We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ocean Breeze Hideaway

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kihei
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Ocean Breeze Hideaway
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

278 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ocean Breeze Hideaway
See the most recent reviews
Showing 242: English reviews
Seattle, WA
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We spent nine nights at Ocean Breeze and found it the perfect respite: near to everything but tucked away in a quiet residential zone, nicely outfitted with the necessities (coffee pot, fridge, good bed) and much more (beach chairs and boogie board, cooler, even coats for those going to Haleakela's more frigid heights.) It is very nice homey, not luxury,...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank RichardMockler
Varennes, Canada
Reviewed 18 December 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Ocean Breeze for 4 nights in August 2011 and absolutely loved it. We stayed in the Coral room. LOCATION We thought it was well located within Kihei. Pretty close to both the beach and the road, and quiet. We also liked a lot Kihei as a base to explore western Maui. ROOM The...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank sauerkraut80
Toms River, New Jersey
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We had a great time in Maui because of the excellent accomadations and our hosts. Bob gave a very good Lomi Lomi Massage which was competitive with the Waikiki Marriott Spa. We had a great time in Maui thanks to the suggestions of Bob & Sande, the conversations over breakfast and mixing with other guests. We saw some local entertainment...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Jim-n-Betty-Travels
Amsterdam
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We spent almost a week here, and were very kindly welcomed by Bob & Sande, the owners. They said they have been running the place for years, and yet they still enjoy sitting with their guests each morning at breakfast. They show real interest, and are a good source of information on places to go on the island. Such a...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank AmsterdamTim
Klu
Reviewed 27 October 2011

On our travels through Hawaii we spent the week on Maui in the Ocean Breeze Hideaway. This bed & breakfast is one of the neatest and nicest I've ever seen. The hosts Bob and Sandy put all their love in this house and you can feel and see it! It's tidy, the rooms are big, the Lanais are comfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Angela P
bonn
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We immediately felt home in this relaxed surrounding.Sande and Bob we have to thank you for being such wonderful hosts and we enjoyed the morning talks,the jokes and stories and last but not least the always fresh and tasting breakfast,the coffee is a hit!Dig the banana bread!Our room was comfortable,clean and cozy with everything you need for a pleasant stay.The...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank derlampenkoenig
sandebeachkihei, Owner at Ocean Breeze Hideaway, responded to this review

We are grateful for all our guests,and are very appreciative of all our guests' comments. We sure have been blessed with many new friends, and we were sorry to see these folks leave. In this review are the feelings we are trying to convey about Ocean Breeze Hideaway. We are elated that they felt it, and were willing and able...

Muenchen
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Somehow this B&B seems to polarize. Unfortunately we belong to the party that did not like there stay at this location too much. We really enjoyed the fresh and delightful fruits offered for breakfast. Especially the homegrown mango. Furthermore we liked the offer of beach equipment and that Sande and Bob have a nice attitude. But: We did not fully...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank CrickMuenchen
sandebeachkihei, Owner at Ocean Breeze Hideaway, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about the wi-fi,,as we recently purchased a new router and will remedy the situation. We try to make it clear that the Ocean Room is our budget room. However, all the furniture was purchased new, and most guests really like the room because of the beautiful garden setting. It actually is quiet here a...

Sedona, Arizona
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Ocean Breeze Hideaway was a home away from home for our 7 night stay and our first trip to Maui. Sande and Bob are wonderful hosts and beautiful, kind people. We slept great and were well nourished with our tropical breakfast to send us on our adventures of the day well rested and full of energy. And yes, we do...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 2sunsmusic
sandebeachkihei, Owner at Ocean Breeze Hideaway, responded to this review

I am delighted to get such good recommendations from our guests. Your description of our B&B captures beautifully the feeling we intend to convey about Ocean Breeze Hideaway. We are thrilled that you felt it, and were willing and able to share it so eloquently. Thanks so much!

Portland OR
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Once again Bob and Sande show what real ALOHA spirit feels like. Located centrally in Kihei by all the beautiful beaches the West wide offers, this place is the perfect starting point for all your adventures. I have stayed in both rooms and they are comfortable, clean and bright. The only difference is the Ocean suite is a bit bigger....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank t8nkgirl
sandebeachkihei, Owner at Ocean Breeze Hideaway, responded to this review

We are certainly blessed with wonderful guests. These folks are no exception, and we were sad to see them leave. A little clarification..the Coral Suite is the larger of our two guest rooms. Thanks for the kind words from Portland. We are very appreciative of all our guest comments. They keep us on our toes.

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We had a pleasant stay here in the Ocean Suite, and Bob and Sande were friendly hosts. Based on the reviews here, though, we expected a superlative experience, but the reality was much more basic. I suppose, to be fair, that our expectations were also biased due to the particularly great experience we had at another Kihei B&B during the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank AriM
sandebeachkihei, Owner at Ocean Breeze Hideaway, responded to this review

I am glad you had a pleasant stay and considered us to be friendly hosts. I am puzzled by some of the comments. Many of our guests are seasoned travelers, who stay at bed and breakfasts throughout the world. We are quite happy that so many have loved staying with us and have written such glowing reviews. I guess this...

124 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (84)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
5.6 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,053 reviews
13.1 km away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
998 reviews
11.0 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
7.4 km away
What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast
1.9 km away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#8 of 62 in Kihei
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our peaceful Maui Bed and Breakfast overlooks Maalaea Bay and is just a 10-minute walk from Maui's longest beach. Enjoy a morning swim or snorkel in calm waters, walk or run along this undeveloped white sand beach. Return to a delicious Island breakfast served on our ocean-view lanai, surrounded by coconut palms and bougainvillea. Take in the view of Maalaea Bay while you enjoy fresh ground coffee and assorted teas; tropical juices, fresh island fruit; granola; muffins, scones and assorted breads; and island jams. We choose locally grown and organic at every opportunity. Maui Bed and Breakfast permit #BBKM 2009/0003 ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ocean Breeze Hideaway

Address: 435 Kalalau Pl, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8928
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Price Range: ₹ 5,348 - ₹ 7,688 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Ocean Breeze Hideaway Hotel Kihei
Ocean Breeze Hideaway Maui/Kihei
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ocean Breeze Hideaway staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Westford, Massachusetts
Toronto, Canada

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Ocean Breeze Hideaway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Both rooms great! Book Coral Room if you need A/C, both rooms have a ceiling fans”
 of 5 bubbles HappyAtheist, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Coral Room has queen bed, aircon and fan, large private bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles TinaSV, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Basically this is a quiet secure retreat to launch out in to surrounding Maui. It is absolutely quiet, a fantastic sleep environment.”
 of 5 bubbles darylteague, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Both guest rooms are good, quiet neighborhood, private lanai for each guestroom.”
 of 5 bubbles Mary136, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Not a hotel, a comfortable cozy bed and breakfast! Either guest room is fine. In a quiet neighborhood.”
 of 5 bubbles maryl719, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5