We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Lahaina Resort

Show Prices
#16 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Royal Lahaina Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,827 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Royal Lahaina Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,568: English reviews
Okotoks, Canada
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Wow where do we start.. Before I talk about our experience just to note it is windy in this location. Some of the other hotels are built to block the wind but this one is not When we got there the Cottage we paid for was not the one we got. That is never a good start as to not...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Sandy S
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review

Aloha. Although it varies and at times it can be windy, generally we experience pleasant Trade Winds here in Kaanapali with average wind speeds ranging from 11 - 15 mph year round. I can assure all that the most important concern of our resort Management and Staff is guest safety, security and welfare. In this particular situation, which I have...

Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

Valet service excellent. Staff very friendly. Suite was wonderful. Had a fantastic view fron the two decks. Very comfortable. Maid service had problems. Floor was very sticky, maids came up and cleaned resdue left from double side tape on marble floor left feom previous guest in a wheel chair. Towels and coffee were not fully restocked. When I called the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank limobob
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review

Aloha! Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. Glad to read that you enjoyed the resort and accommodations. I will be sharing your review with our Housekeeping Department, so that we can continue to strive for improvement and excellence in all areas of service. Mahalo.

Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I was told to check out TripAdvisor about the hotel I had booked, Royal Lahaina Resort. I read alot of negative remarks and was so worried traveling so far away and saving for our dream vacation. We arrived and It I said to myself, "ever again will I believe everything I read"....I am convinced there are just negative people and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank newcomer1966
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the 5-Star rating and the very kind review. We are thrilled every time we hear that we helped our guests fulfill their expectations of a dream vacation. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future! Aloha!

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The best feature about this hotel is that it is situated on a spectacular beach in Maui, where you can walk for miles and miles, watch the sunset from your balcony. Modern hotel with all the amnities comfortable beds and ok breafast. the best way to get around is to rent a convertable mustang and ride around the island, no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jane K
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo for the positive review. As you note, Kaanapali Beach, which fronts our resort, is spectacular. In fact, it was named the #1 beach in America and #15 in the world in the 2013 TripAdvisor Traveler's Choice Awards. Aloha!

Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

Upon arriving at Royal Lahaina we were greeted by friendly staff ready to welcome us! We were brought to our cottage that had an ocean view if you looked out the right window at the right angle. The very outdated cottage was disappointing. Although recently renovating their hotel tower the cottages are clearly left neglected, the kitchen was small and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fleurysgirl
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review

Aloha! Thank you for the four-star review. Glad to read that overall you were pleased with your visit. As you mention, our cottage rooms offer a moderate level of accommodation as compared to the deluxe guestrooms and suites in our Tower and provide guests with a unique and value-oriented option in which they can enjoy our world-class location. I can...

Des Moines
Reviewed 14 March 2013

The Royal Lahaina was the 3rd hotel that we stayed in during our 3 island stay in Hawaii. We arrived around 12:00 to find out our rooms were not ready as check-in time was 3:00PM. That was understandable, but we were told to leave our luggage right inside the lobby doors and the luggage would be secure there. They didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DesMoinesDudz
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Very sorry to learn that our resort did not meet your expectations, as we truly desire to assist all of our guests in making the most of their Hawaiian vacation. I can advise future and potential visitors that there are restrooms located at our Tennis Ranch where guests enjoy the hot tub. Mahalo.

Coaldale, Canada
Reviewed 13 March 2013

The hotel is very clean and most staff friendly , however if you have any dietary needs or any allergy this is the last place you want to go . Before our trip I personally contacted the hotel to let them know about my allergy , the Manager himself replied that there would be zero problems, that they are used...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tantesyl40
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review

Aloha. Thank you very much for the feedback. Glad to find that you were happy with our location and rooms and that you found most of the staff to be welcoming and friendly. Very sorry to read that we let you down with regard to our servicing of your special needs as related to your food allergies. Normally we are...

Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We visited Maui after Oahu with a family group of 10 people. We were extremely impressed with the newly refurbished rooms, and our "partial oceanfront view" was great - in one direction, the mountains; in front of us, the golf course; and the other direction, the ocean. Sitting on the balcony you could enjoy it all. The pool area is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank uptowngirl57
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo for the 5-Star Review! From your profile ("Top Contributor" with 68 reviews to date) it looks like you are well traveled and it is definitely nice to see us making the top grade with you. As you note, our exclusive location and value are two of our key selling features that distinguish us from the larger resort hotels on...

Kingsville, Ohio
Reviewed 13 March 2013

The hotel was excellent. The rooms were clean and well maintained as well as the property. It's located on a beautiful beach where you can swim, sun bathe, or watch for whales as they pass by. The food was excellent and service friendly. My only objection was the fee for parking my rental vehicle there. The fee wasn't that high...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom B
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo for the great review. Glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope we can welcome you back soon. With regard to the parking, as you note, it is common for the hotels and resorts on Maui to have an ala carte charge for parking rather than adding it on to the cost of the room. At $10 per...

Maple Grove, Minnesota
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We had tower rooms where on a clear day you could see Molokai - but, everyday was great for whale watching! We could observe the efficient and professional setup for weddings - and, the wedding too. The free Trolley stopped just outside front entrance. It had route to other hotels, ending at "Whaler's Village" for shopping and restaurants. At "Whaler's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joyce D
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. We appreciate all of our guests and try our very best to show each and everyone our Aloha Spirit and assist our guests in making the most of their valued time and experience in Hawaii. Aloha!

3,120 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2917)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (320)
Viewed
Room/Suite (571)
Viewed
View from Room (403)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (554)
Viewed
Dining (87)
Viewed
Bathroom (87)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
1:18
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (885)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (200)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Beach (25)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (14)
Viewed
Oceanfront Room (9)
Viewed
One Bedroom Molokai Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool (15)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.9 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
3,819 reviews
0.2 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.6 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
2,441 reviews
1.4 km away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
2.1 km away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Royal Ocean Terrace in Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Ocean Terrace in Royal Lahaina Resort
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Fusion, Hawaiian
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Royal Lahaina Resort

Address: 2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1992
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Price Range: ₹ 13,725 - ₹ 32,418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Lahaina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Royal Lahaina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Resort Maui
Royal Lahaina Maui
Royal Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Hotel Maui
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Lahaina Resort staff and other travellers.
158 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (158)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Lahaina Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“nice rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 383emmahs, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Tower room”
 of 5 bubbles 497elsieh, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Take ocean view room on one of the higher floors looking toward Kaanapali for the best overall view.”
 of 5 bubbles louie2u, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors,ocean view are our favourite.”
 of 5 bubbles plwalt, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on east north side has views of Ocean and mountain”
 of 5 bubbles Jhonydip, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5