We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Royal Kahana

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Royal Kahana
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

955 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 920: English reviews
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The sandy part of the beach has washed away and they have had to add layers of permanent large sand bags to keep the building from being swamped. There is NO ACCESS of any kind from the property to the water and I was told that is not expected to change anytime soon. You have to walk out to the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Wayne E
MauiBob813, Owner at Royal Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time o write a review. The rising oceans have caused many issues across the Hawaiian islands and North facing properties see the worst damage during the winter. Last year was an especially bad winter. I saw a picture from yesterday and see we already have some sand back but Mother Nature could change that....

Spring Valley, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

our room number was 1001 and we had a beach view. my mom and dad had a nice closet and it was a walk-in closet. when it was new year the path of the beach got ruin and you have to go around to enter the beach. they are working on it, that's why they have the gate locked. it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KatrinaSabioAspili
MauiBob813, Owner at Royal Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha Katrina, Mahalo for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed Maui and the Royal Kahana. I will let management know about the smell because I am not aware of any fertilizer being applied. The 2 bedrooms are great rooms for families with lots of room and still great views. We hope you came back and visit again.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was my first trip to Maui and this condo/hotel was recommended by our travel agent. Apparently she had either never been there or was getting a kick back for recommending it to us. It was a very old facility and didn't have much wow factor inside or out. They claimed to have their own private beach but when we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Snyderya
MauiBob813, Owner at Royal Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha Snyderya, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and let us know about your stay. Staying at condotels can be different if you are expecting hotel type amenities. Daily maid service is not usually included but as you state, can be provided for a small fee. Another thing that is different is each unit is individually...

Sherwood Park, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There is no beach. None. The North side room that we stayed in had little sun, the frig kept defrosting making everything on the lower shelves wet, the sofa was dirty and became a joke, "How low can you go ? " The view from the condo was lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank William O
MauiBob813, Owner at Royal Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha William, The last 2 years have been rough on the beach and all of the condos on Kahana Beach are banding together to come up with permanent solutions. We want to make sure all apartments meet the guests needs so if you can let me know which unit you stayed in, we will make sure the owner is notified....

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room is comfortable and the view is wonderful. The pool is basic but nice and the staff is friendly. There were some issues, which depending on who you are, could make or break the experience. 1) The resort next door is going through some renovations meaning on many days you woke up to the sounds of construction. 2) The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gloria F
MauiBob813, Owner at Royal Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha Gloria, Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. We would love to hear your thoughts on what we could do to make guest experiences better. Most buildings in Maui are getting to the point where they do need regular maintenance. Unfortunately, we cannot predict when other buildings may be doing theirs. We are addressing the tennis...

Las Vegas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Decided to take a last-minute sunbreak to Maui and found a private condo in Outrigger's Royal Kahana available for the ten days we needed that had the features we needed, like a washer/dryer, kitchen and free parking. Most of the larger resorts had availability, but at peak prices, so we were happy to find an oceanfront condo for under $150...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TransCyberian
MauiBob813, Owner at Royal Kahana, responded to this review

Mahalo for taking the time to give us your opinion of the Royal Kahana. Yes we see a lot of erosion on the Northern end of the is;and, especially in winter. We are working on some solutions with the other Kahana condo buildings which we hope will vastly improve things Bob Gaddis

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The beach is gone and the resort is very old, run down, and dirty. Find a different place to stay! Additionally, there was construction going on building a sea wall since the beach was washed away. The construction was loud and went on all day. This place turned out to be no more than a bed to sleep. We would...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Daniel A
MauiBob813, Owner at Royal Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha. I was sorry you had a bad experience staying at our Royal Kahana. If you could let me know which unit and any details on why you felt this way, I will be sure to let the appropriate owner know to make sure everything is corrected. As for the beach, I am sure you are aware of the rising...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

11th floor studio condo, beyond amazing! No beach front due to Mother Nature but the location was epic!!! Place is like heaven dottys across the road is a great little bar for football pizza and drinks, just north is some crazy good snorkeling and beaches! Spotted whales everyday during our morning coffee break can't wait for the next visit

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Fish M
RickC108, Owner at Royal Kahana, responded to this review

Thank for your review". It's nice to hear from ourproperty guests that understand that we have little or no control over the natural processes that take place, not only at the Royal Kahana, but throughout the islands. We try our best to provide the best experience possible and again, thank you for recognizing the value of what the Royal Kahana...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Each unit is apparently individually owned so your results may vary, but the overall feel here was older and not very nice. The blinds were falling down in one of the rooms, one of the toilets only worked intermittently and it just had a worn feeling to it. The price wasn't bad and the view was terrific which is what...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BriSanVan
MauiBob813, Owner at Royal Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for staying at the Royal Kahana. I am sorry that everything did not live up to your expectations and hope we can change that for the future. All units are individually owned and decorated so if you could let me know which unit you stayed in, I will be sure to let the owner know they...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Since 2007, I have been lucky enough to travel to Maui twice a year and have chosen to enjoy those vacations at the Outrigger Royal Kahana most of those times. Friendly and attentive staff, a heated pool, an on-site fitness facility, barbecues and parking within close proximity to the rooms, and the in-room safe are the primary reasons why I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maui-Bill_M
MauiBob813, Owner at Royal Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha and Mahalo for returning to the Royal Kahana. We are working to make a lot of changes to upgrade the building and property. Thank you for the kind words and we hope to see you again in the future.

1,383 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (760)
Viewed
View from Room (145)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (92)
Viewed
Room/Suite (223)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (82)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (178)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (617)
Viewed
Amenities (55)
Viewed
Beach (7)
Viewed
Ocean View Studio (73)
Viewed
One Bedroom Ocean View Apartment (99)
Viewed
Pool (36)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (89)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Oceanfront Apartment (126)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Ocean View Apartment (120)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
5.5 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
3,643 reviews
2.5 km away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 31 in Lahaina
1,018 reviews
2.7 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
2,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
4.4 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
4.7 km away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 31 in Lahaina
3,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Make yourself at home in Kahana. This beachfront community is the calm cousin to West Maui's high-profile destinations of Lahaina, Kaanapali and Kapalua Resort. You won't find the typical string of Maui hotels, dazzling storefronts, and streams of shoppers and diners - although that's only a few minutes away if the mood strikes. Breathe in the breeze that sweeps across the ocean view from your high-rise lanai. Marvel at humpback whales slapping and rolling so close to shore! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Kahana

Address: 4365 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9298
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Price Range: ₹ 9,967 - ₹ 22,800 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kahana 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Kahana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Royal Kahana Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Royal Kahana
Outrigger Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Outrigger Royal Kahana Resort
Royal Kahana Maui/Lahaina
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Kahana staff and other travellers.
55 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (55)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Kahana staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure your condo faces south if you want any sun during the day.”
 of 5 bubbles WayneE380, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“nice swimming pool, ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles KatrinaSabioAspili, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“South side, higher floors.”
 of 5 bubbles WilliamO331, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Definitely ocean view with a higher floor.”
 of 5 bubbles catchingupwith, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go for the garden, 1 bedroom for families of four. We stayed in condo #218.”
 of 5 bubbles Independent_Savvy, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay