We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2780A Kekaa Dr Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1927
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
$305
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/12/22
Booking.com
$300
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/12/22
Expedia.com
$305
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/12/22
Travelocity$305
Priceline$352
Algotels$371
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (289)
360
Panoramas (3)
Room & Suite (190)

About

#30 of 33 hotels in Lahaina
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travelers visiting Lahaina, Kaanapali Ocean Inn is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its family-friendly environment and proximity to great restaurants, Kaanapali Ocean Inn makes it easy to enjoy the best of Lahaina. Rooms at Kaanapali Ocean Hotel offer a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and air conditioning providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wifi. A 24 hour front desk, room service, and a concierge are some of the conveniences offered at this hotel. A pool and a lounge will also help to make your stay even more special. If you are driving to Kaanapali Ocean Hotel, parking is available. If you like Thai restaurants, Kaanapali Ocean Hotel is conveniently located near Thai Food by Suri. Best of all, Kaanapali Ocean Inn makes it easy to experience many great Lahaina attractions like Launiupoko Beach Park, Ukumehame Beach Park, and PoHaku Park, which are some popular parks. Whether you’re traveling for business, pleasure or both, Kaanapali Ocean Inn is sure to make your visit to Lahaina one worth remembering.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Hiking
Shuttle bus service
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Shallow end in pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Poolside bar
Snorkelling
Tennis court
Tennis court offsite
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Filipino, German and 1 more
325Reviews16Q+A79Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 67
  • 94
  • 59
  • 57
  • 48
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Carla D wrote a review Oct 2022
The worst bed I have ever slept on. Old and poorly cared for. Ants on the patio and in the bathroom. Terrible service - could NEVER get ahold of the front desk by phone. Had to beg for toilet paper and clean towels. The ONLY reason I give it a 2 instead of a zero is the view from the veranda.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are so very sorry to read that you had a poor experience with us and that service was lacking. We want every guest to have a comfortable stay and are so sorry that you had a difficult time reaching our staff. The front desk is open 24 hours daily and so we will check the phone line to ensure that we are reachable. We spray the rooms weekly for pests and will have the room inspected and thoroughly cleaned. Should you return in the future, we would be happy to ensure that you are completely satisfied with your room and service.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
roj1281 wrote a review Aug 2022
Houston, Texas515 contributions161 helpful votes
This hotel is in a beautiful location right on Kaanapali beach where I watched the sunset in an ocean view room for a week. Beautiful! The grounds are well kept, and there is a coffee shop, convenient store, restaurant, and laundry facilities on site. Very convenient. This hotel is right next to a Luau that operates every night and while it was nice the first night or two is a bit annoying to hear over and over. The rooms are ok for the prices however the cleanliness and housekeeping was lacking. There were bugs in my room and no soap or toiletries were put in my room until the 4th day of my stay. This was my first time in Maui so I believe I expected more from such a great location but it was ok for one of the cheaper options in Maui that I found.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Great views in ocean front rooms
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Responded 22 Aug 2022
Thank you for your recent feedback concerning your stay at the Kaanapali Ocean Inn. We are extremely sorry to hear about your negative experience. We will be forwarding your review to our team to resolve the concerns you have listed so we can improve our service.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gerard k wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Stacey at the front desk was very helpful and pleasant. The valet/bell staff was also excellent! The pools, grounds and atmosphere were top shelf. We would definitely love to stay there again. Who knows maybe next year.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Responded 2 Jun 2022
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback! We are so happy to read that you enjoyed our staff and service and we hope to welcome you back again next year!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Todd-Visit50 wrote a review May 2022
New York City, New York50 contributions31 helpful votes
Liked · The location is amazing, right in front of a gorgeous beach, one of the best in Maui access to Royal Lahaina facilities - 2 pools, sunscreen, so beautiful. balcony was lovely shower was good. wifi was good staff was friendly Disliked · -sooooo expensive on property, on top of hotel prices. we had a $72 breakfast for the 2 of us. we ordered eggs and OJ. i suggest driving to alternatives, although everything's overpriced. -room is dated and badly in need of a makeover sometime soon -Beach is sooo beautiful, but it's so windy that the sand blows in your eyes. we couldn't hang out at the beach, so strange. hotel is right next to the Luau - we weren't in the room during that time so we don't know if it's loud/disruptive.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: balcony rooms can have partial beach view. loved
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Responded 2 Jun 2022
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We are so happy to read that you enjoyed our staff and service and we appreciate your feedback regarding the pricing and room updated needed. We hope to welcome you back again in the future and we would be happy to ensure you receive an updated room.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
azmtnmom wrote a review Apr 2022
Flagstaff, Arizona4 contributions
While I had reserved an oceanfront room at KOI, they had over-sold and so upgraded me to an ocean-front cottage, so I guess this may be more a review for the Royal Lahaina Resort, which also manages Kaanapali Ocean Inn. Stephanie at the front desk was sweet and personable, and all the bellmen were attentive and had recommendations at the ready. The cottage was very clean and the beds were comfy. Access to Kaanapali beach cannot be easier and the trolley makes trips to the Whalers Village shops easy (don’t lose your parking spot to those coming for the lu’au). I would stay here again, and I’d still try to stay at KOI, lol
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Responded 2 May 2022
Aloha!! We appreciate your valuable feedback. We hope that you had a beautiful time and will keep us in mind on your next trip to Maui.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jacob Gluski wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
I will start with the positives of this place. The beaches were clean, the pool was picturesque, the view was good, and the maid service was excellent. Unfortunately that’s where the positives run out. The resort fee of $40/day gets you subpar keurig coffee and spotty wifi. The daily parking fee was also fairly high at $30/day. From the moment we walked into the room (1523) we knew our experience wasn’t going to be great. The room smelled of mold, we turned on the fan and opened the door wall to try and air it out. Cue the post-nasal drip and worsening of asthma. The moldy smell never improved throughout our stay. It was easy to see where the smell was coming from, the beds were nailed to the wall and the intervening 2 inches of space was full of dust and mold. There was obvious water damage just near the entry door, the tiny/dingy shower had ceiling tiles just above head level that looked as if they hadn’t been replaced since the 1980s. Additionally, the walls were very thin and we were able to hear our honeymooner neighbors anytime we were in our room. On the whole we were very disappointed with this hotel, would recommend staying just about anywhere else
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Responded 21 Apr 2022
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are very sorry to read about your negative experience. We would have been happy to move your room had we known that you were uncomfortable. Our resort feels cover a number of amenities and activities on property, not only the coffee daily and wifi. We hope that you had a lovely time in Maui and should you return we would be happy to ensure you are comfortable and enjoying your stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Madgex3 wrote a review Mar 2022
Chicago, Illinois2 contributions
We stayed in two of the cottages at Kaanapali Ocean Inn. The rooms were spacious and very clean. We needed a place to stay for one night and this place was perfect. We were in the middle of the Lahania Resort and had access to all the amenities. The staff was most helpful and drove us to our rooms in the golf carts. Though the rooms were no frills, we did each have a private patio. Beautiful grounds, perfect views, and a great restaurant. One of the best meals I have ever experienced. The morning after we arrived, we walked the boardwalk fora couple of hours after having a tasty breakfast by the pool.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: I would definitely request one of the cottages.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Responded 31 Mar 2022
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback! We are delighted that you enjoyed your cottage rooms and loved your experience at the resort! We hope that you made beautiful memories in Maui and will join us again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vegas408 wrote a review Feb 2022
Nevada266 contributions58 helpful votes
+1
Stayed here for the week while visiting with friends. The building is older than other buildings in the area but the location and view were great. That aside, there are no frills. Just a small coffee maker, small fridge and small safe. The bathroom was okay, shower stall was small. The TV worked but was on the smaller side than in other hotels. No paintings or pictures on the walls made the room very blah. Being an older building, the walls were thin and you could hear the nightly Luau through the halls but not so much on the north side where I stayed. The maintenance man placing a board across the connecting door to the next door room because there was no lock at 9:30pm was kind of an inconvenience but we got past that. The staff however was friendly and kept the room clean daily. All that said, I would consider staying here again in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Responded 21 Feb 2022
Mahalo! We appreciate your valuable feedback. We will be reviewing you concerns so we can give our guests the best service, we hope that you had a beautiful time and will keep us in mind on your next trip to Maui.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brett M wrote a review Dec 2021
3 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Stayed there for just one final evening in Hawaii. The room had a nice king bed, sweet lanai with a gorgeous view of the ocean, nice vanity mirror in bathroom, room service for dinner, and a nice little view of the Luau show in the evening. A bell desk worker also helped carry our huge bags to the third floor, which was very helpful. The walls were unfortunately pretty thin, so my wife and I could hear casual conversation from our neighbors’ room. Check-in and check-out was easy. The beach had amazing sand and pleasant waves, and my wife and I laid on the beach at night and stared at the stars for two hours. So peaceful. I’d stay here again for 1-3 nights!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Responded 29 Dec 2021
Thank you for sharing your feedback! We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved our location! We hope that you can join us for a longer stay in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bseblgrl3 wrote a review Oct 2021
Seattle, Washington75 contributions59 helpful votes
+1
This “vintage” hotel could be so cool, but unfortunately it lacks some key elements that any hotel should possess: cleanliness, safety, amenities, & quiet. Everything from the shower curtain to the floor to the bedspread was either filthy with questionable brown stains or holes. None of the lamps or lights worked as they were not plugged in and I could. It find an outlet to do so if I wanted. With only 1 restaurant, you must absolutely make a Rez if you want to eat here- I was solo and they could not accommodate me. Most alarming was the housekeeping staff who tried to enter my room while I was showering - no knock knock “housekeeping” just a loud slam trying to open my door. To say I was alarmed is an understatement. The cherry on top was that the luau is RIGHT NEXT DOOR to the Inn - no room is safe from the pounding of drums. When you come from the east coast like me and you’re crazy jet lagged, drumming until 8:30 pm is not appreciated. I genuinely hate writing reviews like this because the staff is wonderful - polite, attentive, quick. The facility they are managing for is just…old. I do not recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Responded 12 Oct 2021
Thank you for your recent feedback concerning your stay at Kaanapali Ocean Inn. We are extremely sorry to hear about your negative experience and even more sorry to have disappointed you. We try to maintain the highest standards of service but clearly that is not what happened here. We will forward your concerns to the management team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$313 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kaanapali ocean hotel lahaina, kaanapali ocean inn, kaanapali ocean lahaina
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiMauiLahaina
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KAANAPALI OCEAN INN (Maui, Hawaii) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Kaanapali Ocean Inn?
Nearby attractions include Ka'anapali Beach (1.0 km), Kahekili Beach Park (0.4 km), and The Spa at Black Rock (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kaanapali Ocean Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Kaanapali Ocean Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Kaanapali Ocean Inn?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kaanapali Ocean Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Castaway Cafe, Pailolo Bar & Grill, and Round Table Pizza.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kaanapali Ocean Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Kaanapali Ocean Inn have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Kaanapali Ocean Inn offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Kaanapali Ocean Inn?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Kaanapali Ocean Inn offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Kaanapali Ocean Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, Japanese, and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to Kaanapali Ocean Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Lahaina Courthouse (6.1 km), Lahaina Jodo Mission (5.6 km), and Wo Hing Temple Museum (6.4 km).