We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

514 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 434: English reviews
Start your review of Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
 Click to rate
San Dimas, California
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Comfortable, quiet room. Beach was steps from the hotel. Hotel restaurant/bar was awesome. I would definitely stay here again. The staff was super friendly and helpful. I will definitely stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 26,91,215
Owensboro, Kentucky
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My daughter and I stayed the week here. We loved the central location of this hotel. It was easy to navigate the entire island from here. While we did not have an ocean view, it was a short walk on the property to watch the sun rise at the beach each morning with plenty of lounge chairs. As we planned...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mamaloco
About Hotel's Favourite Review
AA H, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha! We are so happy to hear you and your daughter had a wonderful stay! We are delighted to know you enjoyed our fantastic location, comfortable accommodations and live entertainment. Thank you for taking a moment to share your lovely review, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon!

Kaarina, Finland
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here for a week. Because Kauai is a small island, we could take our car, head out and come back in the evening. The place is very nice and friendly right at the beach. Nice big rooms and we had good room in the second floor. First two night we struggled with a really loud ac but then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CallMeCaspian
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed there twice as I was traveling around the island. It ticks all the right boxes - clean, comfortable, reasonable noise insulation ( as per Kauai standards), great staff and yes, a beautiful beachfront location. Best of all, the rates are reasonable for a fairly expensive island. If you want to explore Kauai or even just chill on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank peergee
AA H, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha! Thank you very much for your glowing review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our comfortable accommodations, beautiful beachfront property and that you received excellent service from our friendly staff! We appreciate your positive feedback and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon! Mahalo and a hui hou!

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This resort was a pleasant suprise. Clean, open plan with a comfy bed, not much more wanted! The view from the balcony (Lei Wing) looked out over the pool with a corner view of the beach and the wing offerrd direct access to the beach. The only negative is the refrigerated aircon. Just gets colder all night with a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lou B
AA H, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha Lou! We are pleased to hear you had a pleasant experience and that you enjoyed our comfortable accommodations and beautiful views! We appreciate your feedback regarding your air condition and we will be sure to share it with our team as we are always striving to improve the guest experience. Mahalo for staying with us and we hope to...

northridge
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First of all I want to say we stayed here for one night and for free. We booked this place because we were landing really late and didn't want to drive on a strange island in the middle of the night. The hotel looked like an old apartment building. The lobby looked nice. The people were wonderful and kind. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hxa0063
AA H, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are pleased to hear you were warmly welcomed and received excellent service form our friendly and helpful staff. We are disappointed to learn about the aspects of your stay that were less than exceptional. Your valuable feedback regarding our accommodations, landscaping and pool area is greatly appreciated and we...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Older hotel getting upgraded. Great beach bar! Bathroom had tiny sink area and it was hard to regulate water temperature in shower. Staff was very nice and accommodating. We were working on clearing property for sale so leisure time was limited. Took a drive last day to what is known as Hawaiian Grand Canyon. While not far mileage wise it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LindaMac4143
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a beautiful spot, hotel right on the beach! We had breakfast on the beach every day. They offer free wifi and yoga and bycicle rentals! Was an excellent experience. The rooms were average, unfortunately lacked some cleanliness overall. We had a power outage one evening but was back on within an hour. Overall a beautiful experience for the traveller...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Celine M
Berkeley, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here in November 2016 in a room sold as "Ocean View". The room is set well back from the beach and is looking at it between 2 buildings. With a compass, I measured the angle of the ocean part of the view as being all of 14 degrees wide. We didn't see how any honest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alanmin
AA H, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha Alan! Thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful dining experience. We sincerely apologize for the misunderstanding with ocean view of your room, and are glad that the photos on our website accurately depict the ocean view. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you for an improved experience in the...

Aiea, Hawaii
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were visiting from Oahu overnight to attend a wedding near Princeville. I shopped around for what I thought was the best balance between price, location and reviews. This is beach hotel, meaning the hotel property fronts the beach although the buildings with the guest rooms are more set back from the beach. There seemed to be adequate parking, although...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaka_Frank
AA H, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha Frank! We are so happy to hear you had a wonderful experience with us! We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed our comfortable accommodations and that you received exceptional service from our incredible staff! We appreciate your valuable feedback and will be sure to discuss it with our leadership team so that we can offer an improved experience...

551 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (306)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (43)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (165)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (191)
Viewed
Beach (14)
Viewed
Double Room (42)
Viewed
Junior Suite (44)
Viewed
King Room (38)
Viewed
Main Pool (22)
Viewed
Pool (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
735 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy renovated accommodations at our beachfront, resort-like property situated along a secluded beach on Kauai's Royal Coconut Coast. Discover an array of popular nearby attractions including snorkeling and stand up paddle boarding, Wailua River kayaking, Wailua Golf Course, Coconut Marketplace Shopping Center and historic Kapaa town. The property features six beachfront acres of lush tropical lawns and gardens and two outdoor swimming pools included. Bicycle rental amenity is included with your hospitality fee. Join us for breakfast, lunch, happy hour, and dinner at our new restaurant Lava Lava Beach Club - a true "Toes in the Sand" dining experience right on the beachfront. For your convenience, our sundry is open 7 AM to 11 PM daily. Contemporary guest room accommodations feature sleek, retro-modern designs, vibrant island colors, island-style decor featuring mini-refrigerators, Keurig coffee makers, a blu-ray/DVD player and Playstation 3 console, private lanais and beautiful mountain, garden, pool or ocean views. With the daily Hospitality Fee, guests enjoy amenities including in-room coffee, outdoor yoga classes, Wifi Internet access throughout the hotel, unlimited movies and Playstation 3 games, use of beach towels and chairs, local and toll-free phone calls, in-room safe, a daily newspaper, luggage service (no overnight storage) and self-parking. Thank you for your patience while we renovate our main pool. Renovations will begin on 4/3/17 and completed by 5/16/17. The back pool will be open for use during this time. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel

Address: 420 Papaloa Road, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1449
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Price Range: ₹ 9,860 - ₹ 13,468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Sands Kapaa
Kauai Sands Hotel
Hotel Kauai Sands
Kauai Shores, An Aqua Hotel Kapaa
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kapaa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel staff and other travellers.
28 questions
Ask a question
Chandler
5 months ago
over a year ago
Santa Barbara
1 month ago
Albany, Oregon
4 months ago

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some ground rooms have the door facing outside. None have a serous Ocean View, even though it is an ocean front property.”
  • View from
Alanmin, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“ocean view or courtyard facing rooms”
honolulugrl, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We really like a first floor room facing the gardens. All rooms have patios.”
Buffie1314, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Spring for the deluxe pool view rooms, you won't be disappointed.”
  • First sunrise from our room
enomical, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We enjoyed the poolside rooms, which face inward towards the courtyard - sense of community”
471laceyl, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5