We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
730 South Main Street, Lusk, WY 82225
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
ZenHotels.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (100)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 02/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 02/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 4 hotels in Lusk
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
When in Lusk, stay with us! Large indoor pool, hot tub & sauna. Complimentary breakfast. Free wireless internet from your room. Basketball, shuffleboard & workout equipment. Large park area with new playground equipment, lounge chairs, hammocks, and patio with BBQ grill. Stay with us and enjoy warm Western hospitality, comfortable accommodations, and outstanding service. All of our 51 clean and spacious rooms are furnished with hair dryers and coffee service, and several rooms are equipped with microwaves and refrigerators, down bedding, irons/ironing boards. There are several restaurants within walking distance. Outdoor plug-ins for plugging in your vehicle are available for an easy winter morning start. Our newly remodeled Niobrara Room is the perfect place for your next family gathering or meeting. We also have unique souvenirs and gifts available in our recently added gift shop. When in Lusk, stay with us…..Satisfaction guaranteed!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Children's playground
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Electric vehicle charging station
Secured parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Vending machine
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Business Centre with Internet Access
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Soundproof rooms
Telephone
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
222Reviews1Q+A21Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 116
  • 73
  • 24
  • 5
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Nicole R wrote a review Aug 2019
Eau Claire, Wisconsin13 contributions3 helpful votes
After a long day on the road, we stumbled across this little gem. Staff was so friendly! Room was quiet, clean and comfy. Bed was soft. Fridge and microwave in room. Nice outside courtyard, basketball court & small playground. Dry sauna, hot tub. Pool was really cold. Breakfast dining room was large & clean. Good selection for breakfast including 4 kinds of cereal, biscuits & gravy, oatmeal, waffles, toast, muffins, bagels, yogurt, fruit, juice, milk, and coffee. We'd recommend this hotel, for sure!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Sam7307, Manager at Rodeway Inn
Responded 3 Nov 2019
Thank you for this review....Hope to see you again if you are in our town!
Read more
Tammy J wrote a review Jul 2019
Jackson, Mississippi30 contributions5 helpful votes
The motel is older but well maintained. We were initially content with the room. It is large and included all we needed for the one night we were there. It has a quaint pool/spa/hot tub area, a playground and a basketball court. It would be fun for a family. I was a little disappointed that the water in the bathtub wouldn't get hot. It stayed lukewarm, like the water heater wasn't keeping up. That wasn't a big deal, as we have that problem at home some time and just deal with it. At bedtime, we started removing pillows and I thought the pillowcases looked wrinkled like someone had slept on them. We bring our own pillows so I put those on the floor and moved on. When I pulled the covers back, there were hairs and what looked like a piece of dorito on the fitted sheet. I am 100%
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Sam7307, Owner at Rodeway Inn
Responded 3 Nov 2019
Thank you for this review. We absolutely agree that spotlessly clean sheets must be a top priority at any motel. Dirty sheets are unacceptable. The housekeepers that we had during your stay are no longer with us, and we will make sure that does not happen again. So sorry you had to experience this, and thank you for making us aware of the problem. May all your future stays at motels never include dirty rooms or sheets!
Read more
Andy J wrote a review Jul 2019
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom804 contributions53 helpful votes
We stayed here for one night on a 3 week road trip from Denver to Yellowstone and the Black Hills. Having had our booking across the road cancelled, The Covered Wagon came to our rescue at the last minute. Thank you. The accommodation was basic and the pool chilly but what's not to like about a motel with covered wagons in the grounds! Food choices in Lusk were very limited.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Sam7307, Owner at Rodeway Inn
Responded 3 Nov 2019
Thanks for this review! (Just so you know, our pool heater has been repaired, and it is now 82 degrees.) Have a great day, and thank you!
Read more
Steven Mlodinow wrote a review Jun 2019
Longmont, Colorado42 contributions22 helpful votes
I stayed with a friend for 3 nights at America's Best Value Inn in Lusk this month. I wish that i had not. Their wi-fi was down, which happens, but promises that it "will be running tomorrow" or once, "It will be working in 15 minutes" never materialized. The place was also noisy. I like the idea of a basketball court on the grounds, but in summer, that mean noise right outside my door past 9 pm. I could hear the pipes thumping when my neighbors turned on their water. The only sign of the room having ever been visited by staff was the garbage having been emptied. Bed not made, towel still on floor, etc. Ugh
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sam7307, Owner at Rodeway Inn
Responded 3 Nov 2019
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We are extremely sorry for your disappointing stay here. Please know that we are listening to all complaints and attempting to make things better here. For instance, the two housekeepers that were employed here during your stay had a difficult time with their jobs, and are no longer with us. Unfortunately, our WI-FI has always been subject to ; a) weather, and b) our service provider. We have been attempting for some time to get new WI-FI service, and have been told that all the infrastructure will be in place for that to operate on Dec. 10. 2019. We hope and trust that this will be a "real" date for that new service. we do understand your disappointment, and, again, thank you for sharing that with us. Hope all your stays in motels are better in the future.
Read more
F4131KMjamesr wrote a review Jun 2019
Saint Gabriel, Louisiana7 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed here for 3 nights. Never again. The "free WIFI" never worked, and this was critical to uploading our daily survey data. We were told on the first night that it would be fixed the next day, That was an outright lie. The next afternoon, we were told the WIFI would be fixed in 45 minutes. Another outright lie. The final night, we were told it would be fixed in a few days. If the manager had been honest with us the first night, we would have switched motels. Obviously, his strategy worked short-term, because we actually believed him. More generally, at $130/night, this place is exceptionally overpriced (although that applies to Lusk in general). For that price, one would at least expect beds and towels to be changed daily --- this wasn't done until our final
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Coveredwagon1, Manager at Rodeway Inn
Responded 22 Jun 2019
We are greatly sorry for your dissatisfaction during your stay here! we know that, in this day and age, WI-FI is crucial to many. We would like to just explain that what we told you about the problem being fixed was not an outright lie, as far as we knew. We were passing along information that our provider kept promising us. We were in such hopes that it would be fixed for you when they promised us. We do wish you could have taken advantage of the offer to use our office computer for as long as you needed. Each time we offered, you declined. We also offered not just a partial refund but a total refund for your 3 day stay, and that we would take care of the service fee that Booking.Com charged us. That was also declined. Again, we are so sorry for your bad experience here. We try as hard as we can to accommodate all of our guests needs. I wish we could control our technology at all times. We will be happy to offer you a free night's lodging with us in the future, any night we are not sold out. Sincerely and with deepest regrets, Sam
Read more
Stay26467080754 wrote a review Jun 2019
Lake Worth, Florida3 contributions
No complaints. Room was comfortable and met our needs for a quick overnight stay (roll-away bed provided & ADA with handicap parking nearby). Thank you for making the arrangements. Especially liked seeing the covered wagon from the movie Far & Away. Told my granddaughter we'll watch the movie together when we get back home. PS The Pizza Place up the street was a good dinner choice.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Sam7307, Owner at Rodeway Inn
Responded 4 Sep 2019
Hello Guest, Thank you for your 5 star feedback. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed a stay.Hope to see you again!!
Read more
Destiny W wrote a review Apr 2019
Dickinson, North Dakota15 contributions8 helpful votes
Stated here since the Tesla chargers are located here. Very friendly and helpful staff (they even offered a cup of coffee as I was initially just going to charge my car and continue on my way), clean rooms and wonderful breakfast in the morning. I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again traveling though!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Helpful
Share
Ward J wrote a review Nov 2018
Terry, Montana69 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
Pool & hot tub to relax. Nice picnic & play area. Wifi good continental breakfast great rates. Clean rooms bigger than normal hotels. Table & desk in rooms. Great staff. Very clean. Tesla charging terminals! Close to many great restaurants. We stay at least once a year. Always a great experience. Oh there is a sauna & exercise machine too.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Helpful
Share
Pete R wrote a review Oct 2018
Silverthorne, Colorado267 contributions89 helpful votes
This hotel was clean and comfortable and in a good location. Easy walking distance to places for lunch or dinner. Good location to start off the next day’s travel into the Black Hills, Custer Park, Crazy Horse and Mt. Rushmore.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Helpful
Share
Thelionroars wrote a review Oct 2018
kent35 contributions12 helpful votes
Nice clean motel. We stopped here for a night on the way to Custer from Loveland and pleased we selected it. Breakfast was included in the price which consisted of the usual muffins, yoghurts, toast, waffles, cereals etc. Large rooms and comfortable bed and well looked after despite being an older type of mote and reasonably priced. Lusk doesn’t seem to have many restaurants but the cafe as you drive in from the south has a good varied menu and the food was good.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
PRICE RANGE
$75 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Covered Wagon Motel
LOCATION
United StatesWyomingLusk
NUMBER OF ROOMS
51
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing