Hilton Grand Vacations Club Kohala Suites Waikoloa

Traveller (634)
Suite living area
Room & Suite (212)
Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 5 resorts in Waikoloa
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Superbly situated adjacent to championship golf courses, the premier location of Hilton Grand Vacations Club Kohala Suites Waikoloa provides an unsurpassed vacation setting. Hotel guests have access and charging privileges to the abundant facilities and amenities of the nearby Hilton Waikoloa Village hotel, including an enticing array of restaurants, boutiques, beaches and water recreation. Complimentary shuttle service is available between Hilton Grand Vacations, the Hilton Waikoloa Village, and area shops. Hawaii visitors staying at Hilton Grand Vacations Club Kohala Suites Waikoloa will enjoy spacious two bedroom suites which incorporate a casually elegant tropical style and feature a superb variety of upscale amenities and furnishings.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Tennis court
Kids stay free
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Poolside bar
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free shuttle or taxi services
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Spa
BBQ facilities
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Family Resort
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee
1,681Review74Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,036
  • 450
  • 116
  • 43
  • 36
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
VancouveriteKay wrote a review Aug 2023
Manchester, UK37 contributions60 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
You get the best of both worlds with this resort. The size of these units are perfect for larger families or just more space to spread out. It also provides access to the larger neighbouring Hiltons. We loved the free parking on site which allowed easy access to touring the whole island from here.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: August 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie F wrote a review Dec 2020
Seattle, Washington19 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Kohala suites are located in Waikoloa which is conveniently located to many wonderful beaches and some great shops and restaurants. We loved our room which was very clean on arrival and we thoroughly enjoyed the amenities which also were very clean throughout our stay. We felt like they were taking all the precautions necessary during the pandemic. They even went as far as to load and run the dishwasher with every piece of silverware and dish and left a note that that had been done to ensure all eating utensils were clean and safe to use. So thoughtful. We would happily return here and highly recommend to others.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: December 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GrandTour730470 wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wonderful stay at Kohala Suites on the Big Island of Hawaii. We highly recommend this to others. There was a golf course outside our window, shopping and restaurants close by. The two large bedrooms with individual baths made it easy for us to bring a friend.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HiltonGrandVacations, Front Office Manager at Hilton Grand Vacations Club Kohala Suites Waikoloa
Responded 4 Mar 2020
Aloha, thank you for your review and recommendation. We are so glad you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We hope for a future opportunity to provide another fantastic experience. David Remington Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Den2018A wrote a review Dec 2021
San Jose, California2 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The first night there my daughter woke up and said something was biting her. I went to her room and saw bed bugs on her sheet and pillow!

When I looked under the mattress, I saw a swarm of bed bugs between the mattress and box spring (what the hotel folks later called a "nest").

I called the front desk and the moved us to a different room. We had to take a couple of days of clothes with us, leaving the rest of our clothes, suitcases, etc. in the room for them to clean and return to us later.

I can't fault Hilton for having bed bugs; it seems like an increasing common occurrence nowadays. What I do fault them for is terrible housekeeping. I was able to see the bed bugs in.a second, just by looking underneath the mattress.

Their housekeeping should be looking underneath mattresses whenever they clean the room. Had they done so, they would have noticed the bed bugs and my daughter never would have been bitten, we wouldn't have the complete disruption we experienced that night.

We selected this Hilton as it was a premium property. We expected premium service commensurate with the premium price we we were paying.. In my opinion, they failed miserably in this area, they did not meet our expectations, and we'll never stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HGV Resorts, Owner at Hilton Grand Vacations Club Kohala Suites Waikoloa
Responded 30 Dec 2021
Aloha, thank you for your review. Our apologies for the service failures and disruption you encountered. Wishing you and your family a wonderful New Year. Thank you. Lori Ann Lehua Martinez Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sheila e wrote a review Oct 2021
3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent two evenings at kohala suits during our kids fall break. It was myself, my husband, and our 13,12, and 2.5 year old. It was an over all good stay, but it was with its downfalls. Our room wasn’t ready right at 4pm, but it was shortly after.
After finding our building, parking, carrying a good amount of luggage upstairs (all while keeping after a busy 2.5 year old) we found that our room keys did not work. So my husband had to run to the front desk and have new ones made.
When we finally got inside, it was very nice and spacious. My 2 year old found the balcony and of course wanted to go in and out. So we tried to lock the door to prevent him from being able to go out when he wasn’t supposed to be, but the lock was broken on the sliding balcony door. We put in a request for it, but never heard anything. We ended up having to block the door with one of the chairs. Not only was having the door not lock a security issue, but a huge safety issue because my toddler could have accessed the second floor balcony.
The first night at 12:30am, our smoke detector in the master bedroom started to beep every 20 seconds or so. Again, we have a toddler and him waking up in the middle of the night isn’t ideal and he was in the master with us. So after about 30 min of the beeping, someone came to look at it. So by 130am everything was back to normal and we were eventually able to get back to sleep (oh and we asked again about the balcony door while they were there, they couldn’t fix it, but said they would put a request in.
The next morning, however around 9am it began to beep again. So I went to the front desk and spoke with them again and in person about the locking issue. Within about 45 min someone was there to fix both issues
The second bathroom also did not have a shower curtain when we checked in, after calling about it someone was there within 20 min or so to drop one off.
The last issue that we encountered with ants. Which of course are bound to happen, but they did ruin a bit of food that we had there. We had pastries for breakfast and that morning there were ants inside them as well bread that we had.
It just seemed to be a lot of little things that began to add up, but it was a nice room.

My kids loved the pool, it was nice having a washer and dryer in the room, also a kitchen with plenty of pots/pans etc.
Over all I would recommend anyone with a family, who would be too smooshed to fit into a standard hotel room, to go to kohala suites. I just think we had a string of bad luck with some things. I would stay there again if we went back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian S wrote a review Feb 2020
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The apartment style suites and large and offer a great amount of privacy in between the two bedrooms. The large tub and modern showers in the room are amazing. The pool and hot tub at the Kohala Suites are great and the Shuttle service to all the other pools with waterfalls and lazy rivers runs every 15 minutes. Local restaurants and shopping are also available by shuttle service. Really a great place to base your whole Big Island Vacation.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RC30319 wrote a review Mar 2021
Atlanta, Georgia1,413 contribution516 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
First the good part. The units are large, well appointed, good views of the golf course etc etc. Really no complaints about the physical units and grounds. Very well appointed. Location is good also. It's not on the beach but you can get to the main Hilton Hotel easy enough, however the beach there is odd and actually faces a lagoon. There are better true ocean beaches close by. The main grocery store in the resort complex is frankly very expensive and it's better to drive a few miles to a more reasonable place - It's not far. There are lots of places to eat in the resort and surrounding area. You'll be about 20 miles from Kona so to visit there for dinner takes a little bit of planning, but the road is good and it's a pleasant drive. Lots of positives here.

However there are a few downsides you should be aware of. First the resort charges a resort fee of $25 a day plus taxes. While occupancy taxes are understandable, the resort fee isn't as it basically doesn't give you anything you either can't get yourself or should be included. It's rather like a money grab to be able to promote a lower rate online for booking incentives, and then raise the rate when you arrive. Especially since most of the resorts (including main competitors like the Marriott) on all the islands don't have one. On the money side also, at the main Hilton swimming pool, while if you want to sit in the sun you would be in heaven, but to need any shade it will cost you $100 (not kidding) to get a covered cabana. Rather greedy to provide the only real shade available at such a cost.

All in all we had a very nice stay and enjoyed ourselves greatly. Just can't go 5 stars because of all the hidden costs. If that doesn't bother you, then it would be a 5 star in your book.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dkm58 wrote a review Feb 2020
Medford, Oregon3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is our 6th or 7th stay here. The 2 bedroom condos are very comfortably appointed with great furniture, wonderful lanais overlooking the golf course and comfortable beds. We eat well out of the full kitchen, feel right at home on the grounds and thoroughly enjoy ourselves. We take morning walks (4 miles roundtrip) and walk along the ocean. It's serene and quiet, albeit nestled among other resorts. Mature grounds that offer some shade.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HiltonGrandVacations, Front Office Manager at Hilton Grand Vacations Club Kohala Suites Waikoloa
Responded 4 Mar 2020
Aloha, thank you for your feedback and continued loyalty to our resort. We appreciate you sharing the details of your experience and our amenities. We look forward to your next stay. David Remington Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Missy wrote a review Apr 2022
United States23 contributions22 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The 2 bedroom is not set up for 6 people. The kitchen has bare minimum dishes and cookware.
There are NO lounge chairs with umbrellas. I guess this way people don't rush out and hog them in the morning. If you want shade, rent a cabana. At the Hilton Waikoloa, a wonderful place with many pools, slides, etc, no free shade. You can rent a double lounger with a cover for $150 a day, but only in certain areas. One pool area had so many of them, they took up all of the prime spots and they were almost all empty. W are paying enough that you should be able to afford some umbrellas. Shame on you Hilton!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: March 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CanadaGirl2011 wrote a review Feb 2020
Edmonton, Canada54 contributions25 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
No view. Only view was the noisy pool. No real beach you have to walk 20-30 minutes to the Marriott resort or take the painfully slow shuttle to the shopping area and walk from there to enjoy a real beach. The lagoon is cloudy and visibility horrible so the “snorkelling” they advertise is nothing like their photos. It’s also a long walk or a slow shuttle (if you miss is another 30 minute wait for the next one) or drive 8 minutes and pay $50 to park. The rooms are just ok and only one BBQ worked (there are only 2) the night we wanted to BBQ. Location is very inconvenient and found it to be much windier here than further south. So many better options I suggest you do more research than I did.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HiltonGrandVacations, Front Office Manager at Hilton Grand Vacations Club Kohala Suites Waikoloa
Responded 3 Mar 2020
Aloha, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry you were disappointed with our location, we are not an oceanfront property, we offer golf course and resort view suites. We are sorry you had issues with the lagoon you visited offsite. Our complimentary area shuttle runs every 30 minutes from 7am-2:30pm and then runs every 15 minutes from 2:30pm-10pm daily. If you would like to discuss any other issues, please contact me at the resort 808-886-8700. Thank you for your review. David Remington Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from 126Michael
Atlanta, Georgia31 contributions35 helpful votes
"Walking distance" depends on your suite. Some are relatively close to the ocean and some are not. Our suite was probably close to a mile from the ocean so I would not have walked it.
Answer from 126Michael
Atlanta, Georgia31 contributions35 helpful votes
Our suite was not outdated at all. But the place is a mega-resort so there are quite possibly some outdated rooms.
Answer from AitutakiGirl
United States108 contributions48 helpful votes
No
Jeff N asked a question Aug 2023
27 contributions4 helpful votes
Is laundry and dishwasher soap provided?
Answer from 541franklinf
Pompano Beach, United States13 contributions11 helpful votes
Yes it is provided!
Tamai M asked a question Apr 2023
San Diego, California
Does the third floor has ocean view? Thank you.
Answer from lud
Appleton, Wisconsin5 contributions1 helpful vote
It's been over 20 years since we stayed there, so I don't recall if it does or not. It is a distance from the water, so any view will be long range.
tertiarydogSF wrote a tip 7 Apr
SF21 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you’re a person that enjoys low quality at rack rates this place is for you. It’s a budget resort. "
Read full review
Stuart G wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Tired rooms, not well maintained."
Read full review
sunlessinseattle0407 wrote a tip Feb 2024
Seattle, Washington17 contributions6 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"No restaurant on site. "
Read full review
Amanda M wrote a tip Oct 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you got sold a marketing package and must continue with your trip, please just double check the info you are given to plan accordingly."
Read full review
541franklinf wrote a tip May 2023
Pompano Beach, United States13 contributions11 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure to see how many kids are in your building or floor because of the noise! Try to get a 3rd floor unit which is on the top floor ! Make sure your unit is a remodel! "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Waikoloa area.
PRICE RANGE
₹32,828 - ₹46,576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hilton grand vacations club at waikoloa beach hotel waikoloa, hilton hotel waikoloa beach, hilton waikoloa, waikoloa hilton
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiIsland of HawaiiKohala CoastWaikoloa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
120
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HILTON GRAND VACATIONS CLUB KOHALA SUITES WAIKOLOA - Resort Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hilton Grand Vacations Club Kohala Suites Waikoloa
Which popular attractions are close to Hilton Grand Vacations Club Kohala Suites Waikoloa?
Nearby attractions include 49 Black Sand Beach (1.2 km), Queens' Market Place (1.0 km), and Waikoloa Beach Resort (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hilton Grand Vacations Club Kohala Suites Waikoloa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hilton Grand Vacations Club Kohala Suites Waikoloa?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hilton Grand Vacations Club Kohala Suites Waikoloa?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, a poolside bar, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hilton Grand Vacations Club Kohala Suites Waikoloa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hilton Grand Vacations Club Kohala Suites Waikoloa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Island Gourmet Markets, Kamuela Provision Company, and Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hilton Grand Vacations Club Kohala Suites Waikoloa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hilton Grand Vacations Club Kohala Suites Waikoloa?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Hilton Grand Vacations Club Kohala Suites Waikoloa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Puako Petroglyph Archaeological Preserve (4.0 km).
Does Hilton Grand Vacations Club Kohala Suites Waikoloa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Hilton Grand Vacations Club Kohala Suites Waikoloa accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Waikoloa HotelsWaikoloa Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Waikoloa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire