We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Colonial Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Colonial Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 58: English reviews
Lakeville, Minnesota
Reviewed 13 August 2015

the toilet was clogged the old white hair guy handed me the plunger. Telling me to do it. Oh my gosh, where can you find a place that the guest is being asked to unclogged the toilet. DON'T stay in this motel.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Inday810
Colonial_Motel, Owner at Colonial Motel, responded to this review

Colonial Motel Response: The customer had 2 rooms that can accommodate not more than 8 people. The guest actually had 8 additional people that were unregistered at the time of check-in that were not paid for. The room was overused based on the number of people staying. The manager had already unclogged the toilet once that day per the guests...

Saint Francis, Wisconsin
Reviewed 30 July 2015 via mobile

I have been coming to this Motel for numerous years now and I highly recommend the motel, the owners are very accommodating, staff are friendly, our rooms and grounds were immaculate, with a great aptomshere and reasonable rates. Very pleased with any concerns that might arise, are addressed promptly and respectfully. Helpful and very respectful to people with disabilities. Within...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary
Belvidere, Illinois
Reviewed 28 July 2015

The Colonial Motel has been my motel of choice each summer for the last 10 years! The owners of this motel keep it very clean and reasonably priced. It is a quiet and safe place for my daughter and I to stay. It is located in down town Dells, yet at the end of the strret so it is not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Susan M
Bensenville, Illinois
Reviewed 28 July 2015

Walking distance to the whole Wisconsin Dells Parkway strip. (Why would you visit somewhere and stay in your hotel the whole time?) My family bounced around a few places, but come back to the Colonial every year since we first stayed there. Reliable, clean, inexpensive rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Papermonkey595
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Reviewed 28 July 2015

Great motel with a very convenient location in downtown Wisconsin Dells right on the main strip. Owners are very nice and keep the motel property and rooms very clean. Motel has pool with slide and WIFI connections. We'll be returning for our next summer trip.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AGolem
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 26 July 2015

We kind of did a last minute deal where we had a reservation at another Hotel in August BUT we USUALLY do our Vacations in mid-July. Made a quick decision to scout around and see if we could find a hotel with availability in July. We found-1 Colonial Motel. (Uggh) WHAT A DUMP! Let me start by saying when you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geeman2159
Colonial_Motel, Owner at Colonial Motel, responded to this review

Colonial Motel Response: The Colonial Motel is updated yearly to include all amenities for our guests in an economy lodging setting in downtown Wisconsin Dells. For our guests we offer a budget friendly place to stay with amenities such as deluxe super-sized heated pool with two slides, wifi and walking distance to Downtown Dells area. The motel is kept clean...

Wisconsin
Reviewed 18 May 2015

I've never once left a bad review anywhere, but this motel takes the cake. This is a lengthy review, but I assure you worth the read. After reading the owners counters to all negative reviews, I will not be surprised if he drums up something for mine. I'm originally from the Dells area and most of my family and friends...

 Report
Helpful?
22Thank Tiffany B
Colonial_Motel, Manager at Colonial Motel, responded to this review

Colonial Motel Response: The guest checked in at Colonial Motel for a party of 4 people total. During the registration process the guest paid for 4 people and signed the Colonial Motel Guest Registration Policy which was presented to her upon check-in that she signed (not a piece of paper as described). This registration policy is given to all of...

Kenosha, Wisconsin
Reviewed 25 April 2015

The room was clean, but that's about all the good. It started bad when we were under the impression from an older ad that they had wi-fi available. When I inquired shortly after check-in we were RUDELY told by the owner they no longer had it because "no one uses wi-fi anymore" ! Excuse me? He was rude and argumentative...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank Eric O
Colonial_Motel, Manager at Colonial Motel, responded to this review

Colonial Motel Response: We do not understand the customers complaint. We have do not have WIFI available and also our website does not state that we have WIFI. The customer never came to the office to talk with the manager and was even told by one of our workers outside that we did not offer WIFI. In addition, we had...

MPLS
Reviewed 14 December 2014 via mobile

Rooms are fairly large for such an inexpensive motel. Parking by your room, quiet and you can walk to the strip from here. I have been here several times now. You also get great coupons from the front desk

 Report
Helpful?
Thank haug0099
Reviewed 4 September 2014

My husband and I, along with another couple, recently stayed here. (Aug. 27~29) We were looking for a cheap, clean place to stay right downtown. This place was perfect! The owners were friendly. Reservations were easy to make. We will definitely be staying here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Squid25

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
801 reviews
2.0 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#22 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
355 reviews
2.8 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Wisconsin Dells
Baymont Inn & Suites Wisconsin D...
#27 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#15 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
882 reviews
0.5 km away
Indian Trail Motel
Indian Trail Motel
#8 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
378 reviews
0.5 km away
Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Black Hawk Motel & Suites
#1 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Colonial Motel

Address: 606 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1552
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Number of rooms: 6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Colonial Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There was 3 of us, and room was 2 queen beds, so it was perfect. If you have more than 3-4 get one of the bigger rooms”
 of 5 bubbles joen144, 10 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seemed the same. It is two stories. Either you look out over the parking lot or the pool and street.”
 of 5 bubbles O3135XZmaryb, 24 Aug 2015 | Read review
“find a better motel”
 of 5 bubbles geeman2159, 26 Jul 2015 | Read review
“If you want a bit more quiet ask for a room not by the pool and in the back, but even so it was fine. Bring your own shampoo.”
 of 5 bubbles d0maa, 14 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Quieter on the back side of motel...main street is in front of hotel and there is a fair amount of traffic and a LOUD car wash.”
 of 5 bubbles kathyandjack1, 10 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5