We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton

PricelineUS$ 142*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 182*
US$ 142*
Great Deal
US$ 147*
US$ 147*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Professional photos
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

317 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
See the most recent reviews
Showing 298: English reviews
Kapaau, Hawaii
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

Hilo has been a place that has not been known to have good hotels as most of the attention on the island has been on the kohala coast of the island. Nonetheless, I was curious to see how far this hotel came since several years ago when I stayed here. It's only been a few weeks since this hotel became...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leighton P
GrandNaniloaHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

Dear Leighton P. Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience while staying at our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us but have also noted some of your advice and will definitely take them into account to better serve our guest. We hope to see you again in the not...

West Chester, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 22 December 2016

I booked my room in November, shortly after they finalized becoming a Double Tree hotel. I tried to call the hotel several times before I booked my room; they never answered the phone. Eventually I gave up and just booked online without my questions being answered in advance. I used the Hilton app to check into my room (Probably a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank paula b
John-HiltonHelp, on behalf of the staff at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

Dear paula_wc, Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We’re very sorry that you encountered an unacceptable level of service both before and during your stay. We do our best to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We’ve addressed these issues with our staff and will reach out to you shortly...

Bend, Oregon
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

Newly remodeled rooms were nice, spacious and clean. Beds were very comfortable and we slept like a rock. The windows open so you can hear ocean sounds (or parties down below). Our air conditioning worked perfectly. The bathroom was large and had beautiful tile. The shower head in the tub was funky(small, didn't stay put). The bay view rooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chowa-Rides-Again
GrandNaniloaHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am happy to hear you found our Hotel and amenities to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future!

Reviewed 22 December 2016

We booked this hotel for our stay for December 5 through Expedia. Upon checking out, the hotel gave us a bill for the stay. We told them that we have already paid for the stay through Expedia and even showed the payment confirmation. Then we were issued a refund. When we checked the credit card statement a week later, the...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank LoveTravel3777
GrandNaniloaHotel, Front Office Manager at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your review. I'm so sorry that we charged you twice for your stay. We are currently going through a transition period and our staff is being re-trained. We also have several different categories of rooms with a balconies please try us again. Mahalo

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 December 2016

We had a terrible experience at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo. Before checking out, we noted abnormal holding charges on credit card statement and raised this with the front desk staffs, assured by two staffs (Glen and Dale) that hotel only held standard incidentals and no additional cost will be charged, based on their assurance, we checked out without further clarifying...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Richard L
GrandNaniloaHotel, Front Office Manager at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

Dear Richard L, Please call us directly so we may look into the details and resolve this immediately. We apologize that this has taken so long to correct. We have verified our statements and this should have already been credited. Please call the GM's office so we can make it right.

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

Friendly staff, clean room, comfortable bed. We stayed only one night and enjoyed our stay. Room was tiny but had great views. There is a window between the bedroom and the shower. Don't understand the purpose of it, just feels weird.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adriana B
GrandNaniloaHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

Dear Adriana B. Mahalo for your kind words and wonderful review. We hope to see you in the not to distant future.

Reviewed 20 December 2016

As we wanted to stay close to a meeting being held, we chose the Naniloa. Check in was easy, the room clean and the view of the bay lovely. We didn't spend much time there so the rest of the amenities we did not experience. It's a bit pricey for the average traveler.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
GrandNaniloaHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

Thank you for you wonderful review, we are very thankful to have such a beautiful property that is along the Hilo bay. We are glad you enjoyed it and hope that your able to visit us again soon. Mahalo Nui Loa

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 19 December 2016

This recently converted hotel to Doubletree needs more work. The rooms are nice but won't stand the test of time, the shower head already hanging loose. The balcony and the view are fantastic, walking to the park nearby wonderful. The breakfast is simply pathetic as the service, cold coffee, paper in the scrambled eggs, replenishment of fruits you have to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank J0hanne_20
GrandNaniloaHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We are so sorry we fell short of your expectations. We hope to use your experience to better improve our guest experiences. We hope that you will reconsider staying with us in the not too distant future.

Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 19 December 2016

" Grand " is not a word to use lightly when talking about a hotel because it easily becomes misleading. This Double Tree Hotel has been refurbished but not entirely renovated: windows are the same, old air conditioned at an ackward and uncomfortable place still remains...these are some of the examples. The furniture in the bedrooms is new, beds are...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Maria G
John-HiltonHelp, on behalf of the staff at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

Dear Maria G, We’re sorry we didn’t provide the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for the issues encountered throughout your visit, and we’re working with our team to ensure the items mentioned will be handled with our ongoing renovations. If you return to our area, we hope you’ll stay...

Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 17 December 2016

We stayed for 6 days and did not want to leave! The beds were so comfortable. Views were amazing. Staff were all friendly and very helpful. Parking was easy and it was in close enough distance to everything we needed.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mztique808
GrandNaniloaHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am happy to hear you found our Hotel and amenities to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future! Mahalo.

177 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (137)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
0.2 km away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
98.2 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.7 km away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
84.8 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
96.3 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
88.8 km away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Conference Facilities
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience the relaxed pace of Hawaii Island when you stay at the newly renovated Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton, located near downtown Hilo's quaint shops and eclectic restaurants, and the Hilo Airport. A favorite destination of both kamaaina and visitors for generations, the newly renovated waterfront hotel welcomes you with modern and stylish accommodations, an outdoor pool, a 9-hole golf course, and 24-hour front desk. Experience warm island hospitality for a truly unforgettable stay in the charming town of Hilo on the Big Island. FREE amenities include: FREE Round of Golf daily, FREE Parking, and FREE WiFi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 93 Banyan Dr, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4632 (Formerly Grand Naniloa Hotel)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Price Range: ₹ 7,951 - ₹ 15,191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naniloa Volcanoes Hotel Hilo
Hawaii Naniloa Hotel Hilo
Naniloa Volcanoes Hilo
Hi Naniloa Hotel Hilo
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree By Hilton Hawaii
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton staff and other travellers.
31 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Updated rooms, facing the bay”
MrB003, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Unless you choose a lanai room you may have A/C problems.”
irene_dwyer, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room with lanai”
denstewvlad, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“ask for ocean views, it is well worth it!”
Jenpick, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“OK for sleeping. Not much else.”
120francesp, 16 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$ 142* /night
View Deal
Doubletree.comUS$ 147
Hotwire.comUS$ 147
CancelonUS$ 182
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates