We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Historic Plains Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Historic Plains Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

593 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Historic Plains Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 556: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2014 via mobile

I knew Cheyenne was above 6000ft. What I didn't know was how close it brought me to heaven. The location of the white plains hotel offered stunning views of the city. The Native American decor was unforgettable. Although there was no fitness center, the stairs provided a unique form of exercise. The fully opening windows in our room provided a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Acollie9
plainshotel, Sales Administrator at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback about the Historic Plains Hotel. Your feedback is important to us as it enables us to continue providing our guests with excellent customer service and great accommodations. We enjoyed reading your comments as we enjoy working in a national historic landmark that is so rich in history and stories of yesteryear. The hotel... More 

Henderson, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2014

I was booked at this property on business by my employer, so I did not have my choice of where I was staying. That being said, it was a mixed experience, some bad, some good, so it balanced out to average. I had a 3rd floor room, near the back of the hotel. There was no view to speak of,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
plainshotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Historic Plains Hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback as it enables us to work with our staff at improving our customer service and accommodations. We're glad that you had an overall positive experience with us, but we apologize for any expectations that were not met such as how your room was presented... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2014 via mobile

The building is historic and 103 years old. The lobby is awesome and both the restaurant and bar were awesome with great friendly service. The hotel service was equally as good. The room was a bit small but was very clean. Linens and towels were spotless. I would rather stay here than a holiday inn anyday. There is also quite... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brian Y
plainshotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Historic Plains Hotel. We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and we'll be sure to share your positive comments with our staff. Your feedback is important to us as it helps us to continue offering our guests the best accommodations and superior customer service. It is great to be a part of Cheyenne's... More 

Minden, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2014

When we walked into the Lobby we could feel the historic ambiance of long ago. So much history and art surrounding this property. If you like being taken back in time this is a spot to visit. The room was spacious, bed was comfortable. The Capital Grille was a nice experience. Terrance, the manager, was very knowledgeable and gave great... More 

Helpful?
Thank sharon s
plainshotel, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Historic Plains Hotel. We greatly appreciate the positive feedback you shared with us, as this helps us to maintain, and even improve, upon our customer service and guest accommodations. We're so pleased that you enjoyed eating at the Capitol Grille. And the positive feedback you shared about Terrence and our staff in... More 

Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2014

The room was small and dirty, the bed harder than the floor, the bathroom bad and the only thing historic was the non parking (except for 4 blocs away) and the customer service. Took 55 minutes to get breakfast and it was non-edible........we would up at McDonalds and got better food. Stay Away!

Helpful?
Thank Phil W
plainshotel, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you had a bad experience with us and that we didn't meet your expectations. I will address your issues with our staff, particularly the front desk and housekeeping. Your feedback is very important to us as it helps us to ensure better customer service and accommodations for our guests, and to address any and all... More 

White Oak, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at The Plains 10/18/14. It's a neat place, with tons of character. Real wood floors, big windows, the old Wild West coming back to life. Allegedly, it's haunted. Some street noise until late, floors squeaked a little, but definitely a place we'd stay again!! Staff was friendly and helpful. Location was awesome, in old downtown... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JanineAmy_12
plainshotel, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us! We always appreciate receiving positive feedback from our guests! By sharing your comments and feedback it allows us to address any issues and to encourage our staff for their hard work. If the noise disrupted your sleep, you can request to get an interior room next time. The interior rooms are... More 

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
139 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2014

The lobby is old west. It has stained glass, western decor and maybe original tile work. I like staying here for Cheyenne Frontier Days because it is near the shuttle line to the grounds but right on the parade path (which we watched from our window) and near the downtown activities. The bathroom is very 50's. They've made some updates... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
plainshotel, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Historic Plains Hotel! Your feedback is very important to us as it provides us with necessary information to share with our staff. It allows us to address any issues and to recognize our staff for their efforts and hard work. The Historic Plains Hotel is a recognized national landmark with its original... More 

Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2014

I am not one to stay in sanitized, standard hotels, so I seek the quirky, different places to stay. This hotel fit the bill. The lobby is wonderful with the original tile and great stained glass in the foyer. The staff were friendly and helpful, especially since we did not have a reservation. The bar was a great find, and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mlrmanski
plainshotel, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your review will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. The Historic Plains Hotel is considered... More 

Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2014

this review is a long time coming..we stayed at The Plains in October 2010..the reason I am writing this now is that we will be in Cheyenne again in December. My husband and I are from Australia..we were so looking forward to staying in Cheyenne and staying in an historic western hotel....we grew up on American Western television. We walked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandie56
plainshotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations in October of 2010. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. Your feedback is key to ensuring our guests... More 

Rochester
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2014

We stayed here for a one night stopover. It was nice not to be staying in another 'chain' hotel. Our rooms were old, smelt a little musty. The bed was comfy, a good size and clean. We had a walk in wardrobe, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, tv, coffee making facilities. The bathroom was 50's style with a pink bath and... More 

Helpful?
Thank TraceyABird
plainshotel, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Historic Plains Hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! More 

257 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (227)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (64)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Other (100)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheyenne hotels
2.8 km away
Days Inn Cheyenne
Days Inn Cheyenne
#3 of 32 in Cheyenne
855 reviews
2.1 km away
My Place Hotel-Cheyenne, WY
2.0 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 32 in Cheyenne
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cheyenne Southwest / Downtown Area
1.4 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cheyenne
1.8 km away
TownePlace Suites Cheyenne Southwest/Downtown Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As a historic hotel of America, The Historic Plains Hotel has been a cultural landmark and society favorite of Presidents, movie stars and cattle barons for more than 90 years. Right in the heart of downtown and surrounded by Cheyenne's greatest attractions, The Historic Plains Hotel celebrates the rich legacy of the American frontier through colors, texture, and the natural materials of the Wyoming plains. Guests can come and experience the spirit of the west. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Historic Plains Hotel

Address: 1600 Central Ave, Cheyenne, WY 82001-4693
Region: United States > Wyoming > Cheyenne
Price Range: ₹ 7,181 - ₹ 9,644 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Plains Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Historic Plains Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Plains Hotel
Historic Plains Cheyenne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Historic Plains Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Historic Plains Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Perhaps a room not on Lincolnway would be quieter?”
 of 5 bubbles ttm85, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't be afraid to ask for another room if you are not happy.”
 of 5 bubbles DGrae, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the hotel and stay in a back room”
 of 5 bubbles shaokilai, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“My complaint for most hotels.... real coffee in the rooms please :) Those pod things are tasteless or worse..”
 of 5 bubbles conniej861, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Talk to Tasha at the front desk.”
 of 5 bubbles Y347ANchristopherb, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay