We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Save
Share
3838 Wyllie Road Vistana, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Marriott
$622
View deal
Hotels.com
Traveluro
Booking.com
eDreams
travelup.com
Priceline
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1552)
Room & Suite (654)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 06/05/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Updated 06/05/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 4 in Princeville
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Gold level
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas are atop the lush, emerald cliffs that line Princeville, Kauai. This Hawaiian retreat offers easy access to Hanalei Lookout, the Wai`oli Mission and the Limahuli Garden. Stay in spacious one and two-bedroom villas with fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. Other resort amenities include three on-site restaurants and bars, a 24-hour fitness center, two outdoor plunge pools and a children's pool.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids pool
Car hire
Paid public parking on-site
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness classes
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Poolside bar
Business Centre with Internet Access
Photo copier / fax In business centre
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
2560Reviews93Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,305
  • 765
  • 295
  • 102
  • 93
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Christopher B wrote a review 16 May
Chicago, Illinois, United States6 contributions1 helpful vote
This is most definitely the worst customer service of any Westin property I have ever stayed at. It is a timeshare property so they use that as every excuse for not having proper hotel services. At check in late at night due to a late flight and after 1hr drive from the airport I was told there was no water available on checkin, but there was no way to purchase water either. So their suggestion was to drive a half hour away to a shop that was still open. Later after I complained they told me I could call housekeeping to get some. No one answered the phone. It wasn’t until I complained to the front desk in person that they delivered bottles to my room. Additionally we had a small emergency overnight and they had no way to provide any assistance be it even a bandage or Tylenol. I had to drive the 40 minutes to another area of the island overnight. Every Westin should be equipped to handle minor medical issues of their guests. The management would not grant even a one hour late checkout as “they don’t have to recognize elite benefits”. Remove the Westin name from this place it doesn’t deserve it. However, The property has a nice pool and is well maintained.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Responded 3 days ago
Christopher, we truly apologize that your arrival experience was not a positive one. We appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear that you found our resort to have a nice pool and is well maintained.
Read more
MrGaucho1987 wrote a review 9 May
Santa Barbara, California976 contributions752 helpful votes
My top Pros and Cons... Pros: -Beautiful. stunning ocean views. Short drive Hanalei for dining and shopping -Pools are nice but smaller. Adult oriented. Property not great for families. -Nanea restaurant had good resort food and friendly service Cons: -No benefit for Westin Vacation Club members. We had a mediocre room. -Friendly buy understaffed for bars, poolside, housekeeping. No room service -Studio room surprisingly small -There is just nothing special or memorable about this property. Birds!! I'm reading many bird poop complaints. We did not see the issue. The property is indeed teeming with Nene, chickens and other birds. Birds poop. It happens. You'll find a way to deal with it. Our return to this property is unlikely any time soon.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha, we appreciate your review, and apologize that you were unaware that our vacation club resort does not provide the elite benefits that a Marriott hotel provides. For complete information regarding your Bonvoy benefits, please visit Bonvoy.com. We appreciate the feedback and we hope you still had an enjoyable visit to Kauai!
Read more
Renwick29 wrote a review 6 May
Brentwood, Tennessee913 contributions293 helpful votes
We stayed here for two weeks in a one bedroom unit. Our first time to Kauai. Princeville is north coast so you can get a shower on most days but they rarely lasted long. Grounds are beautifully kept. Everything is very clean and up to date. Our unit had all appliances including a washer/dryer. Scenery around the hotel is great. Waterfalls can be seen in the mountains. A perfect place to slow down and detox from the pressures of life. Some good dining options nearby (the main restaurant on site has great fish and good steady service). Almost every restaurant in the area (north of Lihue to the end of the road west of the Westin) seems to have staffing problems. Definitely call ahead to see if they’re open. The hike down to Anini beach is steep but not that long and is pretty. We are both 59 and waited to go one morning after no rain. The beach below the resort is absolutely amazing…and virtually empty.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: If you go south thru Lihuie and beyond avoid returning “home” between 3 and 5:30 if you can as...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for choosing to visit the Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas on your first visit to Kauai! We hope you had truly amazing, relaxing and memorable stay, and we will look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!
Read more
Chip wrote a review Apr 2022
17 contributions2 helpful votes
Buyer Beware if you have Marriott Status! We only stayed here because we have Marriott ambassador status. Not once was our status acknowledged! No free coffee, no free breakfast, no room service, no late checkout, and a charge for parking! Kind of ridiculous for the price! Check out was absurdly early at 10am. The front desk was less than helpful. They did not treat us with the amount of respect that other Marriotts do. Wish we wouldn’t have been so loyal to Marriott! There’s only 1 cafe to get breakfast/coffee in the morning and it moves like molasses. The no room service concept is outdated. Using covid as an excuse is no longer acceptable for this amount of money. Place feels isolated /part of a retirement community. Nothing is walkable. Place is falsely advertised. There is no outdoor lap pool (it’s located a mile away), no pool on the beach, and no beachside access (beach at the Westin is reportedly a treacherous walk down and dangerous). Do not recommend! Take your money and loyalty elsewhere!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Responded 3 weeks ago
Aloha Chip, we appreciate your review, and apologize that you were unaware that our vacation club resort does not provide the elite benefits that a Marriott hotel provides. For complete information regarding your Bonvoy benefits, please visit Bonvoy.com. We hope you still had an enjoyable visit to Kauai!
Read more
drmirage wrote a review Apr 2022
Los Angeles, California117 contributions82 helpful votes
+1
Backstory: On May 6, 2021, we signed up for an invitation to stay at the Westin Princeville Ocean Resorts Villas for 5 nights along with a 6 Day Avis Rental Car for $649 with a 90 minute tour and presentation. We were assigned to Room # 5208 (Studio Suite) and it was very clean and spotless. Our entire family enjoyed the duration of our stay. Washer and Dryer in our room was the best amenity. All the team members especially Michelle Yardley, Beorn Chantara, Logan Smith and Gwen Rogers were very hospitable during our stay. They definitely know how to treat guests like VIP and exceeded our expectations. 5/5 Stars!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your perfect review of the Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas! We're glad our resort team provided great service and we hope you will visit us again in the future!
Read more
Nancy R wrote a review Apr 2022
2 contributions2 helpful votes
We just returned from an incredibly relaxing 2-week stay. The overall resort and grounds are beautiful, with really nice pools (several) and ample lounges and shade. Nice pool areas for small children and adults. Unfortunately the poolside bar was still closed. The one open restaurant was quite good, dining all outside. We were lucky and great weather and very little rain. At check-in Lennon helped us with our room selection - Room 4201, a 1-bedroom, corner villa. The map of the resort does not show that Bldg. 4 has a beautiful view of the ocean and the open golf course. There are no trees blocking the view, and it is also far enough away from the pool and main building to be quiet. The only noise we had in 2 weeks were the morning rooster calls -- like clockwork -- at 6:45 a.m. This villa is a corner/end unit on the 2nd floor (upper level), with a large balcony and dining table & chairs. You do see the adjacent condos to the left, with a resident couple who enjoy the same sunrise/sunsets we did, without making a sound. They seem very respectful of hotel guests. The bed and bedding was very comfortable, excellent A/C, the bathroom is large: 2-sinks and drawers, wonderful shower, separate tub. All very clean, no mold, fresh smelling. All the room towels (and pool towels) are brand new. The kitchen faucet wasn't working property, and when asked, maintenance immediately replaced it with a new one. They service was always friendly and very helpful. The geese, roosters and chickens do roam freely. They only really annoyed us while eating on the restaurant patio, and one evening at the "adult" oceanfront pool -- geese droppings everywhere, and no one attending to the mess. These birds are everywhere on the island, so you have to deal with it. But everything was cleaned up every morning. We loved our time here and would definitely return to this property again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Bldg. 4 #4201 upper level, corner unit, 1-bedroom. Bright room, extra large patio, unobstructed...
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Responded 1 Apr 2022
Mahalo for your fantastic review of the Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas! We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful time and we look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay. A hui hou!
Read more
Aliceaw2015 wrote a review Mar 2022
Calgary, Canada6 contributions8 helpful votes
We have been here for 5 days, and haven’t spent a ton of time on the resort as we have been busy doing off site activities. Today we decided to stay on resort at the pool. We are staying in a studio suite thru interval international . The room is fine and well equipped. Every other Interval exchange we have done has offered a mid week clean. They are currently not offering this. Although I think we could request more towels etc, but we haven’t had the need. It’s kind of weird but our lanai is really crappy compared to most. We have a lovely view but just a small bit of cement, 2 chairs and a small side table. All of the other rooms we can see have a regular table that you could eat a meal on and are a proper lanai. We reserved a Papa’i at the pool which has comfy seats and guaranteed shade. We paid a lot for this and got no extra service. We were told there would be poolside service. The server showed up at 11:30 as soon as service started and he told us he would be back every 15-20 minutes. We stayed until 4:30 pm and he never came by again - not once to see if we needed anything. We eventually went to the bar to order take out from Nanea restaurant (since the server never came back), and the food was not good. I ordered Kalua Pork French Fries and my husband ordered Kalua pork quesadilla. It was expensive ($50 for lunch for two) greasy and had a funky taste. I had cramps and diarrhea after eating this food. We had planned on eating dinner here tonight but will not be doing so based on our poolside lunch. The other issue is the Nene (Hawaiian Geese) all over the resort. I get it that they are protected and I’m sure this poses a unique challenge for the staff but it gets old after awhile. They poop everywhere (you can’t walk across the grass without stepping in it), and they kept stealing things off of our table. They swim in the pool and I think hygenically this can’t be good. I’m not sure what can be done about them, but there were no staff around at all to deal with them. I saw the occasional cleaner walking around and cleaning up poop - talk about an endless and thankless job! This is truly a beautiful resort and I would consider staying here again but I think they are understaffed (I’m assuming due to COVID), and hope that they can recover soon. Westin properties should be 5 star and this was 2-3 star, strictly because of poor food, closed facilities and a clear lack of staff. Glad I am in Kauai though, which makes it all okay!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Responded 19 Mar 2022
Alice, thank you for taking the time to provide your review of the Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas. It is disappointing to learn you did not have a great experience with our server at the pool or dining at our resort. Please report your concerns to the Manager by dialing "0" from your villa phone so that they may be addressed.
Read more
ItchyFeet wrote a review Mar 2022
Camarillo, California7528 contributions726 helpful votes
+1
We stayed in Poipu last year and wanted to stay on the north side to be closer to the lighthouse for bird watching and the northern more tropical feel. The only Marriott property is the Westin villas which is not a hotel but a timeshare. Yet we have stayed in many Marriott rooms that were bigger and nicer. I can’t imagine paying to own a hotel room. The photos a couple reviews down are all very accurate; we were there about the same time and saw all the same. We did enjoy ourselves and it was nice to be closer to Hanalei and the lighthouse. We enjoyed sitting at the bluff and watching dozens of whales and albatross one afternoon. The parking situation is terrible and the architect that got away with the crazy parking should have not been paid. Too late now that it is done. Many buildings are a very significant walk to the entrance to each building (only one entrance per building which was odd too). This was very odd and not well marked as to where to go when you arrive. The restaurant has bizarre hours of 1130-7 and has a pretty limited menu. We had one meal there and it was terrible and grossly overpriced. Coconut shrimp was reheated and yet cold and charred. The onion rings were the same; old, cold, reheated and a bit charred. I was flabbergasted that I would be served such poor food. My wife convinced me to tell the waiter and he took them back and didn’t charge me. I ordered a chicken Caesar salad which I though would be easy and safe yet it showed up without any dressing and warm lettuce. It must have been a bad night but for a Westin and being the only food on property for hundreds of people you’d expect good food from 6am to 10 pm. No COVID excuse could be valid. Besides we were there right as things were changing a bit. No staff wore masks in the villas and many didn’t even pretend to. Guests were never wearing masks but we were ok with that but the property shouldn’t say one thing and do the opposite. As a titanium Marriott member I surprisingly got a better room with an ocean view and a balcony. Would we stay again, probably because it’s the only Marriott in the north but I would now know what to expect. Stop at Safeway and or Costco in Kapa’a on your way to the resort for your food and drinks. We did that and had breakfast and lunch we made ourselves. Dinner at Kalypso in Hanalei was good for 2 dinners.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Responded 12 Mar 2022
We appreciate you taking time to provide your review of the Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas. We apologize that your dining experience was sub-par and that we appreciate you sharing that the resort staff were not consistent with mask use. We truly hope that we will be able to provide a better experience for you on your next visit to Kauai.
Read more
Hector Aranibar wrote a review Mar 2022
Las Condes, Chile2 contributions4 helpful votes
The staff is always eager to help you, the rooms are big and clean. Everything was great, we will definitely return The location is amazing and you can easily take trips to the rest of the island by car.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Responded 5 Mar 2022
Thank you for your fantastic review of the Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas! We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful time and we will look forward to hosting you once again!
Read more
TravelingBigBob wrote a review Feb 2022
Tiburon, California43 contributions52 helpful votes
+1
Just spent a week there with my family. The pictures say it all. You have found the right place if you're looking for: - hotel guests and timeshare owners openly complaining about the their experience poolside - a sold out, yet understaffed property with many basic services unavailable or closed - one week stay entitles you to zero housekeeping. if you stay 8 nights, they will clean the room once. the hotel justifies this as a COVID policy but let's call it what it is, a profit policy - speaking of another COVID policy, the 100% OUTDOOR pool bar is closed with a sign promoting social distancing. Staff will tell you to go INSIDE to the one open bar to order a $10-20 drink To-Go. The resort is at capacity (100s of guests), there are four pools, yet there is no pool bar or cafe due to COVID - trash bags in the hallways, similar to what you see at a motel (see pic) - predominantly a timeshare property, I would NOT book this as a hotel at these premium prices ($100-200/night feels about right) - the one open restaurant is open 11:30am-7pm. the food is frozen from sysco, dramatically overpriced even for hawaii (tiny portion of chinese chicken salad for $32 + tax + service = $40). you can dine al fresco next to the geese poop pool, under a fading dirty awning with a beautiful BAC exhaust or boiler in your background (see pic) - goose, duck, bird, animal poop literally everywhere. on our porch, on the grass, next to the pool, in the pool. you cannot avoid stepping in it. the other reviews are 100% accurate. the hotel will claim the geese are protected which may be the case. but the poop not being cleaned from the pool deck, room patios and all over the grass is disgusting. - the 20 foot "mini golf" course (LOL) cannot be used because it is full of poop (see picture) - main pool heaters went down resulting in freezing pools. after the second day, they finally admitted the heater went down - room A/C went out twice and is very loud when operating. the engineers attempting to fix it kept apologizing - $6 morning coffee and overpriced "fresh" $5 croissants and expensive baked goods directly from the Costco in Lihue (you can see the wrapping and boxes) - the kids pool has construction cones and caution tape in it. the kids pool also was closed since the turtles from 20-30 years ago kept dislodging. the kids slide, also closed the full week since the motor broke. engineering will provide as many excuses as you have time to hear about why this is the case and how they somehow think this is acceptable. notice how many of the issues we encountered were due to engineering failures - there is no beach access unless you want to climb a little fence then hike down a thousand feet on a slippery trail to the public beach - this is not a hotel, it is a dated timeshare property. marriot vacation club owns it and they run it accordingly. This is a two star review because I feel bad for the majority of the overworked and exhausted staff just trying to stay afloat. Princeville is also a majestic part of the world so it's difficult to give this place a one star review. we left the property each day since it was depressing to try to enjoy yourself. imagine a poolside cocktail, in a heated pool, not full of poop and feathers. not here! Management and ownership are milking this property. Profits must be at all time highs at the expense of the staff and guest experience. When checking out, we were offered to return for $900 for a week's stay if we made a $200 deposit for the trip. $900 for 7 nights feels like the right price, but even with that offer, we won't return, ever. Unfortunately, the rooms are now being sold for $600-800/night right now. If this is what you're looking for, then look no further! You've found a great "resort" and they will be happy to book you in a "villa" without housekeeping as they humorously refer to their rooms. Trust the trending of the other recent reviews and avoid this property.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: I'd stay in an upper floor to avoid a ground unit with poop on the patio
See more room tips
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Responded 28 Feb 2022
Aloha, thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to learn about your overall experience and have shared your comments with our upper management staff to enhance and improve upon service for the future. All resort updates during COVID can be always found on our HUB website to know exactly what to expect during your stay, We apologize that we did not meet your expectations while complying with all local government safety protocols at this time. We are doing our best to increase staffing during this pandemic and hope to have you back for a 5-star stay in the future.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$536 - $669 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
westin princeville ocean resort villas hotel princeville, westin princeville ocean hotel, princeville westin
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiKauaiPrinceville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
346
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Which popular attractions are close to The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas?
Nearby attractions include Princeville Botanical Gardens (3.2 km), Hanalei Bay (3.5 km), and Hanalei Beach (3.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas?
Yes, paid public parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pink's Creamery, Wishing Well Shave Ice, and Jo Jo's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Historic Kong Lung Market Center (6.4 km).
Does The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.