We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2960 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9697
E-mail hotel
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Traveluro
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Priceline
View all 13 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (563)
Pool & Beach (96)
Room & Suite (90)

About

#4 of 70 Specialty lodging in Kihei
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

The Mana Kai Maui (Spirit by the Sea and Maui) is a sparkling jewel that places you right where you want to be — and steps from the soft sands of Keawakapu (Forbidden Cove) Beach. Both the Mana Kai Maui and Keawakapu Beach are located at the far southern end of South Kihei Road, bordering the entrance to Wailea. The mile-long-beach is a popular swimming, snorkeling and the perfect location to relax and enjoy the beauty of Maui. Here you are offered the convenience of having all of your needs met at our beachfront property, or venturing out to Wailea (less than 5 minutes away). Just north of the Mana Kai are the bustling activities of Kihei, popular restaurants, shops, and activities, (which we can happily arrange for you) from seeing waterfalls to whales (seasonal).

The Mana Kai Maui, the official on site rental management program, manages 44 two bedroom condominiums. The variety of condo upgrades has created nine different categories, ranging from Hotel Room to newly renovated Ali’i Condominium. One building, 8 story, 2 elevators and there are no ground floor units, all rooms start on the 2nd floor. All of the Condominium category rooms have a private lanai (patio) with fabulous million dollar views of the sandy beach of Keawakapu. Daily maid service, (no check out cleaning fee) and pool towel exchange is included in the rate. Free parking, free WIFI, Fitness and Business Center and no resort fees.

Our front desk is open daily from 8:00 am to 7:00 pm HST. Our reservations staff is also located on site and available Monday – Friday from 8 am to 4:30 pm, HST. Reservations department is closed on the weekends and most major holidays; however, guests may book their reservations online 24/7.

The Mana Kai Maui ‘ohana (family) strive to preserve the “Aloha Spirit.” Our guests have been returning for many years. Some even returning since the year we opened in 1973. Generations of visitors return annually and are greeted with aloha by their names. Just as our visitors return year after year, we have the good fortune of retaining a long-time staff with a handful of employees with 20+ years of service. It is this familiarity that embraces the soul and spirit of the Mana Kai Maui ~ where true Aloha lives.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Yoga classes
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Kids stay free
Street parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Yoga room
Restaurant
Happy hour
Snorkelling
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
Umbrella
Clothes dryer
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English
760Reviews39Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 451
  • 192
  • 62
  • 27
  • 28
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Bill Pfaffenberger wrote a review Jun 2022
Victoria, Canada2 contributions1 helpful vote
They were very professional. Great service. Also rented a car from them. NO PROBLEMS..........great experience. The beach is best we have seen. Turtles to the north........great skin diving. Nice green lawn and pool. Upkeep was first rate.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Stayed in 8th floor. Magnificent view.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Elizabeth wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
We were there on our honeymoon, and after some mishaps at the wedding, we were looking forward to our trip; little did we know it would be a disaster. When we arrived, they told us that the restaurant and general store were closed, so we had no food or drinks available. We didn't rent a car as the plan was to enjoy and relax at the resort and then have a day or two to explore Maui via uber; unfortunately, since there was no restaurant/bar or general store, we had to Uber way more than expected. We spent so much money and got little return on it. The only nice thing was access to the beach, but that is relatively standard at (almost) any resort and the maid service was pretty responsive and nice. The room was small and had a glass sliding door for the bathroom. When we asked about the honeymoon package we were supposed to receive, we were told that they didn't know anything about it and asked where we would see something like that. I sent them the email, and once they received it, they apologized and told us they'd get back to us. We didn't hear back until after we had told our travel agent all the information. It was such a bad experience and so disheartening as we had expected a lovely honeymoon, especially for the amount we paid and after our mishaps at the wedding. In addition, we were told the resort couldn't hold our bags (and if they did that, it would have to be before 5 pm because when the front desk closes) but that we could leave them in the lobby and use their facilities as needed. It wasn't until our travel agent called that they let us stay in the room until 8 pm since our flight left at 11 pm. However, they called us around 11 pm to ask if we had permission for a late checkout and that they were ready to clean our room, but our stuff was still there. This was just human error, but with all the other added problems, it was just what we had expected from the resort. We both wish we had just stayed home. It was horrible =(
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: good views and access to beach but no food or drinks
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
RVCamper22 wrote a review May 2022
Antioch, Ca3 contributions
Not as advertised, screaming kids, noisy loud parties at night, (people screaming) public takes over beach and grounds and bring lots of dogs (poop everywhere). Dirty room, (some mold) no fresh towels, sheet’s available. No security or control over the entire hotel. Would NEVER stay here again!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Winston Chinn, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui
Responded 14 May 2022
Aloha, sorry you were disappointed during your stay with us. Our company is the on-site rental program. There are numerous ways to book a unit here. The beaches in Hawaii are governed by State Laws and enforced by the Department of Land and Resources, in short they are public beaches One half of the lawn area is also State Land. We have housekeeping and maintenance staff on property, and it is impossible to tell what room you were in without your full name. You could have stayed in a VRBO or Air B and B unit that does not provide any housekeeping service at all. Our housekeeping services our room every third day. We have security on duty from 3:00 pm to 7:00 am daily, noise complaints on State land can be enforced by calling the Maui Police department as well.
Read more
Victoria H wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I booked 3 nights at the Mana Kai Maui as an extension of a another trip with my girlfriend. My terrible experience started the day prior to my arrival when I called the hotel the day prior to see about upgrading to an ocean view room. I was met with the rudest front desk attendant Paula who talked in circles to tell me she didn’t know and she couldn’t tell me til the following day. So when she texted me the following day with the door code I again inquired and she said “she couldn’t because she was leaving at 5:30.” It was 5 and I said I’d be over in 20 min- maybe she could take credit card info over the phone. She answered with “no because I need my manager to show me the new system and nope sorry not tonight.” LITERALLY no effort to accommodate or TAKE MY MONEY. Then we get to the hotel where you call to check in because NOBODY WORKS ON PROPERTY AFTER 5pm and she answers (hiding behind the closed desk window) saying well maybeeeeee I can call Winston the manager and maybe he’ll call you back maybe he won’t. And she also said she couldn’t do it because she “had a lot of things to do.” —again talking in circles. Do you want my money or not?! Winston never called. So we found his number on the directory and left a message never heard from him. Checked in the next day with the desk who “had note of this” but couldn’t upgrade us without moving us each night. Which made TOTAL sense- not sure why Paula couldn’t articulate this from the beginning. Then fast forward to our last night when we got home to COCKROACHES in our room and all windows and doors had been closed. We tried to call the front desk for a new room, help with killing it- idk anything but again. EVERYONE leaves the property at 5:30. Also of note the restaurant there does not serve breakfast or lunch so plan to have a car. Apparently there are also plan to remodel it in two weeks so I imagine that won’t be entirely peaceful. Which is disappointing as their food was pretty good. The general store next to it is stocked 1/3 full and the woman that works there is almost more rude than the staff at Mana Kai who power wash the lobby EVERY morning and yell at you to go around (I’m not joking) There is a rental place next to hotel chairs $10 a day but no umbrellas so buy your own at the ABC store. All in all the location is fabulous but I have never felt more disregarded by staff working in the hospitality industry. And all I wanted was to spend more money and not have cockroaches. Still no call from Winston….
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Winston Chinn, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui
Responded 28 Mar 2022
I'm sorry your vacation stay here lacked the customer service. Condominiums operate similar to but, as you experienced different than full or partial facility Hotels. The pandemic has caused many properties to cut back operations and hours. Each business from the restaurant, deli, surf shack. activity desk, and on-site vacation rental company are separate tenants. I retuned back to y office On Tuesday, March 15th and did receive your phone message. I am sorry that I forgot to call you on your last day on island, and then you left the next day. We do live on a tropical climate and do our best to control the insect population.
Read more
portney55 wrote a review Jan 2022
Seattle, Washington1 contribution3 helpful votes
Terrible Customer Service!!! Manager was extremely rude and said you can just check out if you are unhappy. No way to try and solve the solution. Rooms are run down and not well maintained. Door on balcony doses not lock (safety issue), toilet does not flush, and dirty bathroom and kitchen. Advertised having premium bedding and heavenly bed, but did not. Sheets were worn and dirty and could feel coils in the bed. Purchased a ocean view room for $684 dollars a night and was looking at trees and a building from our room. False advertisement. DO NOT STAY HERE!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: I don’t usually like to stay at brand name hotels, but after this experience. I will only stay...
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Winston Chinn, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui
Responded 14 Feb 2022
I did speak to this guest and offered to let her choose to move somewhere. Sometimes our property and units are not to the expectations of the guests, so rather than have unhappy guests, I will offer them a chance to rebook elsewhere rather than to be unhappy here for the length of their stay They were moved to another room, which she said she had issues with as well, but refused to allow housekeeping and maintenance to enter the unit to correct them. I did check the first unit they stayed in to look at the lock and the lock is functioning. I don't think she knew how the locks work as the buttons to unlock are on the top of the handle and to lock on the bottom of the handle. These guests did stay their entire seven nights here, and the rooms they were assigned to have ocean views as well.
Read more
gala-anyseasontravel wrote a review Dec 2021
New York City, New York7 contributions4 helpful votes
My family and I stayed in Mana Kai in late august and had an absolutely fabulous trip. Would absolutely recommend to anyone looking for a more homey stay. We rented a 2 bedroom condo, meaning we had essentially 2 totally separate rooms with their own doors - one small one with a single bed and full bathroom, minifridge, microwave, and hot water/coffee maker, and one large, with a full kitchen (totally stocked with utensils and cookware), full bath, balcony, and sitting area. The small rooms look toward the parking lot and the large rooms look toward the ocean. Both rooms were extremely clean and comfortable, but make sure you know what you are booking. If you book a small room you are liable not to get the beachfront views you may want. Personally, my family and I found our stay to be very enjoyable and loved having a fully kitted out kitchen that could ensure we didn't HAVE to go to restaurants to eat every night. Plus, it's great to be able to pop in for a snack in the middle of the day without a hassle. The hotel itself has a restaurant, which we truthfully did not visit, but it sure looked good from the outside and was always busy. The beach itself is GORGEOUS. It has the best feature of all - grass! There is a nicely grassy area with lounge chairs, which is a blessing. You don't know the luxury of not burning your feet on hot sand until you've tanned on a grassy beach. The ocean is extremely pleasant to swim in - glassy water, but it can be a bit windy and the waves a tad rough, though there are calm spots every day that give even the weakest swimmers a chance to splash around. There are actually rocky shoals right by the hotel that give you a chance to snorkel and a pleasant walk along the shoreline will lead you to inlets where you can spot sea turtles (as I did - beautiful creatures!). The only downsides - and I hestitate to call these downsides - are just things you have to be aware of as a guest. Many of these rooms are OWNED condos - which means the individual owners modify and maintain them. There is a basic standard the hotel holds them to, but know there will be some variation across rooms. Our own room - 810 -, for example, did not have a divider between the living room area and master bedroom, which for some people (a couple with kids for e.g.) may be inconvenient. As far as I know it's the only room with this arrangement. This, and whether you get an ocean-view room, are just things you need to know beforehand as a guest. Overall, a great stay at a great price. Highly recommend for those looking for a place that is less busy but with all the tropical relaxation of the priciest areas of Hawaii. I will certainly be recommending it to my clients.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Suites labeled as A face the lot, suites labeled B face the ocean, and C suites are a combo.
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Winston Chinn, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui
Responded 9 Jan 2022
Mahalo for your thorough and great review. We represent the on-site rental company. Unit 810 was in our rental program and subject to a renovation we had designed in 2016. The unit sold and the buyers chose to use another company. All units at the Mana Kai Maui are individually owned. Our rental program has specific standards of which 810 was a part of then. We do have four units in our rental program that do not have the shoji doors separating the living room from the bedroom as well. We are pleased the property exceeded your expectations. Aloha
Read more
Liz H wrote a review Dec 2021
Billings, Montana39 contributions15 helpful votes
This is a shabby uncared for unit. Literally, we had four teaspoons and had to wash each meal. The bathroom faucet fell off the first time I used it. The broom was so black at the bottom that I was afraid to use it on the floor. The light switches are little prongs sticking out of the wall. knobs all missing. The furniture is old, bulky and too awkward for the unit. I had to move the table and chairs aside to get to the kitchen light. Mis-matched chairs and a too big table on the balcony, make it uncomfortable for more than two people. Not dirty, just not lived in. A commercial unit without amenities. The lid of a pitcher, but no pitcher. The popcorn ceiling is dingy. On the positive side the Vacasa repair man who came to turn off the smoke detector that went off at 4 AM was fast, efficient and friendly. He also repaired the garbage disposal and tried to repair the bathroom faucet. Thank you for that. Really get rid of this rental property. Not worth any $$ as a vacation destination.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Do Not Rent Unit 211
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Winston Chinn, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui
Responded 16 Dec 2021
Sorry, you had such a bad experience with unit 211. This unit is not managed by the on-site rental company. Our company manages 33 two bedroom units here, 211 is managed by another company. I would suggest you contact the company you made your reservations through and let them know of your experience with unit 211. Of you want to give the property another chance, you can book us at www.manakaimaui.com.
Read more
BnMadven wrote a review Dec 2021
New York City, New York463 contributions200 helpful votes
Searching for hotel rooms at a decent price on Maui was its own job. Coming across the a reasonable rate for the Mana Kai Maui on hotels.com at a reasonable rate seemed too good to be true. Based on the descriptions and further research, it looked as if our room would be one of the interior ones that faced north (towards the parking lot). But with that foreknowledge, feeling as if we'd be out of the room most of our stay on Maui and low expectations, my partner and I decided to book our stay for Thanksgiving weekend here. The front desk was closed when we got to the property, but could reach the helpline to retrieve the temporary keycode to get into our room (525B, if I remember correctly) with the stipulation that we would have to return during normal business hours the next day to get the permanent keycode for the rest of our stay and the parking permit to park on the property. After getting that info, we were treated to a spectacular sunset on Keawakapu Beach, which Mana Kai is located directly on. We proceeded to check into our room. Cons: The room is only large enough for a queen bed, a swivel easy chair (which may have contributed to the beaten-up scratch marks on the bed frame), and a small desk with a microwave, coffee maker and a small refrigerator. The window looks out to the walkway between the rooms, so it was hard to ever have the window and side shutters open to enjoy the ocean breezes without someone walking past (but we knew this info in advance). The bathroom is also tiny, with a sliding barn door for a door. If you are queasy with noises from bodily functions, this could be of concern. There was a musty smell from the shower curtain and the shower curtain rod fell a few times (a tension rod that we could easily fix ourselves). The bed mattress was a little too soft for our tastes and we kept rolling to the sides. I also found a long strand of hair on my pillowcase (as neither of us have long hair, it couldn't have been ours), but that could have easily come from not being caught by the lint trap in a dryer. Pros: The location made us overlook pretty much everything. We could even see the ocean and beach from our window. At the base of Kihei and the top of Wailea, this was as centrally located as anything on the south(west) shore of the island. Very easy to get into Kihei for the lowkey vibes, dining, and nightlife, or over to the luxury resorts in Wailea. Lawnchairs and beach towels are included in your resort fee, which made relaxing on the beach and lawn nice and easy. Shower pressure was very good and there were plenty of towels for use. The staff was also very vigilant about COVID guidelines, as I was reminded to put one on to transverse through the lobby (from the beach to our car to get something). A self-service laundry room was available for our use (via credit card) which was very handy. We did not dine at the 5 Palms nor use the convenience store that was on the property, but appreciated that there was one. Maid service was unavailable to us during our stay because of COVID concerns. Should we return to Maui in the future, we would certainly consider staying at the Mana Kai Maui again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Winston Chinn, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui
Responded 12 Dec 2021
Mahalo for your good review. Yes, the hotel type rooms are small, 210 sf, but as you said, you didn’t plan on spending a lot of time in the room. Your heading says a lot as we are fortunate be be in such a prime oceanfront location. Next time you come, try our one bedroom units with a million dollar view. Happy Holiday’s
Read more
Denise L wrote a review Nov 2021
Seattle, Washington66 contributions49 helpful votes
+1
Doug, the property manager, is a superstar. He goes out of his way to make sure all tenants are happy. Our views from our lanai were breathtaking. We snorkeled right in front of the hotel and saw turtles every day. It was a magical experience. We will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The ocean-side rooms have incredible views.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Winston Chinn, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui
Responded 12 Dec 2021
Mahalo for your review. Doug is very customer service oriented and as you said, does a great job. Happy Holiday’s!
Read more
JaneE1847 wrote a review Nov 2021
Cambridge, MA37 contributions110 helpful votes
Highlights of our stay at the Mana Kai: -- Located on a gorgeous beach with great swimming and a super mellow vibe. Lots of space, lots of beach chairs (i.e., nobody getting up at 6 AM to save beach chairs), relaxed atmosphere, lots of sun but also lots of shade. -- Comfortable condo with fantastic view. Our upgraded "ali'i" room looked just like the promo photos, and was very clean. -- Reserved parking space and monitored parking lot meant no parking stress. Cautions: -- World's smallest bathroom. Only one person could be in it at time. -- Room layout is odd, and lanai is small. -- Service was adequate but impersonal. Front desk closes at 5:30 PM. Room tip: We felt that these rooms represented great value. Be careful about the rooms on the backside the hotel (without an ocean view). These rooms are essentially interior rooms with no windows. Overall, we had an extremely relaxing stay at the Mana Kai. It was also the best value of our Hawaii trip.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: We liked our upgraded ali'i ocean view room
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Winston Chinn, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui
Responded 29 Nov 2021
Mahalo for your comments, yes the hotel type room is small (210 SF), but as you pointed out a great value for a property right on the beach. One bedroom units have a million dollar view as you experienced. See you next time!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$713 - $844 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mana kai maui kihei, maui mana kai
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiMauiKihei
NUMBER OF ROOMS
98
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mana Kai Maui
Which popular attractions are close to Mana Kai Maui?
Nearby attractions include Maui Professional Photography (1.4 km), Island Art Party (5.0 km), and Saint Theresa Roman Catholic Church (4.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mana Kai Maui?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Mana Kai Maui?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Mana Kai Maui?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Mana Kai Maui?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mana Kai Maui?
Conveniently located restaurants include South Maui Fish Company, Peace Love Shave Ice, and Honolulu Cookie Company.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mana Kai Maui?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and yoga classes during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mana Kai Maui?
Yes, a clothes dryer and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Does Mana Kai Maui have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Mana Kai Maui accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.