We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
3/9/2017 4/9/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Volcano Guest House

    11-3733 Ala Ohia Street, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    3/9/2017 4/9/2017
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in VolcanoSee available hotels in Volcano
    Traveller (45)
    Room & Suite (31)
    Dining (5)
    Overview
    • Excellent53%
    • Very good32%
    • Average13%
    • Poor1%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    “bagels” (22 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Suites
    Kitchenette
    Wheelchair Access
    Pool
    All hotel details
    Offers from Volcano Guest House
    Chalet Kilauea
    409 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Volcano
     
    Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
    1,800 reviews
    #4 of 7 hotels in Hilo
     
    Hilo Seaside Hotel
    1,043 reviews
    #3 of 7 hotels in Hilo
     
    Arnott's Lodge
    549 reviews
    #1 of 7 hotels in Hilo
     
    Write a Review
    Turn Your Opinions into Points!
    Turn your opinions into JPMiles
    Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
    *You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
    JPMiles / Payback Arrow
    JPMiles / Payback Arrow
    50
    Reviews (181)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    There are newer reviews for Volcano Guest House
    See the most recent reviews

    131 - 135 of 175 reviews

    Reviewed 10 October 2010

    This is a great place to stay when visiting the National Park! Pros: We stayed in one of the Twin rooms - comfy furnishings, clean and private - well equiped and very nice to come home to after a day out in the national park....More

    Thank GivemeaGumTree
    Reviewed 25 September 2010

    The Bed and accommodations here were fine and the price would have been fine EXCEPT, the second B at this place is terrible. I've never stayed at a Bed and Breakfast that didn't serve breakfast. I don't consider a do it yourself bagel and toaster,...More

    Thank kcbauer
    Response from vgh, Owner at Volcano Guest HouseResponded 29 September 2010

    We are very sorry you were disappointed. I cannot speak to the leftover coffee because we were away on vacation, but we had several people taking over for us. If you were there before about 6:30 am when the coffee is made and the breakfast...More

    Reviewed 12 September 2010

    My husband and I celebrated our Anniversary here from Waimea. We just love this place! Bonnie was so helpful the minute we walk into her house. She gave us tips where all the good spot to eat and places to go. The fact that she...More

    Thank Alaula
    Reviewed 1 September 2010

    It was our family's great pleasure to decide to stay at Alan and Bonnie's exceptionally lovely mountain retreat in Volcano, HI. They have both dedicated lots of time and love over many years into making their property exceptional. Set amidst a lush rainforest filled with...More

    Thank bfarkash
    Reviewed 16 August 2010

    Relaxing and peaceful visit with many opportunities for outdoor exploration. My room had a fully equipped kitchen and great wireless internet service. The owners were very friendly and generous and had numerous items you could borrow if needed - flashlights, gloves, bags, etc. I would...More

    Thank anonymous22833
    Chalet Kilauea
    409 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Volcano
     
    Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
    1,800 reviews
    #4 of 7 hotels in Hilo
     
    Hilo Seaside Hotel
    1,043 reviews
    #3 of 7 hotels in Hilo
     
    Arnott's Lodge
    549 reviews
    #1 of 7 hotels in Hilo
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    GreenLeadersPlatinum level
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
    • Room amenities
    • Microwave
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$ 115 - US$ 225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Kitchenette ,
    • Suites
    • Number of rooms
    • 11
    • Location
    • United States >
    • Hawaii >
    • Island of Hawaii >
    • Volcano
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (45)
    Room & Suite (31)
    Dining (5)
    Pool & Beach (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (45)
    Family and Play Areas (3)
    Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)
    Bathroom (1)
    Nearby
    Chalet Kilauea
    409 reviews
    3.46 km away
     
    Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
    1,800 reviews
    36.81 km away
     
    Hilo Seaside Hotel
    1,043 reviews
    36.54 km away
     
    Arnott's Lodge
    549 reviews
    38.59 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Tuk-Tuk Thai Food Truck
    281 reviews
    2.34 km away
    Volcano House
    1,235 reviews
    5.38 km away
    Kilauea Lodge & Restaurant
    1,213 reviews
    2.61 km away
    Uncle George's Lounge
    192 reviews
    5.40 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
    6,382 reviews
    5.42 km away
    Epic Lava Tours
    181 reviews
    2.12 km away
    Akatsuka Orchid Gardens
    349 reviews
    4.57 km away
    Nahuku - Thurston Lava Tube
    1,317 reviews
    3.42 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Volcano Guest House staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "Tree Top Suite is very good, can sleep up to 2 adults 2 kids"
    Read review
    "All are great."
    Read review
    "The property is VERY quiet - but if you don't like stairs, pick a room other than The Cottage."
    Read review
    "If want fast internet access, request room closer to office area"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing