We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wailuku Guesthouse

Visit hotel website
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"},"scriptFlags":null}
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Wailuku Guesthouse is a clean, affordable accommodation on the beautiful island of Maui. Centrally located with a saltwater pool with waterfalls, barbeque, cable TV and air conditioning,beach chairs, beach towels, snorkel gear, coolers for packing great lunches and chilly drinks and free use of the Maui Revealed Guide Book. The house dates back to the early 1900's as a plantation home. Then it was used as officer's quarter's in 1945. The current owners have done many renovations and the rooms are kept spotlessly clean. It offers free wi-fi and parking for all guests.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Room features
Kitchenette
Non-Smoking Rooms
Air Conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gems
Centrally Located
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Location
Full view
72Somewhat walkable
Grade: 72 out of 100
54Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
20Attractionswithin 0.5 km
Reviews & more
253Reviews
87Photos
2Q+A
47Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 146
  • 73
  • 16
  • 7
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention

Will not return to Wailuku Guesthouse!
· The room was well appointed with most of the comforts of home, although the futon appeared to be worn and dirty. The pool was worn looking (surface finish wearing off) and had lots of leaves in it. The cleaning device (a long hose and at
Read more
Response from Wailuku_Guesthouse, Owner at Wailuku Guesthouse
Responded 3 weeks ago
Unfortunately we run into your types every year or so. The pool had leaves in it because of a storm. The vacuum runs around to clean the pool. You could have asked for us to remove the vacuum for your 10 minute swim and we would have been more than happy to do so. We also have a monkey pod tree on the neighbors property, we also put in two skimmers because we knew we would have a problem. You never complained until you check out. Hard to handle issues when we aren’t aware of them. After running a business like this for almost 19 years we are visited by repeat guests and referred guests all the time. They are really happy to find our clean affordable accommodations. Mahalo Nui Maureen
Read more
If a calm low key atmosphere is for you then this is the place. For independent off the beaten path types Wailuku Guesthouse is central to all things Maui. Today is the day before Thanksgiving and this is the beach we went to that was 25 min away. There was a bunch of turtles
Read more
Response from Wailuku_Guesthouse, Owner at Wailuku Guesthouse
Responded 3 weeks ago
Aloha So glad you liked our Guesthouse. Looking for clean affordable and close to many things Maui that is us. I’m sure we will see you again as this is a fourth trip for you I believe. Mahalo Nui Maureen
Read more
My wife and I stayed one night, 9/4/18. The Planation room, although small (we had 2 large suitcases, where to have both open simultaneously we needed to put one on the bed) , is clean with a cool stone bathroom floor. The pool is also very clean and a comfortable temp, Mahalo fo
Read more
Response from Wailuku_Guesthouse, Owner at Wailuku Guesthouse
Responded 16 Sep 2018
Aloha Thanks again for staying with us. We try very hard to always provide clean rooms at affordable rates. We also try to keep the rooms up from the little things that are from wear and tear. I try to keep the rooms free from paint nicks and such. Often you’ll see me walking around with a paint brush. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay here. Mahalo Nui Maureen
Read more
We loved our stay and highly recommend this wonderful, quiet guesthouse. We stayed at the Plantation Room which was very nice, with pretty decor and it included a fridge, coffee maker and microwave (very handy). Maureen, the owner, made us feel very welcome and gave us good tips.
Read more
Response from Wailuku_Guesthouse, Owner at Wailuku Guesthouse
Responded 25 Aug 2018
Much mahalo I work hard to keep the Guesthouse up. Granted the rooms are really big, our outdoor pool area supplies extra space to stretch. Have a cold drink or take a few relaxing laps. Please visit with us again. Mahalo, Maureen
Read more
Super clean and organized. All you need for a short stay exploring the island.
The king size bed and the silence at night the best part of it!!
Don't forget the swimming pool and all the gear for snorkeling!
Really enjoyable stay. Thumbs up!
Read more
Response from Wailuku_Guesthouse, Owner at Wailuku Guesthouse
Responded 27 Aug 2018
Mahalo mahalo. We try very hard to offer nice really clean rooms for our guests. I think all places should supply the beach gear and chairs so people don’t have to buy them for a few days use. I offer go on vacation and then have to buy everything down to the chairs and then what do I do with all this stuff? I find someone that looks like they could use it and pass it on. This way it’s not ending up in our landfills. Thanks again for staying with us. Aloha, Maureen Owner
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & Beach
Photo provided by managementWailuku Guesthouse
Plantation Room
Photo provided by managementWailuku Guesthouse
Mill Room
Mill Room
Mill Room
Mill Room
Previous
1234569
HI Maureen, We are very interested. So the total cost is 8678.66 US which includes cleaning fee and taxes. Are there any other fees? As this s a big family trip we are being economical. My kids and grandchildren are very excited to visit Maui. Also is there a AAA discount or senior discount applicable? Rachelle
Yes we answered all these questions. Looking forward to your stay with us.
0 votes
Is this property supposed to be listed on the HomeAway site? It shows it as available in Dec 2018 and this website does not. What is the cost for 10 nights for the whole guesthouse? We are a family gathering of 14 (7 adults and 7 children aged 10-17).
Yes we book the whole Guesthouse all five rooms together during the holidays. I block my website so I can choose the group. $750 a day dec 15 2018 to Jan 10 2019 Cleaning fee is $300 Taxes are 14.4166% Give me a call With aloha Maureen 1-808-250-7308 Mobile best and texts 1-808-986-8270 Business
-1 votes
"Amazing coffee house nearby (Maui Coffee Attic)"
"Wasabi and Garden Ohana offer the most space"
"I would recommend the Garden Ohana or the Wasabi Suite for sure!"
"Wasabi Suite was big - it's probably perfect for two!"
"Great value for families!!!"
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$ 138 - US$ 321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiMauiWailuku
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing