We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Camp Olowalu

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lahaina
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Camp Olowalu
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 62: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in one of the tentalows. It's Maui's best kept secret. I had two nights at the Hyatt mid week because the tentalow was booked and I could not wait to return to the private tentalow on the private beach. My favorite was the private outdoor shower with hot water. The resident manager was helpful and nice. Can't wait...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather W
Canmore, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Camping at Olowalu has a lot going for it, and while this lovely location has potential to be a perfect seaside getaway it ultimately comes up short. They are in the midst of major site development, which could lead to significant improvements; however, we had some issues with this provider. Our main concern about sanitary health, shared by other patrons,...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Dr David L
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

I cannot begin to tell you how amazing this place is! Maui is such a touristic Island that sometimes it feels like you cant scape the flamingo pictures and resort restaurants. If you're looking for something unique, and something that makes you feel like you're exploring the real Maui, definitely stay at this camp! The tentallows are perfect. Each bed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carol P
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We really enjoyed this place in Olowalu. The only disappointment were that there aren't more places like this all around Maui. Fortunately, the weather wasn't great at the crater or the north east of the island the entire week we were in Maui so we stayed at Olowalu all but one night of our trip. We camped for 4 nights...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LSybil
Jefferson, Oregon
Reviewed 16 October 2016

we rented the tentalows for 10 days, all but one, and a cabin and a tent spot. I feel like I have a pretty good handle on camp olowalu! the tentalows are awesome, especially the very comfy beds and the shower !If you keep your tentalow screens zipped up, especially at night, you don't have a bug issue, but Maui...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeani M
Sitka, Alaska
Reviewed 9 October 2016

I spent the week van camping and using campgrounds in Maui. On our final night I wanted to 'splurge' and have a private shower and a real bed to sleep in so I took a Tentalo for the evening. All was well and wonderful during the day, the shower was great, the space was just enough but then we woke...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank bethany g
Camp O, Manager at Camp Olowalu, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Camp Olowalu. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We have addressed the “biting flying problems” seriously, spoken with the employee in question, we contacted previous and after guest, our crew entirely inspect not only your Tentalow but all, we have not had any...

Reviewed 19 September 2016

My whife and me have booked a tent place for 3 Nights which was canceled due to a storm. The Camp Manager tried to contact us the days before, but we missed his calls and didn't call back. So we arrived at the camp being surprised about the cancellation. As for that night it would be to dangerous to camp...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
New England
Reviewed 16 September 2016

This campground is located on the water but is protected within trees. Some sites have a picnic table while others do not. The shower is outside but has four walls and is pretty basic. The bathrooms are port-a-potties, but they are well taken care of and even have a light inside. There is a covered area for washing dishes, filling...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ExploringCuriously
Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed 4 August 2016

So, we were there for 10 days (with a small budget). The first 5 days, we were on the "real" camping area : tents are on mud, no grass!, the toilets are horrible and the showers are ok, but cold. So after 5 days, we decided to pay ourselves a little luxury and try the tentalo and then, boum! Everything...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Julie C
Camp O, General Manager at Camp Olowalu, responded to this review

Aloha, We appreciate your review, I feel like I wanna talk with right before you left, that would be even more appreciate it, it really help us grow. I'm not sure what did you mean with Horrible and "lost", we have brand new portable toilets with solar lights, and we keep them really clean, please forgive us if there was...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

We had a great weekend campout/surf camp with friends. I have driven past this place numerous times without noticing the cool campgrounds. Rented a "tentalo" for a weekend. Wow! It was awesome. The tent cabins are as deluxe as can be, you have your own private hot shower, sink, King bed, pillows, sheets, cooler and even a safe to lock...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank topcatus

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
9.2 km away
The Tiki Hale
The Tiki Hale
#32 of 40 in Lahaina
50 reviews
11.9 km away
House of Fountains Bed and Breakfast
12.1 km away
Maui Guest House
Maui Guest House
#2 of 11 in Lahaina
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 km away
Puunoa Beach Estates
Puunoa Beach Estates
#25 of 40 in Lahaina
38 reviews
8.6 km away
Old Lahaina House
Old Lahaina House
#8 of 11 in Lahaina
131 reviews
11.6 km away
Makai Inn
Makai Inn
#11 of 11 in Lahaina
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Camp Olowalu is an affordable alternative to hotels while being even closer to nature. Visiting this rustic retreat is like visiting Hawaii the way it used to be - a peaceful and fun tropical paradise year-round. Experience some of the best whale watching, snorkeling, and kayaking Maui has to offer right off our beachfront property. Hike multiple nearby trails and discover the traces of ancient Hawaii. Adventure is waiting for you right outside your camping grounds. We offer our cabins for group events and tentalows and the camp sites for individuals ... more   less 

Additional Information about Camp Olowalu

Address: 800 Olowalu Village Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9702
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Camp Olowalu Hotel Lahaina
Camp Olowalu Maui/Lahaina
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Camp Olowalu staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Camp Olowalu staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Tent site #33 by the beach!! Bring hand sanitizer & soap; large, tough tarp to prevent tent puncture from Kiawe thorn.”
 of 5 bubbles drdavidl2014, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Remember to bring bug dope (organic) and flashlights!”
 of 5 bubbles jeanim2016, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Talk to Sebastian”
 of 5 bubbles kimcL6961NN, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The tentalows are incredibles. I highly recommend them!”
 of 5 bubbles JulieC461, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles RocketPlumber, 24 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5