We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
551 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9046
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
3 people have started booking this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Stay 2 or more nights and get 20% off
Expedia.com
$390
View deal
Travelocity
$390
View deal
eDreams
$358
View deal
Ascend$405
Hotels.com$390
Lol.travel$505
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (155)
Room & Suite (78)
Dining (5)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Kohea Kai Maui
Updated 28/07/22

About

#2 of 5 hotels in Kihei
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Our beachfront hotel offers the perfect location for your dream Maui vacation, destination wedding, or honeymoon. We are near the Piilani Highway 31, and our family-friendly hotel is just fifteen minutes away from the Kahului Airport (OGG.) Our ideal address is nestled along the southwest shore of Maui. The pristine sands of the five-mile beach of Mai Poina ‘Oe la’u are just outside your door. Our hotel is a leisurely stroll from Kalepolepo and Waipuilani Beaches. Our central location keeps guests near other popular areas of the island like Wailea and Makena, as well as Lahaina and Hana, making us an ideal choice for your exotic getaway. Guests of the Kohea Kai Maui experience the best that Maui has to offer
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Beach
Bicycle rental
Kids stay free
BBQ facilities
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Vending machine
Horseback riding
Mini golf
Canoeing offsite
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Stay 2 or more nights and get 20% off
197Reviews16Q+A30Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 126
  • 37
  • 20
  • 2
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Danielle P wrote a review 2 Sep
1 contribution
Highly recommended. Staff was great, Recommended shopping locations and activities Accommodations were wonderful. My husband and I spent a week there but we will be back every year to spend 2 to 3 weeks. Very conveniently located. We give them five stars.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kohea Kai Resort Maui, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so very much for your kind review. We really appreciate your stay with us as well as your time to share your review. We are happy to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to see you again real soon. Please take care and stay safe. Luseane Moa General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jack H wrote a review Mar 2022
Roanoke, Virginia8 contributions7 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
The resort is a gem with a friendly staff. During our stay, Carol, Tevita, and Luseane were very courteous and helpful. For example, they gave us pointers on major sites to see in Maui. They provided us ample, quality snacks in the lobby. It's a relaxing resort with a nice hot tub and small pool. Our room was nice and clean. Thank you for a superb stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kohea Kai Resort Maui, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui
Responded 28 Mar 2022
Thank you so very much for your awesome review and high scoring! We really appreciate your time and feed back. It is always a great feeling to read reviews acknowledging the hard work that my staff and myself put into this hotel. Thank you very much for your stay and on behalf of Tevita, Carol and the rest of the Kohea Kai Ohana we appreciate your stay and hope that you stay with us again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Luis A wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
This is a genuine place. Great room terrific area across the street. Real people genuine people who get to know their guest and make suggestions to do local things no tourist things. This will forever by my place I will never forget the handshake 🤪
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kohea Kai Resort Maui, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui
Responded 16 Aug 2022
Mahalo Nui Loa (Thank you very much) for such an awesome review! It is these type of positive reviews that makes our job well worth it! We really appreciate your kind words, I will be sure to share this with Tevita and we hope that you will visit us again soon. Take care and stay safe! Luseane Moa General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amin G wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
This is terrible and messy hotel there is no housekeeping there is no phone in the room , Now that I'm back, I have itchy areas on my body ,I paid $1350 for 3 nights now I’m really sad and mad , they have sign for sanitizer room but they are super lier . Please be careful and hotels is better than this one , they are super busy all the time and they don’t care about any issues and rooms .
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kohea Kai Resort Maui, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui
Responded 9 Jun 2022
Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with us. We greatly apologize for failing to meet your expectations and for the experience you had. We have not had issues with our rooms, our beds no complaints of skin irritability. As posted on our Front Desk for guests to read upon arrival and also go over with our guests at check in, we inform that due to labor shortage we service upon request and must be notified the day prior so that we can properly make sure that we have the help and staff we need to service our guests. But if nothing is scheduled, no housekeeping will just enter your room especially with covid still lurking around. So we apologize if you did not understand this at the time of check in, but it was indicated in your reservation that these information was given. Yes we have been busy, but never too busy to assist our guests. So we are sorry for any miscommunication and we hope that in the future you will allow us to show you excellent service. Take care and stay safe Luseane Moa General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TiaMariaMorrison wrote a review Apr 2022
Kitchener, Canada7 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
My husband and I stayed here during the last two weeks of March. We were very disappointed with this hotel. The pictures the hotel posts have nothing to do with reality, The hotel (NOT A RESORT BY ANY STRETCH OF THE IMAGINATION) is extremely run down. We rented a junior suite (room # 323). I can't understand at all why it was called a suite. It was simply a large room with a small fridge and a sink included. PROS: The location is fairly good, although with all of the construction around the hotel it can take up to a half hour to travel to the the part of town that has most of the restaurants and shops (obviously this is not the hotel's fault, its just something to be aware of). The staff are very welcoming and responsive to requests for more towels, etc. The pool area is pretty and nicely maintained (note: the pool is very small; its a dipping pool not a full-sized pool). There is a hot tub and a picnic area. CONS: As I've said, the biggest problem I had is the price you pay for such a run down hotel. I was shocked when we first drove up. The parking lot is very tight. The carpeting on the stairs is filthy and ripped. The door to our unit looked like rotten wood. The inside of the room is a little better. The room is large and clean but that's about it. Our 'junior suite' looked nothing like the pictures, We had a 'garden view' room with a view of some shrubs and trees that surround the parking lot. The balcony was horrible, old cast iron furniture and tiles missing from the walls. Not a place where you would enjoy sitting. The curtains were old and dirty looking. The bathroom was nice, although the window has no covering and is made of glass blocks that provide a sense that you are on display to people passing by. The chair in the room is old and dirty. The hotel describes a roof top balcony from which you can sit and watch the sunsets. It's true that the sunsets are pretty but you wouldn't want to sit on this patio. The furniture is extremely old and cheap, needing to be replaced. There is a bathroom but it is filled with storage materials. Overall, by suggestion is to keep looking. There must be something better available for the price than this 'resort.'
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Maybe check out the rooms by the dipping pool. They don't look quite as run down from the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kohea Kai Resort Maui, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui
Responded 19 Apr 2022
Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with us. We apologize for failing to meet your expectations, your feedback will definitely help us to continue on improving our services. Thank you for your stay with us and hopefully as things progress you will reconsider and give us another chance to accommodate you on your next visit to Maui. We appreciate your time and Thank you for staying with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
N1120A wrote a review Apr 2022
San Diego, California83 contributions100 helpful votes
If this place was say $99 a night, I'd probably rate it higher. The reality is that they're currently getting $300+ a night and the hotel just isn't worth that - not even close. The good: Staff are polite and the rooms are spacious and clean (maybe too clean, given the extreme smell of bleach after getting housekeeping). Fridge is an excellent size. Wi-Fi works generally decently. The Bad: Overpriced, poorly located, deceptive title as a "resort," a very tight parking lot, a resort fee that is not disclosed at booking, the bathroom has neither a toilet paper roll holder nor a proper towel rack. We got one tiny bottle of shower gel and no hand soap, making us need to break out our reserve to wash our hands and use shampoo for showering. Honestly, the Days Inn is better at the budget end and probably cheaper. Definitely not coming back to this place.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kohea Kai Resort Maui, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui
Responded 4 Apr 2022
Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with us. We really appreciate your feedback. We apologize for failing to meet your expectations. Labor shortage has been a challenge for us, however if things are forgotten it can be easily be delivered. So Thank you for sharing and take care stay safe!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen M wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
We had a great time at Kohea Kai. Great location easy to get to food and beach. Staff was quick to respond and very friendly. Rooms were clean and had the items we needed. Grounds were beautiful and well kept! Would stay again! Karen M
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kohea Kai Resort Maui, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui
Responded 4 Apr 2022
Thank you kindly for your awesome review! We really appreciate your feedback, your time and stay with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to accommodating you again in the near future should you decide to visit Maui again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ramey501 wrote a review Mar 2022
San Francisco, California13 contributions4 helpful votes
I was hoping to love this place after I read the reviews. Maybe it just depends on what room you stay in, but I’m paying $415 for a room with locked windows and cinder block walls. (Yes the windows are locked close) I wanted to change hotels when I checked in, but it was too late. If my expectations were set at a $150 a night motel, I’d have been fine with it. But this is the least nice place I’ve ever stayed for $400 in my life. This is not a resort and should not be charging $25 a night for a resort fee. It’s a motel that should be advertised as such. I know I’m not the first person upset that I’m paying $25 a day for a beach towel and some ice water and a plastic cup in the lobby. I’m sure the staff is very friendly as other reviews have said but I haven’t had much experience with anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kohea Kai Resort Maui, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui
Responded 28 Mar 2022
Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with us. I apologize for failing to meet your expectations and hope that you will give us a chance in the future as we work to improve our services. The amenity fee helps us provide more than just a towel and ice water. The amenity fees provides the in room amenities as well as parking, wifi, beach chairs, beach towels, coolers, bicycle rentals, to go snacks in the morning and afternoon plus more. Thank you again for sharing, we really appreciate your time.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Max S wrote a review Mar 2022
Pewaukee, Wisconsin6 contributions4 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed at Kohea Kai Maui in late February. The property was adequate, but we did not think it matched up to the rather lavish descriptions posted on its website. We do not consider the property a "resort". It is a normal hotel. Our standard room was clean, but very small. The grounds were well-maintained. The staff was friendly and courteous. We appreciated the use of beach chairs, towels and a cooler. The website says they have "upscale amenities"; we thought that was exaggerated. The website states they have :"24-hour front desk staff" but at check-in we were given a front-desk number to text between 6 am and 10 pm. Parking for the building we were in was VERY TIGHT quarters that are drive-in and back-out only, The "beachfront location" property description is a bit of a push, considering the beach is across South Kihea Road, a rather busy street. The "breakfast" offered was granola bars and coffee; no juices, tea or any other beverages. We prepaid for the reservation and were surprised when we checked in to be told that there was an additional $25 per day "resort fee". Perhaps this was disclosed on the website and we missed it, but to any travelers considering this property, beware of this charge.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kohea Kai Resort Maui, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui
Responded 21 Mar 2022
Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with us. We really appreciate your feed back because these are ways that our hotel can improve on our services. Due to the pandemic and the labor shortage that seems to be all around it has been a great challenge for my staff and myself. We may not be here physically for 24 hours, but we are available 24 hours. Thank you again for sharing, Thank you for your time and your feed back is very important to us. We hope you enjoyed Maui and hope to see you in the future. Luseane Moa General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Inspire627336 wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
This place was the worst. The ceiling is so thin - if you’re on the ground floor you hear every single step the people above you make. The entire hotel is generally shabby and just the opposite of a place to relax and unwind. There is no sound proofing what so ever and it made for countless sleepless nights due to noisy neighbors. There is no overnight reception (staff in general is non existent) so if you have any issues after 8pm you’re left with just a number to text. There is otherwise no staff on site overnight. Good luck getting any positive response to your texts. Would not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you’re forced to stay here - if this is literally the last hotel with space on Maui - then...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kohea Kai Resort Maui, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui
Responded 18 Mar 2022
Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with us. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We had made attempts to reach out to you, our office was open during the hours we have posted and the after hours number responds rather quickly. We could have assisted you with looking into other options to move to, but was unsuccessful both times and I am sure you were out enjoying Maui. However, we are always here ready to assist. We appreciate your feed back for these are ways that will help us to improve our services. We hope you enjoyed your time on Maui.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$360 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiMauiKihei
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kohea Kai Maui
Which popular attractions are close to Kohea Kai Maui?
Nearby attractions include Island Art Party (2.3 km), Maui Professional Photography (6.1 km), and Saint Theresa Roman Catholic Church (2.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kohea Kai Maui?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Kohea Kai Maui?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Kohea Kai Maui?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Kohea Kai Maui?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kohea Kai Maui?
Conveniently located restaurants include South Maui Fish Company, Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice, and Peace Love Shave Ice.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kohea Kai Maui?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Kohea Kai Maui?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Kohea Kai Maui?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ka'ahumanu Congregational Church (13.8 km), Haleki‘i-Pihana State Monument (15.9 km), and Chee Kung Tong Society Building (14.0 km).
Does Kohea Kai Maui have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Kohea Kai Maui accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.