We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Fern Hotel

TravelocityUS$ 78*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The Fern Hotel
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 49: English reviews
Start your review of The Fern Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

My room was barely cleaned and could noticeably see that the shower had not been cleaned. My coffee pot still had old coffee grounds in it from the person that stayed in the room before me. Needless to say, I will not be returning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara J
TheFernhotel, General Manager at The Fern Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Sara, We went through our registration and bookings report for the month of Dec and Jan. Unfortunately, we are unable to trace under the name. Could you pls. let me know which date and under whose name was the booking. I will certainly investigate and revert back. Rgds urvish

Reviewed 15 December 2016

The staff was accommodating. Our first room's heat was not working so were quickly changed to a different room. The facility is older, so rooms are a bit smaller but very clean and comfortable. We needed an early check in and that was given without any problem.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marianne F
Raj T, General Manager at The Fern Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Marianne, Thank you for your review and apologies for the inconvenience during your stay. We strive to make every effort to keep our guests happy and make their stay enjoyable. We look forward to see you in the future. Regards, Raj

Defiance, Ohio, United States
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

Great price. Friendly staff. Clean quiet rooms. Comfortable bed, Large clean pool. Hot tub (very hot!!) It is an older facility so it is a bit dated and has some cosmetic flaws but you can tell that the owners take pride in the building and are keeping it up. We would absolutely stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angie F
Raj T, General Manager at The Fern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest , Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to receive your comments about our staff and the facility. We strive to provide pleasant and enjoyable stay. We look forward to serve you again in the near future. Regards, Raj

Rhinelander
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Can't say enough about how accommodating the staff is. The rooms are very clean and the breakfast is quite good. Definitely would stay again. The hotel is well located in the city so getting around is easy.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeffreyrF9326EG
Raj T, General Manager at The Fern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It is nice to receive your comments about our staff. We pride ourselves on meeting and going beyond guest expectation. We look forward to host you again when you return in the area. Regards, Raj

Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Reviewed 5 October 2016

I called on Monday to get a room based on the price of $59 for Thursday night. However, when I called to reserve the room the date had nearly doubled. The owner said that they only had 2 rooms left therefore, he would not honor the quoted price. So sad as I called other hotels in the area and no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
Raj T, General Manager at The Fern Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Liz, Thank you for your kind review about us without staying. I was told that you made the reservation 10/02/16 @8:35 P.M. and you canceled your reservation on 10/03/16 @ 7:37 P.M. Once you canceled the reservation we can't honor the same rate if our rate has gone up. I request you to remove you review since we did...

Kaukauna, Wisconsin
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We chose to stay here based on Trip Advisor reviews which as you can see are good. We were so disappointed. When we arrived and were going to our room we couldn't get the card to open the door to enter the building. I walked back to the check-in and was told that the door was a hard one to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank allez2008
TheFernhotel, General Manager at The Fern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for your review and apologies for the inconvenience during your stay. We strive to make every effort to keep our patrons happy and make their stay enjoyable. Clearly, we have opportunities to improve and take our customers feedback very seriously. Please give us a chance again in future and in the meantime, if there is anything...

Hartford
Reviewed 22 September 2016

This is a diamond in the rough. Nice people, nice room, comfortable beds and good breakfast for the money. We enjoyed the stay and would recommend it and would return again when going in the spring to Wallie Days.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank djohn76
Raj T, General Manager at The Fern Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and the recommendation. I am glad that you had pleasant stay. We look forward seeing you again when you return to the area. Regards, Raj

Egg Harbor, Wisconsin
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Played Sand Valley Golf Club for two days and didn't want stay at the course. I was in WI Rapids at this place for one night and it was all I needed, a bed and shower. It was a hotel basic hotel room, clean, and good value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FLWICO
Raj T, General Manager at The Fern Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and review. we look forward seeing you in the future when you return to play Golf. Regards, Raj

Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Reviewed 10 September 2016

Both years I've stayed at the fern while we were there doing a job at verso. They make it feel like home away from for us construction workers while we are there. The owner and his family treat us like family and is one of the best I've ever stayed at. The staff is great and the rooms are clean...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank derekd638
Raj T, General Manager at The Fern Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Derek D for the kind words. We're pleased hear that you felt like home away from home. Our Staff take pride in their work to make your stay very comfortable. Thank you once again, and we look forward to see you in the near future. Regards, Raj

San Jacinto, California
Reviewed 29 August 2016

I was in Wisconsin Rapids for 1 night on business and chose the Fern due to its good combination of value and amenities. I was not disappointed. The property is older and could use some sprucing up here and there, but it was clean, comfortable and very economical. Breakfast was great with a large variety of options. The beds were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NotAskingForMuch2011
Raj T, General Manager at The Fern Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Fern Hotel. We're thinking about doing some remodeling in the place down the road and yes HVAC unit had energy saving switch on, therefore it would shut off after reaching at that temperature but we have fix the issue....

9 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wisconsin Rapids
1.0 km away
Sleep Inn And Suites Wisconsin Rapids
Sleep Inn And Suites Wisconsin R...
#2 of 7 in Wisconsin Rapids
98 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Mead & Conference Center
Hotel Mead & Conference Center
#1 of 7 in Wisconsin Rapids
408 reviews
0.1 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Rapids
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#3 of 7 in Wisconsin Rapids
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 km away
Best Western Plover Hotel & Conference Center
25.6 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 5 in Plover
104 reviews
25.6 km away
AmericInn Plover-Stevens Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Location Situated in Wisconsin Rapids, this hotel is within 3 mi (5 km) of South Wood County Historical Museum, Bull's Eye Country Club, and Veterans' Memorial Park. Wisconsin River Papermaking Museum and Wisconsin Rapids Zoo are also within 3 mi (5 km). Hotel Features This smoke-free hotel features an indoor pool, a 24-hour business center, and coffee/tea in the lobby. Free continental breakfast, free WiFi in public areas, and free self parking are also provided. Other amenities include a meeting room, a 24-hour front desk, and free newspapers. Room Amenities Rooms offer free WiFi, coffee makers, and flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Other amenities available to guests include free weekday newspapers, free local calls, and hair dryers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Fern Hotel

Address: 3120 8th St S, Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54494-6251 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Rapids
Price Range: ₹ 4,199 - ₹ 6,330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Fern Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Fern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Wisconsin Rapids
Wisconsin Rapids Quality Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Fern Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago
Port Washington, Wisconsin
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Fern Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all non smoking, pool and hot tub in hotel.”
djohn76, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“First floor close to the second entrance on east side. Park right by the door, unload under covered area and be to your room.”
jdb981, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“A room facing the back is quiet”
JoelT90, 4 May 2016 | Read review
“I like first floor roms close to pool, hot tub and breakfast”
yogajudy, 1 May 2015 | Read review
4 of 4
Travelocity
US$ 78* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$ 78
PricelineUS$ 78
Orbitz.comUS$ 78
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates