We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
98 Apapane Rd, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4907
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$265
View deal
Travelocity
$265
View deal
Agoda.com
$250
View deal
Hotels.com$265
Booking.com$258
Priceline$268
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (137)
Room & Suite (42)
Dining (5)

About

#2 of 7 hotels in Hilo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Arnott's Lodge and Hiking Adventures is located in a delightful, tropical area minutes from the coastline. We offer a range of affordable accommodations from backpackers in one building, to deluxe rooms with private bathroom in another. In between these accommodation extremes we have semi-private/suites that include a shared bathroom and a kitchenette which makes family vacations affordable. We also incorporate a beautiful camp ground for campers. Inexpensive bike rentals are available. Arnott's also has its own tour division where lodge guests get substantial discounts on incredible adventures such as the summit of Mauna Kea, Volcano Twilight Tour, Puna Frozen Fire Tours and private or custom tours for your very own adventure. Come experience a relaxed Hawaii environment within walking distance to green sea turtles and swimming beaches. We hope to see you soon. Aloha
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Vending machine
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Clothes dryer
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Seating area
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Japanese
705Reviews5Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 369
  • 223
  • 54
  • 18
  • 41
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
h_nixon83 wrote a review Sep 2022
Indianapolis, Indiana107 contributions54 helpful votes
I absolutely hate leaving a bad review, especially when people are friendly and accommodating which they were. My husband and I stayed here one single night when we flew from Maui to Hilo for a day trip to volcanoes. I called a couple of weeks ahead to inform them that I would be arriving past 8 o’clock, and they were very accommodating with saying that they would notate it and then I would not be charged a late check in time. They were true to their word and did not charge a late check in fee. Upon arrival there was no one at the front desk, but a nice man, possibly the owner, found the person that would be assisting with check-in. The checking itself went very fast, and they directed us on how to get to our room. When we entered our room, room 6, it was absolutely nothing like the pictures or reviews has indicated. It was extremely dingy with a terrible musty odor. The musty odor wasn’t the worst part, even though I did have a hard time sleeping because the must felt like I could have an asthma attack at any moment. The worst part was the roach on our bed frame before we could even set our stuff down. My husband looked under the mattress only to find three more roaches. Honestly we should have packed up and slept in our car. Instead we slept in the bed and tried not to think about what might be crawling on us during the night. I know Hawaii has roaches, but the entire room was very unclean including the black in the shower corners, the carpet, musty smell, and wooden vanity in the bathroom with God knows what living under it! 100 dollars is affordable, but unsanitary is a deal breaker!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Arnott's Lodge, General Manager at Arnott's Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Aloha! You have already left a review on this on another site. We are unsure why you felt the need to leave another, especially since you did not let us know at any point during your stay or after checking out that there was an issue or that you felt anything needed to change. Your room was examined thoroughly and no insects were found. Our rooms are always cleaned thoroughly and this is something that not only do we take pride in, but it is frequently noted by other travelers. We will always do our best for our guests and try to provide clean and comfortable accommodations for guests that are also budget-friendly. In the future, if you have any issues with a room or feel something needs to be fixed, please let the establishment know so that they can help you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leslie Mirseyedi wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Aloha! My family took Arnott's Mauna Kea Stargazing (private) tour (they accommodate large parties as well) - it was sooooo amazing! Our tour host Donna is so friendly and well informed; she's very talented and complemented the breathtaking views from the top of Mauna Kea to our stargazing site - If you are visiting the Big Island, this is a "must do" activity. Memories last a lifetime. Thanks VIP Tour guide Donna. The staff at Arnott's - Siobhan & Lauren - for coordinating our tour and answering all our questions! Mahalo - Leslie, Mo, Leila & Scott (July 2022)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jaya V wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
Arnott's was easy to work with. Everything was clearly communicated upfront. Donna is an excellent tour guide. She could easily be your Science and History teacher in addition to being an excellent tour guide. Very courteous and customer friendly. Great experience overall on the sunset tour. -- Anupam & Jaya. 18 Jan 2022.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
LoveTraveletsn95 wrote a review Aug 2021
13 contributions4 helpful votes
Andras was our guide and this was the highlight of our superb Hawaii trip to Maui and Big Island! Andras provided all the extra info and care for altitude sickness anyone could need to make an awe inspiring place even more amazing. He helped us take some amazing photos of the night sky! He was funny and kind and very calm as he drove what we would have found to be a not fun drive to the summit! Couldn’t have had a better tour! Thank you Arnott’s and Andras!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
B E wrote a review Jul 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We toured Hilo then went to the summit of Mauna Kea, the highest point in the Pacific. Despite the sights being amazing, the greatest part of this tour was easily our tour guide David. His knowledge and passion about the region shone through. His stargazing tutelage was amazing. It changed how I will look at the night sky.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Sam K wrote a review Jun 2021
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Our group enjoyed this unique hotel, much more than we thought we would, The outdoor common areas were cute - they had board games, guide books, a TV and had a very communal feel, like staying at a hostel. Great place to stay on a budget. Clean, quiet, well run. We were mostly looking for a nice place to sleep and we were happy to have found this lodge.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Matt A wrote a review Apr 2021
Hermosa Beach, California448 contributions271 helpful votes
+1
I really enjoyed this unique hotel, much more than I thought I would, actually. It’s about a 15-min drive from the airport, in a jungly neighborhood within walking distance of Carlsmith and a few other beaches. You could probably walk to Hilo but it’d be a bit of a hike. The outdoor common areas were neat - they had board games, guide books, a TV and more. It had a very communal feel, almost international. I stayed in a queen suite and it was one of four private rooms in what seemed like some sort of lodge, which also had a common room. My room was small but it had a fridge, a little patio - everything I needed for a quick budget stay, except a TV. This maybe isn’t the type of place you’d stay if you came to Hawaii to vacation, but if you’re basically just looking for a place to crash for a few nights, this should work just fine. I enjoyed my two-night stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Rae wrote a review Jan 2021
81 contributions115 helpful votes
Great place to stay on a budget. Clean, quiet, well run. Not fancy. But who needs frills?? Internet can be slow or non existent. But that is not why people go to HI. Places to sit out side. Bikes to rent. Walk to the beach. Clean sheets and towels. Free off street parking if you have a car. This place is what it says it is, a budget place to stay at a fair price.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: I went for a private room with a bathroom. Nice to have my own place to sit out side and to...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Arnott's Lodge, General Manager at Arnott's Lodge
Responded 2 Feb 2021
Aloha! Mahalo for your review. We are happy to hear that you recognize and appreciate what we have to offer. We always do our best to keep our hotel clean, quiet, and safe for our guests. If you had an issue with our internet, we hope you will reach out and let us know so that we can look into it. Our internet is some of the fastest in Hilo and if there is a problem we'd like to know as soon as possible so that we can fix it for you. Thank you again for staying with us! We hope to welcome you back to Hilo again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mengjiao wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution5 helpful votes
We came to the place and found out the condition and hygiene is far worse than what's described online. When we came to the front desk asking if we can leave and get a refund, another customer came to complain about safety issue as the back door in her room kept getting unlocked and opened. After her complain the woman in charge agreed to refund us for both nights with some cleaning fees if we leave immediately without drawing attention from other customers. We packed our stuff and moved them back to the car, but she changed her mind claiming to charge one night as cleaning fees. We were in the room for less than an hour, barely touched the stuff in the room and took our own trash, it's ridiculous to charge that much cleaning fees. At that time we haven't booked a hotel to stay for the night, we were trying to argue for the refund she promised, but she was kicking us out as if it was our fault and threatened us calling the police. We left without knowing how much she would refund us and went to a Doubletree hotel in town. The much nicer hotel charges a very similar amount but much more reasonable. This is a hostel level place but charges at a hotel level, not true to the advertisement, with concerning hygiene and safety conditions. And the woman in charge doesn't keep her words.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Glory Arnott, General Manager at Arnott's Lodge
Responded 5 Jan 2021
Aloha! When flying to Hawaii we request that you don't leave your manners at home. Your treatment of our staff was awful, and you should be ashamed. This is a fact you seem to be aware of, since one of your group called the day after you left to apologize on your behalf, saying multiple times that she was sorry for how rude you all were to the staff on duty that evening. Our lodge is described precisely online, with complete photos and room descriptions. We have no issues with hygiene or safety here. You complained to our staff about insects and mosquitoes, when we are surrounded by tropical rainforest. You have complained multiple times about not getting a refund (which you are not entitled to) when the actual person who made the reservation and paid for it has not contacted us a single time to request one. No refund would ever have been issued to YOU in any situation, at any time, from us. If the guest who made the reservation has overcharged you personally, leading you to believe that you were staying at a 5-star resort, that is something you need to discuss with them. You were in the room for over an hour, you used the kitchen to cook your food, and you used the bathroom. You did not come down immediately and say the lodge wasn't to your liking and then leave. You used the room and the facilities. This was at night, when we have no ability to come and clean up after you and then resell the room to another guest. Additionally, the terms and conditions agreed to when the reservation was made AND agreed to by your group on check-in state that there are no refunds for early departures for exactly that reason. Our staff had to call the non-emergency police line because your group was continuously shouting at her and harassing her, demanding a refund that you are not even entitled to, even after she asked you to leave the premises. This is not the first instance we have had where guests have arrived at our hotel but the person who viewed our lodge online and made the reservation was not present. We describe what we offer in detail online, and we have the best reviews in our class of hotels on TripAdvisor. Again, if your travel agent overcharged you, you need to discuss that with them and not insult us for following our own clearly stated guidelines. No one from your group will be welcome at our lodge in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Isabelle D wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution3 helpful votes
I was one of 30 college students who had the opportunity to live in Hawaii for 3 months while starting my freshman year of college online. This sounded like a dream during this time of uncertainty with everything going on in the world with COVID. Little did I know how unwelcome I would be by the people who would be hosting us for our stay. From the start, the owners of Arnott’s created a hostile environment. They took advantage of the stigma surrounding college students thinking with that in mind they could get away with their rude behavior, but never should any owner of an establishment get away with speaking to their customers the way they spoke to us. They would openly make snarky comments to us for issues that seemed of minor inconvenience. As some of the other students have mentioned in other reviews I too witnessed Glory, one of the owners of Arnott’s, blatantly called one of my friends “stupid for being in college” for mistakenly leaving the door open while the AC was running. He just happened to be the closest of his roommates’ insight as Glory marched over to their room and continuously harassed him for no reason other than to be a bully even after he apologized multiple times. I myself had an encounter similar to this as Doug, the other owner of Arnott’s, quite literally called me a disease. This was unwarranted as I had my mask on when I politely asked Doug if he would mind if I could look for a package I was waiting for in the pile of mail. He answered me by saying, “ as long as you don’t get too close”. I half took this as a joke as I carefully stepped forward to give him a chance to back up and as he does he continues to blabber on about how “you are bringing this disease on the island” and how “you are a risk to us as your the ones carrying the virus and not being careful enough ”. To give some more context, this was after we had all quarantined for the full 14 days and made the greatest effort to protect our 30 student bubble to ensure we wouldn’t ruin our experience. I can only reiterate what others have already said, but I am very disappointed by the way we were continuously blamed for issues that were in no way our fault. The washer and dryer machines would break or not work for pretty much every load, but it was always “why are you putting so much laundry in”. The old, rundown bikes that they provided and assured us were in good condition would break down multiple times while riding them, but we were responsible for WALKING the two to three miles back from town if we couldn’t figure out how to fix them. I should also mention that Arnott’s was supposed to clean our rooms weekly, but made the conscious decision against that for safety reason with the virus, which was understandable. However, once we got home some thousands of miles away we were bombarded with charges. Some as much as $1,500 with some of those charges being appliances we never began with or “cleaning charges” when that is a service that should be free with such an establishment when promised. They asked us to treat them with respect, but that respect was not reciprocal. It saddens me that such an exciting experience was met with such distaste by the people who were getting a great deal of money at a time when others were struggling financially. I do understand that this is a scary and challenging time, but their behavior went beyond what is acceptable. I would like to mention the people who were able to somewhat make up for the outrageous behavior of the owners. Sarah (the manager) was always so kind and understanding and would give us the benefit of the doubt when there were any issues. The security guard and the landscaper who we saw daily also engaged in friendly conversation with us.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Glory Arnott, General Manager at Arnott's Lodge
Responded 10 Dec 2020
Aloha Ms. DuMontier; mahalo for your time. We are sorry to hear that you felt unwelcome after receiving a bill for damages your group caused to our hotel. As we have already noted, Glory did not call your friend stupid. She told him that as a college student, he should be smart and should know better. This interaction only came about after multiple days of being asked to keep his outside door closed and his suite failing to do so. Our staff witnessed this exchange. Our laundry machines may be old, but no dryer is able to fully dry a load that has been stuffed so full the clothing is unable to rotate. We asked your group multiple times to not pack so many clothes in, and if you were going to do so, to not be surprised that the clothes weren’t dry afterwards. Regarding the dryer that did end up breaking: it was replaced as soon as we were able to get the replacement shipped to us. We apologize that it took so long, but we didn’t have any control over how fast the barge moves. Arnott’s Lodge never had the agreement with Pacific Discovery to clean your rooms weekly. Our initial plan was to provide in-house only, which would have meant taking out your trash and providing fresh linens as needed, and possibly light touch ups. Cleaning your rooms was never on the table and if you were told that, you were lied to by Pacific Discovery. Additionally, Pacific Discovery told us that they planned on you being able to clean up after yourselves as if you were living in a dormitory. It was never going to be our responsibility to clean up after you. Once we saw that your group was not following COVID guidelines regarding mask wearing and social distancing, we chose not put our housekeepers inside your rooms in that kind of danger during a time when COVID is such a concern. Pacific Discovery was billed directly for damages to the rooms and it was their decision to pass these charges on to you. Pacific Discovery was only assessed a cleaning fee if you left your room in a state that took far beyond our normal turnaround time to clean, or if you left bodily fluids on our walls and foul language stained into our paint: all things that occurred in some suites. Pacific Discovery was only assessed a charge for damages if it was something that went well beyond normal wear and tear; such as holes in the walls or melted tabletops. We do not feel as though these charges are unreasonable and if you had left an apartment in such a state you would never have received your security deposit back. We are sorry that you felt you were not treated with respect, and we are sorry that we felt as though you disrespected us. We wish you the best in the future. -Arnott's Lodge Staff
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$140 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
arnott`s hotel hilo, arnotts hotel hilo
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiIsland of HawaiiHilo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Arnott's Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Arnott's Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Carlsmith Beach Park (1.4 km), Lyman Museum (5.3 km), and Big Island Candies (3.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Arnott's Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and self serve laundry.
Which room amenities are available at Arnott's Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Arnott's Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Arnott's Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Paul's Place, Two Ladies Kitchen, and Moon and Turtle.
Are any cleaning services offered at Arnott's Lodge?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Arnott's Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Japanese.
Are there any historical sites close to Arnott's Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kaipalaoa Landing (4.8 km).
Is Arnott's Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.