We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Glidden Lodge Beach Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Glidden Lodge Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 128: English reviews
Lino Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Our family has celebrated Thanksgiving in Door co. many times. For years in Egg Harbor and more recently at the Glidden Lodge. This place is so special. The rooms are well appointed and spacious. The kitchen is fully stocked with most everything you need. We had an issue with the gas fireplace and they had someone there on Thanksgiving day... More 

Helpful?
Thank LMPerez
GliddenLodge, General Manager at Glidden Lodge Beach Resort, responded to this review

I want to thank you for your review and also allowing us to be your Thanksgiving destination this year. We hope to see you again next year. What a wonderful way to spend Thanksgiving on beautiful Lake Michigan with the nice glow of the fireplace and the smell of holiday baking. Yum. More 

Kenosha, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to Door County for the first time to celebrate my wife's birthday and stayed at the Glidden Lodge on a recommendation from a friend. We were not disappointed. the room was excellent and of course the view was very nice. the room had everything we needed and the location was perfect. it was far away from everything but close... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
GliddenLodge, General Manager at Glidden Lodge Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you had a nice getaway and look forward to seeing you again. You mentioned the beautiful views as seen from your unit and also the location of feeling away from it all yet centrally located for all that Door County has to offer. These... More 

Nicollet, Minnesota
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first time here. It was perfect. The suite felt very cozy, but luxurious. Anything I wanted was there: coffee maker and coffee, TV/VCR/DVD, not that we used it much and a view that was better than a postcard. The beach was close enough we could hear the waves when we opened the window. The housekeeping was done... More 

Helpful?
Thank theguysm0m
GliddenLodge, General Manager at Glidden Lodge Beach Resort, responded to this review

We are so glad you had a wonderful first experience with us! And the weather was gorgeous for being November - wow! We like to make people feel like part of the family when they stay at Glidden Lodge Beach Resort. This includes your first experience as you walk in the lobby to check in with the front desk to... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Beautiful scenery, location, lookout. Million dollar view from every suite. Clean, well-kept, and well-maintained. Friendly and helpful staff. Bring a book or two or puzzles and card games if the weather isn't cooperating with you. We had unit 119 at the very end of the building, and we loved the entryway and extra footage. What a view of Lake Michigan!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jessica P
GliddenLodge, General Manager at Glidden Lodge Beach Resort, responded to this review

What a great idea for those windy, rainy days! The lake is beautiful to watch as the waves crash in. And feeling warm and cozy inside your suite with the fireplace on either reading a book or putting a puzzle together can melt all the stress away. We hope to see you again! We are so glad you enjoyed your... More 

Saint Louis
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2016

This was our first time staying at the Glidden Lodge. We were very pleased with our accommodations. Our room was nicely decorated, very comfortable and clean. The view of the lake is fantastic! The staff was very nice.

Helpful?
Thank mprovance
GliddenLodge, General Manager at Glidden Lodge Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. And we hope this positive experience with us is the first of many visits with us! Take care. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

My wife and I went here for our honeymoon, and it was great! The view from our room was amazing as the resort is located on Whitefish Bay! The rooms were taken care of. I highly recommend this when you are looking to get away for a relaxing week.

Helpful?
Thank thatoneguynameddale
GliddenLodge, General Manager at Glidden Lodge Beach Resort, responded to this review

Congratulations!!! We enjoy meeting newlyweds and share in their happiness. We have many guests who come each year on their anniversaries just to reconnect with each other again. Since all of our rooms offer king beds, whirlpools, and fireplaces as well of a gorgeous view of Lake Michigan it's the perfect couples get-away. Walk our sandy beach under the moonlight,... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2016

This is our 5th stay at Glidden Lodge, it is so beautiful here. The condo is very nice, we have stayed other places, very much prefer Glidden Lodge. We highly recommend it. it was discribed as a quiet place to stay, it truly is! Found out about it quite by accident!

Helpful?
Thank Barb C
GliddenLodge, General Manager at Glidden Lodge Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have many people who find out about us by accident. Many are looking for Donny's Restaurant and never knew that we had a lodging facility here. Some people have been walking along the shoreline looking at the beautiful houses along Glidden Drive and Bark Road and see us in... More 

Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Have stayed here several times. The property is beautiful and staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The resort sits on the shores of Lake Michigan. From your sliding door you can walk to the beach and dip your toes into Lake Michigan.

Helpful?
Thank taverboomen
GliddenLodge, General Manager at Glidden Lodge Beach Resort, responded to this review

Straight and to the point :) We are here to make guests feel welcome and hope they feel comfortable asking us for help as needed. Since we are so close to the beach you can walk right out from our patios or beach access doors and go soak your feet in the water and sit in the sand! OR you... More 

Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

We loved our stay! Enjoyed the home away from home feel. Very clean. Very friendly staff. Pool and spa could use some deep cleaning, overall very nice place to stay. We enjoyed our visit so much we plan on staying again soon!

Helpful?
1 Thank Tarah H
GliddenLodge, General Manager at Glidden Lodge Beach Resort, responded to this review

Hello. Thanks for the lovely review. And the pictures listed on your review post were breath taking. We are getting to that time of the year where the pool and whirlpool will be deep cleaned. Sorry you noticed the wear after a busy season. We will look into that accordingly. We hope to see you back. Our staff loves to... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Stayed for an anniversary weekend in a 1 bedroom suite. I have nothing negative to say at all. The suite was clean and comfortable and perfectly provisioned. We would definitely stay again and recommend to others. The view of the lake was fantastic and the pool and hot tub were a bonus!

Helpful?
Thank CraigMee
GliddenLodge, General Manager at Glidden Lodge Beach Resort, responded to this review

Well we hope you come visit us again! Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We have many return guests come annually on their anniversaries - we hope we can make this a tradition for you also. Take care More 

103 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
2:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
29.3 km away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
667 reviews
13.3 km away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
18.4 km away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.5 km away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
214 reviews
12.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Maritime Inn
BEST WESTERN Maritime Inn
#6 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
414 reviews
18.1 km away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#2 of 7 in Egg Harbor
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beautiful one, two, and three bedroom condo rentals on a sprawling white-sand Lake Michigan beach in a quiet, tranquil setting in Door County, WI. All units face the water and all are equipped with full kitchens, gaslog fireplaces, two-person spa tubs and most anything else you may need for a peaceful get-away or a family gathering. For those who can't leave their work behind, we provide free Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the resort. Forgot your laptop? No problem. We have a business center at your disposal off the lobby. Throw in an indoor pool, hot tub, sauna, fitness room and tennis court, and you can be as active as you want. Or just sit back with a good book while listening to the waves lap the shore. Donny's Glidden Lodge Restaurant is right next door and serves dinners only. Open year-round. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Glidden Lodge Beach Resort

Address: 4676 Glidden Dr., Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Glidden Lodge Beach Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#6 Family Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Glidden Lodge Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Glidden Lodge Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a second floor room if you want to avoid foot steps above.”
 of 5 bubbles LMPerez, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor suites have patio door access to the front lawn and beach.”
 of 5 bubbles theguysm0m, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Downstairs, Unit 119, Quiet, Peaceful”
 of 5 bubbles jessicapK2676HL, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The staff is very helpful, we've asked for the west end each stay”
 of 5 bubbles , 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“1st floor have patios so you can walk right to the lake, but people are right in front of your unit.”
 of 5 bubbles MilwTraveller, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5