We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Garden Island Inn

Show Prices
#1 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

670 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Garden Island Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 652: English reviews
Wooster, Ohio
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2015

Stayed here towards end of January. Rooms were very clean and nice. Water pressure was strong. Price was reasonable for Hawaii. Ran A/C to drown out street noise. Slept well. Free Wi-Fi worked very well. The lights on the outside of the building and in the trees at night were great! Restaurants and stores are close. Beach is across the... More 

Helpful?
Thank dman457
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review

Mahalo for your lovely 5 star review! You identified many important points to a great hotel. Our location, guest service, cleanliness, and comfort some of the features you mention, give the staff and myself great satisfaction. We look forward to your next visit and promise to deliver great value for you vacation stay! Aloha, Lis & Steve Layne More 

Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2015

We booked this at the last minute and Germaine was Super accommodating. She put us in the condos when there were no Inn rooms left. We got in really late and a nice envelope with welcoming instructions were waiting. Great location with the beach across the road and neat shops and restaurants all around. The condo was clean and well... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle W
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review

Aloha! we are so glad the condo was available and perfect for your family. Germaine and the entire staff has a way of working out the rooms. It is so important to talk with our staff to get the best room for your needs. The value and location are huge factors for guest satisfaction...thank you for the 5 star review!... More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2015

We really enjoyed our stay at Garden Island Inn. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room large and almost anything we needed was available to be borrowed on a trust basis (DVDs, beach chairs, boogie boards etc.). We were even offered free snacks to take to the beach. it was clean and comfortable. A great place to see the... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Linda N
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review

Aloha, we are so happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you! We are small, as number of rooms, but we are huge in what we try to provide to our guests. We are so fortunate to love providing guest services on the most enchanting Hawaiian Island, the "Garden Island"...Kauai! Room 16 is awesome, so glad you... More 

Allyn, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2015

I just love charming little places and Garden Island Inn didn't disappoint. The staff is super friendly and helpful. The room was charming and roomy. The grounds lush and inviting. They even have a supply of beach chairs, floats and beach towels to borrow. Really came in handy. I found the location great. There are several restaurants, a couple of... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank CindyinWA
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review

Mahalo for your review! Charming, roomy, lush and inviting...all great descriptions of our hotel. We are so glad you were not disappointed from reading about us to actually being a guest with us. We look forward to your next visit, and do check out the second and third floor rooms! Aloha, Lis & Steve Layne More 

Los Angeles
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2015 via mobile

This was our first visit to Kauai and we were made to feel at home. Very welcoming. Very warm and friendly. The folks in the island are very laid back and friendly. Everyone is very happy. This place is very affordable and extremely welcoming. Truly, a home away from home.

Helpful?
4 Thank KSR532
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are delighted your Kauai vacation was filled with happy, friendly experiences. Our staff is so remarkable, we appreciate hearing from you that they exceeded your expectations. Aloha is in our hearts and you having a great time makes our day! Please come back soon. Mahalo, Lis & Steve Layne More 

Onalaska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2015 via mobile

Our second time to stay here. So nice and charming and friendly! Love the paintings and decor! Easy walk to beach and places to eat. Also love the music outside and amenities. Maybe just a little overpriced.

Helpful?
4 Thank SharynLee2014
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review

We are a great little place full of tropical art and the gifts of aloha to our guests. Thank you for your repeat visits, we look forward to seeing you again. We love making tropical pumpkin pie and coffee for you in the mornings and picking the tangelo fruit from our tree for you to enjoy as well. I think... More 

Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2015

We stayed here for 8 days, visiting to celebrate a family member's 90th birthday. We chose the Garden Island Inn because of its location and reviews. We were not at all disappointed - in fact, it was better than we had expected! Our room was on the bottom level, with a lovely garden area in front and waterfall in back,... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Andrea D
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review

"Better than you had expected', your experience does not get any better than that!! Thank you so much for spending 8 days with us. We are delighted you enjoyed the hotel with all of our extras, and our wonderful staff. It is easy for us to get attached to our guests and enjoy learning of your daily adventures and island... More 

Spruce Grove, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2015

We stayed here for 2 weeks. We wanted a place centrally located with free wifi and mini kitchen (microwave, SMALL fridge, sink and very small counter area). The bathroom is small without a tub. Free DVD's, beach towels and beach toys. The beach is across the road, through a park and around a stream, a bit of a hike if... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Aussie1fan
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us for two weeks! We are so blessed to have the "very friendly and helpful staff" we work well together, your comfort and guest experience is top priority to us. We do have a selection of room sizes and interior packages bigger mini kitchens, larger mini refrigerators, even bathtub shower. It is so important to... More 

Niagara
Level Contributor
137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2015

I had booked the Garden Island Inn because it was minutes from the airport and given a late afternoon arrival by air , driving to our eventual destination was something I wanted to leave until the next day. We were familiar with Lihue from a previous trip and new the Inn was walking distance to many shops, restaurants and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Niagaranomad
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review! Your 5 stars on the one night stay mean a lot to us. It is nice to get off the plane to tropical paradise and start to relax and unwind. Our wonderful staff makes booking, checking in, checking out and serving you a pleasant experience. Extraordinary guest service provided with ALOHA is our signature... More 

Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2015

My family of 4 stayed here 1 night following a long flight to Kauai. Garden Island Inn is so charming, comfortable, and clean. The staff at Garden Island Inn could not have been more helpful or friendly. We loved being located right across the street from a lovely beach, shops, and restaurants. Dinner at Duke's after a long flight was... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Jerri R
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, glad you feel you discovered a GEM! It is good to get off the plane to unwind before more travel to your final destination. Many of our guest choose us as we are so close to the airport, and still a lovey resort at Kalapaki Beach! We enjoy families, children enjoy feeding... More 

487 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (273)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (81)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (108)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (189)
Viewed
Orchid Room (50)
Viewed
Palm Room (40)
Viewed
Second Tropical Room (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)
Viewed
Tropical Room (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn

Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9590
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Price Range: ₹ 9,955 - ₹ 12,682 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Garden Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Kauai/Lihue
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#1 Family Hotel in Lihue
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lihue
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#4 Business Hotel in Lihue
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Garden Island Inn staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
9 months ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Garden Island Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you have heavy cases a bottom room is probably ideal, however staff are willing to help with luggage”
 of 5 bubbles , 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Second floor facing south”
 of 5 bubbles Makoa, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 19 is a gem. Rooms on the upper floor are better in my opinion.”
 of 5 bubbles SydneyStuart, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“For the best views, you'll need to pay more for a room on the top floor. But there's no lift.”
 of 5 bubbles KatiePNZ, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Our room was on the 2nd floor & we had a Kalapaki Bay view. Awesome!”
 of 5 bubbles Krysia1945, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay