We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village
See the most recent reviews
Showing 142: English reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

We've just had the most amazing holiday and stayed the entire time at Backpackers Hawaii. The view from our room was was unbelievable. We had only originally planned to stay three nights at the beginning of the holiday but stayed all 14. We just didn't want to leave. The staff couldn't have looked after us more even taking us on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jasmine T
connerjwagner, Manager at Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village, responded to this review

Thanks Jaz! We miss all you guys already. It was a pleasure showing you guys around :) Much love and lots of Aloha - Conner & Anthony

Reviewed 26 May 2016 via mobile

I've not done much backpacking (or any) but this place turned out to suprise me. At first we were a bit nervy to be sharing space with strangers but after the first night we were super relaxed and having a ball. The bathroom and kitchen were always clean. They came in 3 times over our 4 night stay to clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SamEvans1
connerjwagner, Manager at Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village, responded to this review

Mahalo you guys!

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 25 May 2016

I stayed here just last weekend (May 20-22, 2016). I am young professional female and was traveling alone. I stayed in the beach front rentals across the street from where you check-in. This is a hostel...NOT a hotel or bed and breakfast. I searched on AirBnb and almost selected one before I found this place. PRO: I didn't want to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephani M
connerjwagner, Manager at Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village, responded to this review

Mahalo Stephanie! Thank you for your kind words as well as your constructive criticism. All of which is very appreciated. SharLyn (the owner and my mother) has had a stern talking to about smoking inside and this review will give her some insight on what guests are thinking. We hope that you reconsider and do come back to stay with...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 16 May 2016

I ended up spending 2 nights there with my wife in May 2016, the price is quite Ok to be in Hawaii, that's the reason why my evaluation is Poor instead of Terrible. In general I found the place pretty dirty and not taken care at all. We were in the back house, 80USD a night. Both rooms where we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Federico M
connerjwagner, Manager at Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that you had a bad experience. Quite hours are after 10 o'clock and we hope that our guests respect the wishes of the other guests in the house. We understand that that is not always the case and people on vacation sometimes get a little carried away. We also have fully private studios in our Beach Building...

State of Sao Paulo
Reviewed 5 May 2016

Sincerely, I was worried to stay after reading some reviews but it was such a nice place with good vibes and clean! Of course it's not a 5 star hotel but it's enough to enjoy your stay at North Shore, perfect location with easy access to the beaches and supermarket! Staff is very friendly and helpful! Definitely would like to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1s1z7k3
Whistler, Canada
Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

When my friend told me about go to this backpackers I thought about it could be a bad experience after I saw comments and some pictures. It was all the opposite... It's true about the place is not new and they could make a reform but the location is the best in whole north shore! We spent 7 nights there....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sergio T
connerjwagner, Manager at Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village, responded to this review

Muchas Gracias! It is people like you that make this place awesome. People who appreciate Hawaii for what is it! Gracias para su palabres amables! Hasta Luegu! Mahalo - Everyone here at Backpackers

Salcombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed April 2016 My girlfriend and I rocked up to this place a bit dubious as it had pretty much 50/50 on good and bad reviews. We didn't have a booking, however we were accommodated in one of their shared cabins (2x bedrooms sharing a bathroom and open plan living room kitchen area) we had no where else to stay,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank surfsmith03
connerjwagner, Manager at Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village, responded to this review

You guys rock! Thank you so much for the kind words. We are so stoked that you guys had a pleasant experience. Hope to see you again someday! Mahalo and Aloha - Craig, Sharlyn, and Conner

Muskoka District, Canada
Reviewed 25 March 2016

Admittedly I am no longer a backpacker but this place was worse than some of the third world hostels I have stayed at. I don't mind basic but this room was dirty, smelly and decaying. The only reason I can rate it a 2 is that the beds were comfortable and Greg was pleasant and understanding when we bailed early...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tinakK1422OX
connerjwagner, Manager at Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you had an unpleasant stay with us. Most people love us and those who don't are usually better off staying in Waikiki or the Turtle Bay Resort. The ocean views from 15 stories up are really hard to beat. However, we think the price we ask is a great deal, considering you are on the...

Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

Just stayed at Backpackers, feb20th, helpful, accommodating and affordable in the middle of surf season. We missed 40ft waves by 4 days. Stayed in bunk room on the beach and friends stayed in cabin. We were pleased. Will definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ric R
connerjwagner, Manager at Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village, responded to this review

Mahalo! See you next time.

Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 24 February 2016

Of the 4 times I've stayed there I got ripped off 3 times. A walking cane, a towel, wash cloth, and shoes, and a $20 cash deposit. The $20 key deposit is a joke. No one locks the cabins so it's merely an excuse to rip you off when your key disappears. The Coke machine used to take quarters but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CJ P
connerjwagner, Manager at Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village, responded to this review

Theft is something that we do our best to mitigate, but it is up to the guest to keep an eye on there things just like any other hostel in the world. If reports of a guest stealing come to us then we kick that guest out immediately, but for the most part our guests are good honest people. We...

130 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (130)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (71)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haleiwa
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#3 of 84 in Honolulu
3,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
1,952 reviews
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
3,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Budget accommodation and hostel ... more   less 

Additional Information about Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village

Address: 59-788 Kamehameha Hwy, Haleiwa, Oahu, HI 96712-9420
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Haleiwa
Price Range: ₹ 2,314 - ₹ 13,138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village 1.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers Vacation Inn And Plantation Village Hotel Haleiwa
Backpackers Vacation Inn And Plantation Village Hawaii/Haleiwa, Oahu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Studio rooms seem better than dorm rooms”
 of 5 bubbles adrienneandgirls, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Large Apartment , Top floor”
  • It´s not a wallpaper - it´s three tables beach..
 of 5 bubbles mberlin2015, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Smaller rooms seemed more nice”
 of 5 bubbles 824malenek, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go down the street to the Shark Rental. About the same price and much better maintained by a fellow name John and Natasha”
 of 5 bubbles garysP755FL, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Beach front is the way to go! Your eyes open to the beach each morning, you fall asleep to the ocean and your AC is the ocean breeze.”
 of 5 bubbles 456stephanim, 25 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay