We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Jefferson Street Inn

Show Prices
#1 of 10 Hotels in Wausau
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Jefferson Street Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

961 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Jefferson Street Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 961: English reviews
New Delhi, India
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great downtown location. Walking distance to shops, food and entertainment. Close to ski hill. Nice rooms with plenty of space and very fast internet. Fluffy towels, and nice Aveda amenities. Clean and quiet.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank s2rdess
Chicago
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked here last minute for a family ski trip! It was a lovely experience and am glad I booked here vs. a big chain hotel. The beds were very comfy...loved the down duvets, nice robes, and Aveda products. The continental breakfast was very good, and I found the staff to be friendly. Having City Diner on site was a bonus,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mlpgogreen
Rockford
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our room was dirty (dust on the clock radio and lamp), the clock registered a time two hours later and there was a dead bug on the floor. Every key we received was not activated. Desk employees were not as welcoming as you would expect. I can't understand why a boutique hotel would put out its breakfast in an area...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank S882YMbrianl
jsi-6500, General Manager at Jefferson Street Inn, responded to this review

Mbriant, Thank you for sharing your concerns, as we discussed while you checked out the dusty items are not our standards. I know that you where frustrated with the pet fee of $30 as well, but it is necessary as there is additional labor required in rooms when there is a pet. We are not able to provide our own...

Athens, WI
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

it was a wonderful night for us as we were able to walk to the grand....just disappointed in the wrong room according to what I thought i was getting but stay in general we had a very wonderful evening

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank U1413GZdjb
jsi-6500, General Manager at Jefferson Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us on such a special day. We where not able to move you to another room do to the room type being sold out. Please call us directly next time so we can help insure you get the type of room you desire. We hope you have a great holiday! All the best, Debbie

Bessemer, Michigan
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great place for the wife and I to get away for the weekend everyone was very helpful and nice. Good location with plenty of shopping and eateries close by. Treated the wife to a message and a day at the salon which both are very close by. Will definitely go back

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank shawnk932
jsi-6500, General Manager at Jefferson Street Inn, responded to this review

Shawn, So glad to hear you had a great time exploring the area and Day Spring Spa. We look forward to your return visit, there is always so much to do downtown. Hope to see you soon, All the best, Debbie & JSI Team!

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was quite, clean and comfortable. It was in the heart of Wausau. I was amazed by how the reception staff are very helpful. The breakfast was very good as well as the launch at City grill restaurant.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank shadym524
jsi-6500, General Manager at Jefferson Street Inn, responded to this review

Shadym, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience, we are delighted to hear you had such a good time and where able to relax and enjoy the property. We look forward to your return stay. All the best, Debbie & The JSI Team!

Wisconsin Rapids
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rate was way too high for hotel without brakfast and small pool. Layout of hotel is very confusing. Location to Grand Theater was great. I would expect at least a Continental breakfast to come with stay. Because we booked room for wedding block, we were not eligible. Those who booked later paid less and got breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank unimpressed163
jsi-6500, General Manager at Jefferson Street Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that you found your recent stay to be disappointing. We do our best to provide the services desired to when group blocks are setup, the person setting up the block typically requests the lowest rate possible, which does not include breakfast. However you could choose to purchase it, we will work harder at explaining that option....

Albion, Indiana
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I would recommend the hotel. The hotel rooms were very nice. We had a 5th floor room which was very quiet with very little hall traffic. The downtown location was convenient. The maids and reception staff were excellent. . The hotel restaurant downstairs had a very nice date night special which included a bottle of wine, appetizers, entrees and desert...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank henryf479
jsi-6500, General Manager at Jefferson Street Inn, responded to this review

Henry, I couldn't agree more with your comments, especially related to how quite the rooms are on the 5th floor, its like being in separate hotel with direct access to 3rd street where are the shops and entertainment is located. We hope to see you soon, City Grill changes the date night menu every month, so stay tune! All the...

Plainfield, Wisconsin
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Daughter's wedding reception. Beautiful view in reception hall. Great service, friendly staff Good meals. Elevator was extremely slow. One room key didn't work. Could have used a map with all the shops and locations. Maybe it was there?

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank aprill958
jsi-6500, General Manager at Jefferson Street Inn, responded to this review

April, Thank you for sharing your comments. We are happy to hear to where able to explore the area shops in downtown. The electronic keys are very sensitive and can stop working easily when they are around any other electronic devices, like cell phones, i- pads etc. and who doesn't have one of those :) maybe there will be a...

Antigo
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Made a last minute reservation but not the first time I stayed here. Very nice hotel with the convenience of a great restaurant. The beds are great and rooms are clean and well equipped for a comfortable stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank M8662XJwilliamb
jsi-6500, General Manager at Jefferson Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much!

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wausau
2.9 km away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 10 in Wausau
414 reviews
3.0 km away
Courtyard Wausau
Courtyard Wausau
#4 of 10 in Wausau
121 reviews
4.3 km away
Quality Inn Wausau
Quality Inn Wausau
#7 of 10 in Wausau
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
2.4 km away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#6 of 10 in Wausau
262 reviews
5.4 km away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Jefferson Street Inn is downtown Wausau's full service, luxury hotel featuring 100 suites and executive guest rooms. Pamper yourself in our warm, inviting surroundings. Unwind in your personal whirlpool bath, then slip into one of our cozy robes and relax on our pillow-top beds by the fireplace in your suite. Jefferson Street Inn is located in the heart of downtown Wausau, adjacent to the historic Washington Square shopping center. Jefferson Street Inn is a full service luxury hotel that offers sophisticated accommodations and suites, all rooms include microwaves, mini fridges, coffee makers with Starbucks coffee, Aveda amenities, large desk area and impeccable customer service. At Jefferson Street Inn, you'll enjoy a vacation in close proximity to Wisconsin attractions and activities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Jefferson Street Inn

Address: 201 Jefferson St., Wausau, WI 54403
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Price Range: ₹ 9,549 - ₹ 10,913 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jefferson Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Jefferson Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jefferson Street Hotel Wausau
Jefferson Street Wausau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Jefferson Street Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in tower have great view of plaza”
 of 5 bubbles adtalerico, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Book early if you want to stay for the festival. It was booked solid months in advance.”
 of 5 bubbles debrad927, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room not near the elevator”
 of 5 bubbles SusanM894, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I had a 4th floor room facing West, and it was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles StephenMarks, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Avoid anything above 4th floor unless you're in the suites.”
 of 5 bubbles squirt5, 2 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay