We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Victoria Inn

LateRooms.comUS$ 256*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Victoria Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

509 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 508: English reviews
Start your review of The Victoria Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

5 of us stopped for lunch, the place was packed so we sat in the lovely garden. Got drinks first then ordered food expecting a wait but food arrived within 10 mins. 3 different lunches and all were delicious especially the holkham estate beef. I live 40 miles away I will be back soon

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamesbattigan
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

You could not find a better place to eat after 2 hours walking on beautiful Holkham beach !! The staff were great ,the food was served swiftly and we definitely will be going back ! We sat outside in the sun - there is so much space and loads of different places to sit .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
HolkhamMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your great comments.

Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

AS we stayed close to Holkham we were delighted to visit the restaurant twice over a 3 day period. On both occasions the quality of the food was excellent and the service of a high standard. Local food is used where possible and the chef produces some very interesting flavours. A glass of Norfolk Black shuk to start is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
HolkhamMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We have eaten Sunday Lunch here a few times and decided we would book a weekend stay at The Victoria. The whole experience was first class and they were more than accommodating for Twiggy, our dog. The room, the ambiance, the residents lounge... perfect. Thank you 😊

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruth R
HolkhamMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your great feedback.

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We took the little dog with us and were given a very comfortable room on the first floor complete with dog basket and doggy treats. Room was on the rear of the building overlooking the courtyard which could get busy and slightly noisy. Dinner was acceptable but not outstanding and staff did there best to make us comfortable. Hotel has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank intrpid
HolkhamMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your comments.

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel was a very pleasant surprise. Our rooms were in the Ancient House, which was across from the main building. We had booked two rooms and found that one of the rooms was essentially a two room suite, with a sitting room downstairs with a television and a half bath, while the main bedroom was upstairs with a large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charles H
HolkhamMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your 5 star review and recommendation to other readers.

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was totally delighted with every aspect of this Inn. The rooms were exceptionally comfortable with heated towel bars, fine linens, tea and fresh milk in the rooms. Very peaceful and lovely. The dining was wonderful. Simple, well prepared classics. What delighted me the most was the presence of kind, well behaved dogs. They were so welcome and part of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tess2010Seattle
HolkhamEstate, Public Relations Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that your visit was satisfactory.

Suffolk
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having booked a room direct with the hotel, after about 1.5 weeks I had not received a confirmation of the booking as advised I would do. I contacted the hotel who insisted a confirmation had been sent (It appears they thought I was lying!). I requested the confirmation be sent which they did almost immediately. Unfortunately the rate was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaisyChainSuffolk
HolkhamEstate, Public Relations Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have noted your comments, which will be passed to the relevant manager for investigation and action, where appropriate.

Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I wanted to treat friends to a special lunch, and as I had been to the Victoria before and was very impressed with the food and service, I decided to take them to the Victoria. We were put in the conservatory, with a table by the window and it was perfect. As before the food was excellent and everyone was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravellerIlford
HolkhamEstate, Public Relations Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that your visit was satisfactory.

Mickleton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went for lunch whilst staying in Wells having stopped off for coffee a couple of times. It is a lovely characterful inn, owned by the Holkham Estate , with a great atmosphere and several distinct areas for eating( rather than one big room). We both chose the estate venison which was excellent- as was the staff service. Will definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mickletonians
HolkhamEstate, Public Relations Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that your visit was satisfactory.

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holkham
6.3 km away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,261 reviews
2.6 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wells-next-the-Sea
655 reviews
13.1 km away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 km away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
564 reviews
21.8 km away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
851 reviews
8.4 km away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walsingham
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Standing at the gateway to Holkham and the National Nature Reserve, The Victoria is a classic English inn owned by the Coke family and managed by the Holkham Estate. There are ten elegant, indivually designed and stylish bedrooms, all with en-suite bathrooms. We are ready to welcome more guests in spring 2015 with the addition of a further ten bedrooms just across the road from The Victoria in one of the oldest buildings on the Holkham Estate: Ancient House. The building has been converted to provide ten additional bedrooms, including four spacious family room. The sympathetic refurbishment has retained many of the building's original features, combining authentic charm with luxurious modernity. The bar and dining rooms at The Vic offer a relaxed blend of style and comfort. We serve delicious locally sourced food, much of it grown and raised on the estate, with a bold emphasis on freshness, simplicity and value. Holkham has been a leading agricultural estate since the 1800's when Thomas William Coke bought the site and the young Queen Victoria elevated him to the peerage in recognition of his contribution to farming in 1837. The name of the proposed new inn must have been inevitable when it opened its doors in 1838. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Victoria Inn

Address: Park Road, Holkham, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1RG, England (Formerly The Victoria Hotel at Holkham)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Wells-next-the-Sea > Holkham
Price Range: ₹ 13,372 - ₹ 17,524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Victoria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victoria At Holkham Hotel Wells-Next-The-Sea
Victoria At Holkham Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Victoria Inn staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Victoria Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We only had lunch and did not see the rooms .”
X239UAsarahl, 25 May 2017 | Read review
“Try front of hotel if you take your dog or try the annex apartments which are separated from the main building if you are mut less.”
intrpid, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“No need to have what are described as Large Double Rooms. Far too overpriced.”
MarkPatrick, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Room 14 "The Wilbraham" for higher priced comfort and Room 17 "Fuschia" for comfort and space at a lower price”
Tesstog, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Web-site shows every room individually”
Mikinblack, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
LateRooms.com
US$ 256* /night
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates