We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1813 Baldwin Ave, Makawao, Maui, HI 96768-7710
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$ 435
Booking.comUS$ 584
PricelineUS$ 605
CheapTicketsUS$ 435
TravelocityUS$ 435
FindHotelUS$ 501
View all 16 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (263)
Room & Suite (89)
Dining (20)

About

#1 of 4 Speciality lodging in Makawao
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Overlooking the North Shore of Maui, Lumeria Maui is an educational retreat center with wellness offerings set in 5 acres of lush gardens with island and ocean views. We offer a nourishing living campus of relaxing beauty for individuals and groups seeking an educational retreat experience with daily classes and programs in yoga, meditation, healing arts and much more. Retreat reservations include all on-property daily classes, wifi, parking, breakfast and overnight accommodations. Enjoy our saltwater pool, jacuzzi and lower terrace! The Wellness Spa at Lumeria Maui offers opportunities for education and rejuvenation with bodywork and healing arts treatments and lessons. Swimming and surfing beaches are located within 4 miles and the historic towns of Paia and Makawao are less than 5 minutes' drive away in either direction.

The Wooden Crate Restaurant at Lumeria offers our daily continental breakfast buffet, a delicious lunch menu of salads, sandwiches and burgers (with gluten-free, dairy-free, soy-free, vegetarian and vegan options) and a prix fixe, 3-course, Chef's special farm-to-table dinner every evening by reservation.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Restaurant
Hiking
Windsurfing
Spa
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Special diet menus
Massage
Sun terrace
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
787Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 483
  • 134
  • 84
  • 48
  • 38
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Seattleboy69 wrote a review 21 Oct
Seattle, Washington14 contributions9 helpful votes
This is a lovely place to base yourself for trips to Hana, Haleakala and Paia. Very central. Also close to the best restaurant on the island - HailieMaile General Store! I highly recommend this property.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Sightseer52081662595 wrote a review 21 Oct
1 contribution
A hidden gem just outside Paia. The grounds were stunning, pool and jacuzzi were dreamy, and the room was beautiful. Such a relaxing vibe and easy to access great spots for hikes, beaches, and shopping nearby.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
kjs332019 wrote a review 11 Oct
1 contribution
Lumeria is truly a hidden gem on Maui. It is a tucked away in lush upcountry away from the densely populated areas around the main beaches, but it’s still a short, quick drive to great low key areas like Paia and Makawao. We couldn’t have imagined a better place to stay during our trip. The property itself was gorgeous and such fun to explore—full of nooks and crannies that allowed for quiet, secluded contemplation and meditation. The service was friendly and prompt, and we received incredible tips for our trip. I will certainly be staying at Lumeria again when I return to Maui!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
dscala wrote a review Aug 2021
Marina del Rey, California8 contributions
Lumeria is advertised as a quiet, adult-focused retreat. The grounds are pretty but it’s NOT quiet. Nearly half the guests had small children who were unfortunately very noisy throughout the day. A gardener was mowing in the morning with a LOUD gas mower. Why not battery/ electric given the yoga / meditation setting? The older woman at front desk (left side) was laughably rude and unhelpful as if she resents her job. Sad! Our room was SMALL with no AC, bottled water or other basics that similarly priced places offer guests. And don’t expect help with luggage or even an offer to help - doesn’t exist. The pool was very nice but had old lounges with equally old cushions and one umbrella in the entire area. We baked! Regret our stay... never again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Lumeria Management, General Manager at Lumeria Maui
Responded 24 Aug 2021
Dear dscala, We're sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Lumeria Maui, although we're happy to hear that you found the property to be beautiful, and that you enjoyed the pool. We apologize that our building did not meet your expectation. Our historic compound was built in 1910, and has been extensively renovated and restored to keep it's beautiful historic charm. Mahalo for your feedback, and we apologize that Lumeria's accommodations did not meet your needs. We do wish that you reached out to our management during your stay, so that we could have had the opportunity to fix any issues you were experiencing while on property. We hope you had a safe trip home, and wish you the very best. We are always available if you still have any feedback or concerns regarding your stay. We would love to welcome you back and show you a much better experience upon your return. Mahalo, The Lumeria Maui 'Ohana
Read more
Albert Scala wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
My wife and I stayed one night at Lumeria after reading several "unexpected gem" type reviews. Our experience was much different starting with the Lobby/Check-In attendant who promised to call when the room was ready and never did. The room (garden view) had no air conditioning (stuffy/humid room), no wi-fi signal (although mentioned in the advert) no water bottles (only two fill stations on the entire property), dated furniture in need of major renovation, no TV (OK I guess since it's a retreat), no modern electrical outlets (all near the floor), children continually loud playing while walking down the deck in front of our room (which is actually one long wooden deck area), pool with no umbrellas for shade, and keys (no contactless as advertised). The room cost was nearly $600 (for an extra $100, suggest going to Lanai and stay in 4 Seasons Sensai. Very disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Garden Views are better. The least expensive rooms face the gravel parking lot
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Lumeria Management, General Manager at Lumeria Maui
Responded 24 Aug 2021
Aloha avscala55 Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that Lumeria's accommodations did not meet your needs and we are disappointed to hear your dissatisfaction with your stay. We take the feedback from our guests very seriously and will review your comments and suggestions with our team. We do wish that you reached out to our management during your stay so that we could try to fix any issues you were experiencing while you were on property. We would have loved to shown you alternate accommodations and provided anything you needed. We wish you the very best and hope you give us another chance on your next vacation. Mahalo, The Lumeria Maui 'Ohana
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$355 - US$590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiMauiMakawao
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Lumeria Maui
Which popular attractions are close to Lumeria Maui?
Nearby attractions include Epic Experience Maui (5.2 km), Makai Glass Maui (2.1 km), and Ho'okipa Beach Park (5.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lumeria Maui?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Lumeria Maui?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Lumeria Maui?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lumeria Maui?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mama's Fish House, Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice, and Flatbread Company.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lumeria Maui?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Lumeria Maui?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hui No‘eau Visual Arts Center (3.1 km) and Haiku Mill (4.6 km).
Does Lumeria Maui have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Lumeria Maui accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.