We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Volcano Hale

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Volcano Hale
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

227 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Volcano Hale
See the most recent reviews
Showing 203: English reviews
Waikoloa
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

This is a property remotely managed by someone completely off site. Everything as far as bath and kitchen are shared. Woke up one morning to dirty under ware and socks spread across the community dining table. Really, I am all about peace, love and happiness, but dirty hippies should stay in a tent. When we told the girl at the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nick R
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review Volcano Hale on Tripadvisor. We apologize that you did not have a great experience with us. Unfortunately, it sounds like you had some neighbors that did not have very good manners. We are sorry to hear that however, it is something that is very much out of our control. I believe that...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I had seen Volcano Hale advertised on Tripadvisor before I got to Hawaii but wasn't sure what day I would be at Volcano. The day I got there I hadn't booked accommodations before I got to the village of Volcano. I was in need of a place to stay, so I looked up the address of Volcano Hale, and got...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank minniglobetrekkergal
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for reviewing Volcano Hale on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found all the provided amenities helpful on your vacation here. As for the price, you are correct. There are different sizes of rooms with different sizes of beds at Volcano Hale so each one is priced accordingly. It is great...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I am usually not a fan of places with shared facilities, but in the case of the Volcano Hale it was just fine. The Volcano Hale is one a few places that belong to the same "collection". You check in at the Chalet Kilauea, and get directions to the Volcano Hale. The building is 102 years old, and absolutely gorgeous!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michanzl
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide comments and feedback for Volcano Hale on Tripadvisor. It's always great to hear about our guests' experiences while they were here and we are pleased that you had an enjoyable experience with us. Unfortunately, noisy neighbors are never fun so we apologize for any disruptions or inconvenience on their behalf. We definitely...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Volcano Hale for 3 nights - at first, we were very surprised when we saw the room - is was as big as a matchbox, but it was very cozy, clean, and well decorated for a comfortable stay. The bathrooms were shared, but they were newly renovated, clean, and there were three of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vladimir F
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale, responded to this review

Mahalo for reviewing the Volcano Hale!! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the room to be comfortable and clean. We realize that some of the rooms there may be a little smaller than some prefer. However, with that said, we are also able to provide the best rates for the area by providing just...

Kirkland, Washington
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This was our first time staying in a bed and breakfast-type place. It was a lot of fun. A bit of an adventure waking up and looking forward to the new faces I'd see in the kitchen. Amber, in the front desk, was particularly helpful and friendly. We liked her. The room we stayed at didn't have the most comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Micah V
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for taking your time to review Volcano Hale on Tripadvisor. It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and met some friendly people while you were here! Also, we appreciate the nice comments about the friendliness of our staff. We hope you will choose us again on any future trips to...

Rockford, Illinois
Reviewed 3 February 2014

1. Difficult to find after dark. 2. Do not like to share bathroom since I often have to get up at night 3. Best for short people as it is easy to bump your head 4. No chair to sit on. Thus difficult to change shoes and clothes

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roy D
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. Yes, it does get dark at night here and can be more difficult to find for some. We usually recommend getting here before dark but I realize that is not always possible. However, what makes us so unique is that we are not in the middle of...

Australia
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We checked into this hotel and were sent off to another property where we had one very small room with shared facilities. It was clean and quite comfortable but was just quite too small for luggage and walking around the bed but we only stayed one night so in the end it was too bad. Also it wasn't expensive. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Butterflygirl54
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We always welcome any comments or feedback from prior guests. I apologize for the neighbors that you had while you were staying with us. Some are not as respectful of others as they should be and it is unfortunate that you did not have the peace and...

Milan, Italy
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I'll try to write in english even though it's not my mother tongue (?) because i'd like my opinion would be usefull to someone who really could go there (i live on the other corner of the earth). the lodge is amazing itself and is located in one of the most beautiful places i've ever seen. the house and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank leonidaschultz
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to review Lokahi Lodge on Tripadvisor. For any future guests, this review was placed under the wrong property and should be under our other property, Lokahi Lodge. We are sorry for any confusion this may cause. However, we appreciate your positive comments and love to hear that you enjoyed your stay with...

MSP
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Excellent rainforest experience. No rooms alike. Great staff and grounds. Great trade off to the same old hotel experience. Highly recommend for a 3 day stay. Perfect location to volcano and village. Plus, local restaurants .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keo-joe
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for your review and recommendation of Volcano Hale. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the uniqueness of the rooms and were also able to enjoy the village and the local restaurants the village has to offer. We hope you will come back and see us on any future...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We went to Volcano Hale last January 2013, only for one night, before going to camp in Namakanipaio. We had the nene room and we really liked the room (yes it was tiny but we found it very cozy), the hotel itself, and the bathrooms and kitchen. We quickly regretted leaving it for the very poorly run campsites.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Giada D
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale, responded to this review

Aloha. It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us at Volcano Hale and thank you for taking your time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are happy to know that you found the room (although small) very cozy and that Volcano Hale provided everything you needed for your stay. We hope to see you again....

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.0 km away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
367 reviews
1.4 km away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
2.9 km away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.2 km away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
1.7 km away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
278 reviews
1.5 km away
Aloha Crater Lodge
Aloha Crater Lodge
#12 of 31 in Volcano
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cute budget property for travelers in search of comfort at a great value! This charming, historic, fully renovated 1912 property is complete with 3 floors and 4+ accommodations offering cable TV. Amenities include: free WIFI, common full mini kitchen for quick meal creations, and 2 clean, fully-stocked common bathrooms with showers. This property is perfect for travelers with an independent spirit in search of eco-friendly accommodations! Our sharing aspects uniquely provide the smallest impact upon the surrounding rainforest ecology. Back to Mother Nature, low-impact vacationing. 1 minute from shops, restaurants, and Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Volcano Hale

Address: 19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Price Range: ₹ 5,499 - ₹ 13,848 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Volcano Hale 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Volcano Hale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Hotel Volcano
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Volcano Hale staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Volcano Hale staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure you always lock your door when you're in your room-My fiance and I were walked in on twice while just hanging out in our room. The rooms are clearly marked, but people are nosy. It was a little unnerving. Just a doorhandle lock so I was a little worried about leaving some of our stuff in the room, but overall was a cozy little quiet place to stay the night. ”
 of 5 bubbles samueller1, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“A fun experience renting a little room with bathroom next door. Great kitchen facilities in an old quaint and charming house. Very clean and quiet!!! Nicely decorated. Cozy too!! Easy to find and park. I would definitely stay again. Great little residential area too. Very clean bathroom and updated. Easy to find and parking is good. Large kitchen and room for friends at the large table. Great restaurants and three groceries nearby. Quick deli too at grocery nearby with fresh made sandwiches. Volcano park is a short drive away. We enjoyed our time in this little village very much and survived a storm warning with no problem. A great place to meet other travelers too. Thai restaurant up the street. If you cook inside the house you do need to clean up after yourself. There is a refrigerator that you can keep food cold while you're there. Nice grounds too. You will be surprised to see how beautiful the area is. We would definitely stay again. We checked in in one location and stayed in another. We felt safe and assured that all would go well. You will get a good rest here after a day and evening at the volcanic park. Such an amazing sight. Much more than black rock there as it's located in a beautiful tropical forest. You'll enjoy these nice home stays for sure. Friendly staff and very helpful. ”
 of 5 bubbles 34zenav, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Be aware which facility you're booking, which will ensure you are certain about what room style/location to expect”
 of 5 bubbles jasonhY8812YP, 26 May 2016 | Read review
“Get your coffee bags from reception before you go to the house.”
 of 5 bubbles nelsonbrothersr, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“Three floors to choose from”
 of 5 bubbles wendy2838, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay