Sharlyn F | Property representative |
Aloha sorry no just the ocean
0
Votes
Room Tips
"There are no rooms only cabins on the Plantation Village. View of the ocean is from the portch."
Read review
"Studio rooms seem better than dorm rooms"
Read review
"Large Apartment , Top floor"
Read review
"Smaller rooms seemed more nice"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing