We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Kauai Beach House

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kapaa
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Kauai Beach House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

206 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kauai Beach House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 186: English reviews
Oviedo, Florida
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

I arrived fairly late for check in and Miles patiently waited for me and shown me around the beach house even it was late! The view is spectacular and all the staffs are super helpful! Everything is really clean and many wonderful eateries are within walking distance. To top everything off, we got hooked up by Brian's friend (Captain Cassidy)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelvin L
Trak T, Guest Relations Manager at Kauai Beach House, responded to this review

Aloha Kelvin, yes that is what Kauai and the Kauai BeacH House Hostel are all about, the Aloha Spirit which is what you are talking about. As well, In all the years, none of us ever get "used to" the views in back of the hostel into the Blue Lagoon and over the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. You toured...

Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

I was very lucky to have stumbled into the KBHH! A dear friend recommended i stay there during my visit to Kauai and i am sure glad i did! They say you get what you pay for, but at the KBHH you definitely get a lot more in return!! Besides the very welcoming staff, friendly guests, spacious layout, beautiful views...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex N
Trak T, Guest Relations Manager at Kauai Beach House, responded to this review

Aloha Alex, super Mahalo / Thanks for such not only a great review but one so well written covering so many areas we appreciate you mentioning. On behalf of the whole staff a very big Mahalo Nui Loa from the Kauai BeacH House Hostel. Leota

Reviewed 31 August 2016

Great spot, right in town. Friendly staff. Place is a bit old, but super charming, super chill. If you're looking for a hostel in Kauai, this is it. The rooms are right on the water. The breeze is amazing. The lawn outside is perfect for laying out and watching the stars. Well worth the price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josh C
Trak T, Guest Relations Manager at Kauai Beach House, responded to this review

Aloha, thanks for the nice review of the Kauai Beach House Hostel, and mahalo / thanks for commenting on our great staff because as you know people helping in any industry, especially the visitor industry is a"like a Box of Chocolates"...you never know...! ! ! We as well love the fresh breeze that comes off the lagoon, and laying out...

Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

If you need a cheap accomedation at a nice location- its a good hostel! but the hostel is very tropical, the rooms are open and not isolated or airconditioned at all. My sheets were dirty and the beds are not comfy. The kitchen is right in front of all rooms and everybody Is able to walk through all the rooms....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fabia W
Trak T, Guest Relations Manager at Kauai Beach House, responded to this review

Aloha to Hostel Traveler, yikes, I was saddened to read your review. And if what you say was true about your bed and bedding is true I'm irked at our staff who are supposed to be on top of keeping the entire hostel in super great and clean condition. You said your sheets were not clean? My goodness, you should...

Reviewed 16 August 2016

If a well kept hostel is what you are looking for, the Kauai Beach House is the place! I spent three days here during my trip to Kauai and it was my personal favorite. Great for travelers of all ages looking for a cheaper option than the hotels on the island. I would recommend the hostel to anyone headed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S P
Trak T, Guest Relations Manager at Kauai Beach House, responded to this review

Aloha, and super mahalo nui loa for the nice words, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Kauai BeacH House Hostel and we hope Kauai was as spectacular for you as it is for all of us alike on-island. Yes we hope to see you back for a visit also. All best to you, again, thank you. Trak

Reno, Nevada
Reviewed 11 August 2016

We really enjoyed staying at Kauai Beach House- the staff and the hostel itself were great! We (20 something couple) came Nov 2015 and had the ground floor private room (can't remember the name). I wouldn't say it was very "private" as the windows were just plastic slats, and numerous people walk in through the back gate right past your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank skjeezy
Trak T, Guest Relations Manager at Kauai Beach House, responded to this review

Aloha Skjeezy, thanks for the very nice and detailed review of the Kauai BeacH House Hostel. FYI. the windows you described are called "JALOUSY"...(not jealousy)...and are pretty much in most buildings in the tropics, because they provide 100% ventilation when open. Also they are intentionally low to the bed so as you can do just what you described...listen to the...

Spokane Valley, Washington
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

There were 3 of us who stayed here: my husband, me and our 20-year old son. Our son loved staying in the mixed dorm and waking up to the sunrise and ocean views. And I loved having a private room, unfortunately it didn't have any view. The staff is friendly and offered suggestions on activities. We were bummed that the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather G
Trak T, Public Relations Manager at Kauai Beach House, responded to this review

Aloha thank you for the nice review...I'm so sorry you did not get one of our private rooms with the ocean/lagoon views. Instead i hope you were able to enjoy our 3rd floor Whale Watching Blue Lagoon Lanai and the 3 decks with same views. Request a lagoon / ocean view room if you come our way again, which we...

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Stayed here last October for 10 days and had the most amazing time. Stayed in the girl's dorm at the back with a beautiful view of the ocean and big double beds. Had enough privacy in the bunk as you can put sheets around but also the most sociable and friendly hostel I've ever stayed in. Made really good friends...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzi P
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Its too easy to make friends and fall in love here. Chillest dudes and super hot wahine, all with class. Workers and tenants share all the exclusive sick adventure secrets with eachother and Bryan is one funny brada! Best deal with amenities, and never run out of fun things to do. The rapid, time lapse relationships and drama of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blake R
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

Truly a gem. Wake up to the sun rise and roosters crowing everyday in an open wall sleeping environment with beach wind gusts keeping you cool. Staff excellent and facilities were organized and better than expected. Bring shower flip flops. They rent towels and locks for $5 but you really do not need a locker. Everyone left their cell phones...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Prasad S

97 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.4 km away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
3.3 km away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.1 km away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#9 of 11 in Kapaa
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,130 reviews
14.0 km away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
669 reviews
2.7 km away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Kauai Beach House

Address: 1552 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746 (Formerly Kapa'a BeachHouse)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Price Range: ₹ 1,765 - ₹ 4,752 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach House Hotel Kapaa
Kauai Beach House Kapaa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kauai Beach House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Kauai Beach House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Mixed dorm or all female dorm faces the ocean, so has the best views.”
 of 5 bubbles 411elisabethm, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Girls room upstairs behind the kitchen is ok has the patio with view of the ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles 91guest, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“It looked like the downstairs dorms retained better daytime shade (for those who like to sleep later).”
 of 5 bubbles johnmV5740OH, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“get the couples room”
 of 5 bubbles wishp2016, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Private is not so private.”
 of 5 bubbles Katie349, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5