We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

27 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 26: English reviews
Long Beach, California
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel was located in the best possible location In Hilo. This is the first time in all our visits to the islands that we opted not to have a rental car. We could not have chosen a better spot. We rarely wanted to leave our balcony in the hotel. Every room in Grand Naniloa faces spectacular views of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evelina62
Honokaa, Hawaii
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I love the renovation within the rooms. Absolutely beautiful especially with its view. Though there a few problems with the showers, front desk quickly helped with the situation and moved us to another room with free breakfast. So in the end I have nothing negative to say about my stay, front desk handled the situation quickly and I'm grateful for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shygridley
GrandNaniloaHotel, General Manager at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the nice review and are happy our staff took good care of you! Hope to see you back soon!

Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is an amazing property, with amazing rooms and views. The work out facility is top notch, the lobby is stunning and the customer service is outstanding. Definitely a place to stay if you are on the Hilo side of the Big Island!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hawaiiankitty
GrandNaniloaHotel, General Manager at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review! We hope this will be only one of your many trips to Hilo and you will once again be our guest!

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

If you want to make 5 phone calls to not get the room you booked, be lied to by reservations, show up at the hotel and put in a single room when you have a family, have no blankets or towels for your child, a broken coffee maker,which is fine because you have no coffee, face the parking lot when...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Natasha M
GrandNaniloaHotel, General Manager at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

We work hard to extend excellent service and apologize for your inconveniences. We will look into your comments immediately to see where we will improve. Thank you for your feedback.

Kamuela
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great renovated property. Beautiful location. The team is still brushing up on some Hilton programs but it was a great property and can't wait until it's renovation is totally completed, I will definitely be going back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrishfromtheD
GrandNaniloaHotel, General Manager at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

Thank you. We are happy you had a wonderful time and that you will be back! Aloha!

kailua kona, United States
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have stayed many times, wathcing this hotel go through fantastic transformation from one in very bad shape to a beautiful hotel in a really nice location. Staff is super friendly. When it is sunny, the views are world class.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William B
GrandNaniloaHotel, General Manager at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

Mahalo for the great review! Yes, we love the fabulous view we have of the Bay!

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

i wouldn't stay anywhere else. room is gorgeous. lobby is modern and open and fun. front desk friendly and accommodating. they let me check in hours early. my room is fabulous. white on white. floor to ceiling window overlooking bay. bed is cosy and looks like high quality bedding. also looks like they have kayaks paddle boards and bikes on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mari L
GrandNaniloaHotel, General Manager at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

Mahalo for the excellent rating. We look forward to your next visit with us!

Honolulu, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The grounds of the hotel is very beautiful. The lobby is new and updated. Rooms are clean and it came with a microwave, refrig and coffee maker. It did not have iron to press clothing if you are here for a conference. A cookie was provided at check in, and the staff seem to be very accommodating.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank radf0rdr
GrandNaniloaHotel, General Manager at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the nice comment on our renovation and especially our clean rooms. Our Housekeeping staff works very hard to maintain the DoubleTree standard of cleanliness. Irons and iron boards are delivered quickly and easily on request. We want to give more room in our closets for your belongings so it just takes a quick call and...

Honolulu, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Naniloa is recently renovated and I hope that the bugs are still being worked out. The staff did not greet us or help us with our bags, we asked to store some refrigerated items to be stored in their kitchen and was told the fridge was not working, the hallways smelled of paint, the toilets did not flush everything...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 638rodneyb
GrandNaniloaHotel, Front Office Manager at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

Our apology for the inconvenience during your visit while we were transitioning over to Doubletree. We did not meet your expectation and we are sorry we did not deliver our service promise. We are continually training to improve so please give us another opportunity to extend our Hilo aloha and service on your next trip. Mahalo for your feedback.

Honolulu
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Naniloa hotel was beautiful and had been renovated very well. However, we encountered a front desk clerk by the name of "Marieta" who was extremely rude and had an attitude unbecoming of someone who was supposed to be acting professionally and welcoming to the hotel. She snapped at us and started arguing with one of our travelling guests and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vladimir D
GrandNaniloaHotel, General Manager at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

We apologize for service failure demonstrated by one of our employees and please be assured this is not representative of our friendly staff. We pride ourselves on our true Hawaiian hospitality and we have taken steps to prevent this service failure from reoccurring again in the future. Please contact me directly when you plan your return trip to Hilo so...

72 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
0.2 km away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
0.7 km away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
2.7 km away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
98.3 km away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
96.3 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
88.8 km away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Conference Facilities
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience the relaxed pace of Hawaii Island when you stay at the newly renovated Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton, located near downtown Hilo's quaint shops and eclectic restaurants, and the Hilo Airport. A favorite destination of both kamaaina and visitors for generations, the newly renovated waterfront hotel welcomes you with modern and stylish accommodations, an outdoor pool, a 9-hole golf course, and 24-hour front desk. Experience warm island hospitality for a truly unforgettable stay in the charming town of Hilo on the Big Island. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 93 Banyan Dr, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720 (Formerly Grand Naniloa Hotel)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Price Range: ₹ 7,833 - ₹ 16,755 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naniloa Volcanoes Hotel Hilo
Hawaii Naniloa Hotel Hilo
Naniloa Volcanoes Hilo
Hi Naniloa Hotel Hilo
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree By Hilton Hawaii
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for room 626 for good views.”
 of 5 bubbles TravellingCat2014, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
1 of 1
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay