We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Castle Makahuena at Poipu

TripAdvisorUS$ 294*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lowest price we found
US$ 294*
View Deal
in partnership withCastle Makahuena at Poipu
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Castle Makahuena at Poipu
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Castle Makahuena at Poipu
See the most recent reviews
Showing 106: English reviews
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed in Unit #4303 for six days in February, 2012 and were very unhappy with the condo. I suppose the main criticism is that the beds were awful, apparently like "cardboard" in two bedrooms. The bed in the master bedroom had a foam slab atop what was likely a very old mattress. The foam was soft, and I woke...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank diane12685
erniekan, General Manager at Castle Makahuena at Poipu, responded to this review

The Makahuena is a beautiful and comfortable Condominium complex. Each condominium is individually owned and is upgraded by its owners. The owners of this particular unit has not upgraded their unit due to the economic situation which caused some hardship for them. However, whenever an appliance fails to function or some repairs needs to be completed the owners are always...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 23 November 2011

This was our 2nd trip to Kauai. We stayed at the Makahuena in August, 2011 with our 3 teens and found the unit very homey. The gated pool area felt very secure, and we used the pool every day; very refreshing. The grounds keeper was very friendly and helpful. We loved having our morning cup of coffee at the point...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank SusiWitt
erniekan, General Manager at Castle Makahuena at Poipu, responded to this review

Susi/Witt - Thank you so very much for your review. It is not often that individuals take the time to write positive comments and we appreciate your comment. Looking forward to see you and your family again in June 2012. Mahalo nui loa

Spring Valley, California
Reviewed 3 July 2011

There is nothing like falling asleep to the sound of the waves craching on the bluffs, which were practically right outside our room! We had rented an oceanview condo from Castle Resorts 7 years ago and loved it. The tradewinds kept things cool, and it was our 1st time renting a condo for a vacation, instead of staying in a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lyndamama
erniekan, General Manager at Castle Makahuena at Poipu, responded to this review

Aloha Lyndamama, We appreciate your comments and glad that your stay here at the Makahuena was pleasant and wonderful. You are correct, falling asleep listening to the waves and the ocean breeze is such a soothing and comfortable feeling. We hope top see you again in the very near future. Mahalo

Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
Reviewed 26 January 2011

9 adults in 3 units on the property for a family birthday. One oceanfront unit, one oceanview, and one with a garden view. All were happy with the accomodations they received as well as the grounds. The pool was small, but was good enough for a quick cool off after the hot tub.Could not have had a better location to...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank LauraSydney
erniekan, General Manager at Castle Makahuena at Poipu, responded to this review

Aloha Laura Sidney, We would like to express our appreciation for your comments. We do have a gem of property that sits on the edge of the small cliff overlooking the the Pacific Blue where one can view the early morning sunrise and view the sunset on the same afternoon. If you decide to visit our island again be sure...

Alaska
Reviewed 12 December 2010

We stayed here in March 2007. True the property is run down but we spent most of our time looking out on the small sprouting horn where we saw turtles and a visit from a whale. I ventured out on the trail to the Hyatt early one morning for breakfast and hiking back really appreciated my swim in the pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AkMary1
erniekan, General Manager at Castle Makahuena at Poipu, responded to this review

Aloha Thank for your comments and we hope you do visit us again in the near future. Mahalo

davis ca
Reviewed 17 November 2010

We found this unit 4105 on vrbo. Grounds were nice, but too far to walk to the beach with any carry alongs. Units are individually owned so each is different, our unit was like a basement. Lanai was a joke with a few plastic chairs, on a cement pad about 3 feet wide with a hill right in front that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank wanderlustDavisCa
cannon750, Owner at Castle Makahuena at Poipu, responded to this review

Hi, we're the owners of 4105. Our property is clearly marketed as "non-smoking," and the renter’s security deposit was not returned as her husband repeatedly smoked during their stay. They were asked 6 different times to stop smoking by our neighbor, our property manager, and the Makahuena manager, and they refused. She originally wrote an email detailing their positive experience...

Bentonville, AR
Reviewed 9 July 2010

This trip marked the third time my wife and I have gone to Hawaii, but the first time to Kauai. So after 15 hours of traveling, all we were looking forward to was getting a good night's sleep. When we arrived at the "resort," we had a hard time telling much about the place, as it was dark and anyone...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank crsmith76
Denver
Reviewed 29 April 2010

We booked a 1-bdr. garden view but were upgraded to a 2 bdr. ocean view with loft. The unit (4310) was spacious with a wraparound lanai and great views of the ocean. At night, we could hear the surf and see the stars through the big window in our room. The unit has a big master with bath, another big...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pinkytravels
Michigan
Reviewed 23 February 2010

We stayed in 5202 on the ocean. Fantastic views from the Lanai. Whales, turtles and dolphins playing out front. This unit has AC. A must, since it faces south with the sun beating in all day. We enjoyed the condo pool and the BBQ area. The kitchen and bathrooms in the condo are due for some updates. All in all...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jan O
Colorado
Reviewed 16 January 2010

Our unit, 4035, was in a great spot. Although not oceanfront, the fabulous oceanview from the lanai/living room and master bedroom were gorgeous. The unit was clean and had everything you might need. The grounds were beautiful and the location was very peaceful. We would go back in a second. If we could have chosen it, two of the buildings...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1bobby30

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:45
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poipu hotels
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Poipu Shores Resort
#14 of 30 in Poipu
182 reviews
Koloa
Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
The Point at Poipu
The Point at Poipu
#5 of 30 in Poipu
764 reviews
Whalers Cove Resort
#4 of 30 in Poipu
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Makahuena at Poipu is an oceanfront condominium on the southernmost point of Kauai that offers a rare opportunity to experience both a stunning sunrise and sunset. Accommodations include one-, two-, and three-bedroom suites with kitchens and washer/dryers. Amenities include a pool, jet spa, tennis court, and barbecue grills. Front Desk Hours: 8:30am - 4:00pm After Hours Check-In: Please call the resort in advance for after hours check-in instructions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castle Makahuena at Poipu

Address: 1661 Pee Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9593
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Price Range: ₹ 16,626 - ₹ 31,447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Makahuena at Poipu 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castle Makahuena at Poipu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Makahuena At Poipu Hotel Poipu
Castle Makahuena At Poipu Kauai, HI
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castle Makahuena at Poipu staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Castle Makahuena at Poipu staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure the construction is over or get a big discount and live with it.”
jkneepkens, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rental condos, some from existing owners and also from the complex.”
Darlene159, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The more you pay the better your view.”
tomi425, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“get the ocean view, it's worth it”
traveljunkie612, 15 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
tvargas2015, 13 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$ 294* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates