We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
3610 Rice St Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Hotels.com
Traveluro
Marriott
eDreams
Booking.com
travelup.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (838)
Pool & Beach (196)
Room & Suite (191)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 26/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
Updated 26/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 10 in Lihue
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
A tropical paradise awaits at Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club offering condo-style villa accommodations in your choice of guest rooms, parlors, one- and two-bedroom villas. Our comfortable oceanfront resort in Lihue, Kauai, Hawaii will make you feel right at home, and our on-site amenities offer something for every member of your family. Enjoy a convenient location near Hawaii's famous Fern Grotto and Alekoko Fishpond, as well as Kilauea Point Lighthouse and Kauai Museum. Take time to pamper yourself at our Alexander Day Spa and Salon and enjoy a variety of relaxing treatments and services on your Hawaiian vacation.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Poolside bar
Bowling offsite
Tennis court offsite
Kids stay free
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fitness classes
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Kids club
Kids pool
Free airport transportation
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Harbour View
Business
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
1005Reviews94Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 435
  • 310
  • 134
  • 72
  • 54
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
JGerrits wrote a review Apr 2022
Lake Villa, Illinois72 contributions90 helpful votes
1st time to Kauai, the reviews on TA concerned me ahead of our vacation. We are Marriott Vacation Club Owners, Vacation Club Destination Points & Bonvoy Lifetime Platinum members. We couldn't have been more HAPPY with our room and the resort overall. We booked a 1 Bedroom/Ocean Front and that is what we got. No surprises, just a gorgeous view. On the first day of check-in, we went to the Sonesta Lobby to set up a Room Charge account for the restaurants and bars on the property. Easy! Except for the gift shop, they either want your Room Charge card they gave you or to see a picture of it on your phone. We needed a ride to the Luau at Plantation House (highly recommend doing the private dinner before) and the concierge gave us Dave's Taxi Service 808-212-8274, he was excellent! We ate at Dukes 3 nights (2 would have been enough), Discovered Noka Grill on our 2nd to last day (great Breakfasts), Ate at Rob's Good Times Grill (very good about 5-6 min away) twice when we couldn't get into Portofino's/Dukes, Breakfast & Lunch at Lava Lava Beach Club (very good - 15 min away), and food trucks Smitty's (across the street, EXCELLENT) and Kickshaws (Kola - South Shore, again EXCELLENT) & had a Puka Dog at Brennecke Beach Deli at Shipwreak Beach (interesting, a must try). With all this food consumption we HIKED everyday. We used All Trails App to help find some of the locations: Kailau Ridge Trail (muddy), Shipwreak Beach (gorgeous coastline), Waipo'o Fall Canyon Trail (hardest trail we did, 3.6 miles, 955 ft elevation moderate climbing, we used trekking poles, worth it for the view) and Secret Beach (before visiting Hanalei Bay) & Ho'opi Falls Trail (the Jurassic Parks Waterfalls). We provisioned our kitchenette with some snacks & adult beverages at the Safeway & ABC Store (walking distance from hotel). We rented a jeep for the week and loved the location of this resort, minutes from the airport and centrally located to go to the South/West Shore or explore the East/North Shore towns. We did some extensive research before going to ensure we were covering the best of Kauai on our 1st visit. We bought the book The Ultimate Kauai Guidebook off of Amazon and bought the Hawaii Revealed App for our phone, loved having the Driving Narration on when we were exploring the Island! Check it out, worth the money. All said, a fantastic week in Kauai and we will be back to the Island and to the Marriott Kauai Beach Club.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
Responded 3 weeks ago
Aloha and Mahalo for sharing your excellent feedback about your visit with us. We are extremely delighted to read about your adventurous experience, and glad you enjoyed your beautiful oceanfront villa. We cannot wait to welcome you back, again! A hui hou!
Read more
BV S wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Our goal was to enjoy the island and we did but it was not because of the accommodations. The location is close to the airport and the pool area is beautiful. Interesting set up with Sonesta Hotel and the Marriott timeshare. The resort itself is beautiful but odd because there are two lobbies and if you're with Marriott you an aside note. and cannot bill anything to your room. We booked via a third party and were further treated like second class citizens because of it. It got worse when we were identified as "renters" rather than "owners". We then declined the 90 minute presentation and it was very clear that we were at the bottom of the guest list. The room itself was basic, which was fine but we were not aware we would be sleeping on a bed that pulled down from the wall. The lighting and switches were designed poorly so if you had the bathroom area light on, three different lights lit up making it tough if you had to use the restroom and your partner was sleeping. The actual bathroom was so small that the door of the shower and the door of the bathroom were constantly in conflict and you had to lean over the toilet to close the bathroom door while you were in it. There was a fridge and microwave, which was nice for left overs. The real problem came in though with the noise levels. We could hear people speaking in the room next to us and I don't believe they were being loud. This made it tough, especially when adjusting to the time zone. We just wanted to rest. The room service was prompt but the food was subpar at best. We did really enjoy the breakfast on site and were close to several restaurants and within walking distance to the ocean and a rental place for boogie boards and snorkeling sets. I made the mistake of taking the stairwell to the Lobby floor and got locked in it. I had to squeeze out a small gated area as both doors were locked. SO I couldn't get to the hallway nor back upstairs. Additionally, the laundry facilities
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
Responded 3 weeks ago
Aloha, thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We are happy you have had the opportunity to visit us and enjoyed the island. Mahalo for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of hosting you in the future!
Read more
PamRoad wrote a review Apr 2022
Texas1008 contributions404 helpful votes
We stayed here for a week, and the location was wonderful. We had a 2nd story ocean front view that was perfect! We were just steps away from the beach and only a few more from the pool, which is gorgeous. The grounds are simply beautiful. The condo's are a bit dated, without many frills. But the location on the beach and the beautiful grounds more than compensate for that.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We truly appreciate your kinds words about our resort and grounds! Your feedback is valuable and we hope to be able to provide you with another great stay!
Read more
Ethan C wrote a review Apr 2022
Riverside, California72 contributions58 helpful votes
Kaua'i is not Maui, it's a slow paced laid back relaxing environment, where everything closes by 9pm. Marriott is on a nice quite lagoon that is very safe for snorkeling and paddleboarding. With the largest single pool deck in all of HI.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
Responded 4 weeks ago
Aloha Ethan, we appreciate your review. We hope you have a fantastic relaxing visit!
Read more
MLE wrote a review Apr 2022
23 contributions10 helpful votes
+1
We are currently spending two nights at Marriott’s Kauai Beach Club, before meeting up with family for 7 nights at another property. We used MVC points for the first night and paid well over $600 for the second night. $600+ per night is more than we typically spend, especially for a Motel 6 quality room. The furniture is rather unattractive and very basic; nothing comfortable or inviting about it. We hear every flush of the toilet next door, and our AC is so loud that management has a sign posted to keep the fan on low if you want quiet. There is no feeling of being in the islands in this room; no tropical color in the artwork or textiles, just white walls and white (moldy-smelling) bedding. While I was advised before we arrived that we would be on the 4th floor of the NouNou building and might have the lobby rooftop as part of our view, I never imagined that it would be this bad! There may be a tiny glimpse of the ocean through the trees from the balcony if you crane your neck. The main view, right smack in front of us, is an unattractive green rooftop with a noisy AC unit on top. I asked for a higher floor or different building, but that was not an option. The staff here has been extremely friendly and their communication has been excellent. The pool and grounds are lovely, but I would not choose to stay here again. This feels very much like the hotel conversion that it is; perhaps the renovated hotel rooms at the Sonesta, which shares the property with Marriott, would be a better choice.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
Responded 15 Apr 2022
Aloha and mahalo for the your review at Marriott's Kauai Beach Club. We are truly sorry you were assigned an undesirable room location. We do our best to place our owner's in highly desirable room locations, but are unable when we are 100% fully occupied. Mahalo for giving us a try and we hope to provide a better experience on your next visit!
Read more
Alan S wrote a review Apr 2022
Santa Cruz, California140 contributions130 helpful votes
As per other reviews, the Marriott's merging with Sonesta on this property has indeed brought on changes. We are timeshare owners here so we visit annually, except for missing the past 2 years due to covid. We stay in the owner's building so some of the issues other's had did not affect us. Our rooms had been nicely updated previously, and being quite far from the building that was currently undergoing renovations....we were not disturbed by construction noise. Our suite was clean, more comfortable furniture than before, and overall a comfortable stay. Yes, it was annoying to not be able to charge to the room, but it was not a huge inconvenience for us since we had a kitchen and ate most breakfasts and lunches in our suite. I miss the beverage dispenser by the pool and hope that it comes back at some point. I like that they have done away with "towel cards" and that towels are no longer limited. We have no complaints about the staff and every request we had was quickly attended to with good follow up. Everyone we dealt with was friendly, helpful, and competent. We especially enjoyed Chad, one of the pool/beach security guards. We found Dukes to be lacking and only went there once during our 4 week stay. In the past we never bothered renting a car for our entire stay, but this time we felt that we needed to. The shopping center shuttle that used to run twice/week has been discontinued, and we really missed that. Covid has caused many nearby businesses to go out....and although that is no fault of the property.....it has affected the convenience of the location. In general, we look forward to our return in 2023.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
Responded 12 Apr 2022
Thank you for choosing to return to Kauai many times over. We truly appreciate your kinds words about our resort and staff! Your feedback is valuable and we hope to be able to provide you with another great stay in 2023!
Read more
peaceandenthusiasm wrote a review Mar 2022
San Francisco, California75 contributions11 helpful votes
We really enjoyed our stay here, it was a great home base for exploring Kauai. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, and our ocean view was simply stunning to wake up to every morning. The location was superb: right next to the airport, on the beautiful Kalapaki Beach, with a couple good restaurants right on the resort and more just a short walk away, it was wonderful not having to drive everywhere. All of the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, and it made our stay extremely comfortable and easy. We would definitely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
Responded 1 Apr 2022
Mahalo, for choosing to stay with us at the Marriott's Kauai Beach Club. We truly appreciate your recommendation and glad that you had an enjoyable time on the island. We cannot wait to welcome you back again!
Read more
DeidreD22 wrote a review Mar 2022
Thousand Oaks, California15 contributions43 helpful votes
No really…what have you done? This resort was always amazing and then you went and brought in Royal Sonesta to share and run the place. MVC became second class citizens. Can’t even charge to the room at the pool. Room quality is fine…bathrooms are so small I can barely shut the door, but it is a hotel conversion so I can look past it. Food…it’s Hawaii so it is what it is, but there needs to be more staff working the pool. Waitresses are hard to find, the bar gets packed and the restaurant is so overpriced for what you get. Pool as always is great…beach is fantastic, but the grounds themselves need an update. I feel for the owners that bought here. They did not sign up for this.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Until construction ends there really are no good rooms, but I would say to try to get a higher floor
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
Responded 20 Mar 2022
Aloha, thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We are happy you have had the opportunity to visit us and enjoyed the pool and beach. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of hosting you in the future!
Read more
otterpro wrote a review Mar 2022
Cambria, California65 contributions31 helpful votes
I have brought my family here several times over the last few decades... in fact I stayed at the Kauai Surf 55+ years ago. We have been Marriott Vacation Club owners for 20+ years. Kalapaki Beach is still one of the most beautiful places on Earth! However, a couple of suggestions this time... first, this is the only Marriott, vacation club or hotel, that we visit without a water refilling station for guests. They brought in Sonesta as the hotelier, and Management told us (I've already called Management on this issue) that the Sonesta is responsible for all common areas, but that still does not help Marriott Vacation Club owners, as there is no water refilling station at either the Marriott or Sonesta properties. Plastic single use water bottles are available for purchase, but no refilling... bad for the environment, and a disservice to guests. Second, our 20 year request to Marriott is to no be issued a room next to the elevators. You guessed it, our room was right across from the elevators, ice machine... again, I called Management, they apologized, but no solution. I asked that, in the future, they at least let us know ahead of time, before we fly out, in case we choose to delay for a room location that we prefer. Both issues need attention... but again, beautiful location, great staff... we will be back, hopefully to see the new water refilling stations and to get our room of choice, not near the elevators and ice machines.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Away from elevators, higher floors (for the views).
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
Responded 16 Mar 2022
Thank you for choosing to return to Kauai many times over. We truly appreciate your love for the Kauai Beach Club and Kalapaki Beach! Your feedback is valuable and we hope to be able to provide you with a more favorable room location next year!
Read more
jennrogers wrote a review Mar 2022
San Francisco, California1 contribution1 helpful vote
Was given a handicap room without a heads up. Low ceilings, dated, gross shower curtain in tiny bathroom. Can hear people above, housekeeping staff chatting outside door and elevator noise. Hallways are super dark and depressing. Garbage/recycle sitting across from our door. I can’t believe this is a Marriott property. Terrible service. Do not stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
Responded 6 Mar 2022
We are truly sorry to hear of your disappointment with your recent stay. We recommend dialing "0" while on property to determine if a room move is available during your stay.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$386 - $542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
marriott`s kaua`i beach club hotel lihue
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiKauaiLihue
NUMBER OF ROOMS
232
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
Which popular attractions are close to Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club?
Nearby attractions include Tabora Gallery (0.3 km), Hawaii Alive Luau Show & Dinner (0.1 km), and Unique Gift Shop (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a poolside bar, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid public parking on-site, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club?
Conveniently located restaurants include Skinny Mike's Ice Cream and Shave Ice, Duke's Kauai, and The Right Slice.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club have airport transportation?
Yes, Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.