We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Metro

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Metro
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

422 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 418: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Metro
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

Disappointing stay especially for the price. Paid upwards $400 for a 1-night stay in a 2-bedroom suite that was not what we expected. The 4 of us shared a large suite but there were many issues. The smaller bedroom had no door and the larger bedroom had two large cutouts (?!?) in the wall! We could hear each other from...

Thank cestlasylvie
Grafton, Wisconsin
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed here many times in the past when I have early morning meetings scheduled downtown. This time was really disappointing. I couldn't sleep because of the loud banging of the pipes all night. And no coffee in the lobby. Just a $3 8oz lukewarm coffee. It's the Pfister for me next time.

Thank RaminWI
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for fun for one night and it was great. Really uniquely designed rooms, a huge tub in the bathroom which was nice. The bed was pretty hard and valet was 27 dollars. The French restaurant in the hotel, as well as the hotel bar were both really good. Walkable to bars, restaurants, and theatres.

Thank Gigikins07
Delavan, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Great location. Easy in and out. The room was set up like a suite. Excellent minibar options at reasonable prices. The bathroom was amazing with the double tub and the shower. Comfy bathrobes. The front desk staff wasn't overly friendly but they got the job done. The bar and restaurant looked really cool however I did not eat there or...

Thank Bill P
Natasha B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience!! We greatly appreciate your honest feedback. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Milwaukee.

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

Recently stayed at this property. The hotel has a trendy vintage vibe and my room was incredibly large with a sitting area, bedroom area, and enormous bathroom with a huge tub and two entrances. Also has a good location. Recommended!

Thank lakelandalumni
Natasha B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words!! Be sure to come back to visit us again.

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 24 January 2017

As others mentioned, the pillows, even with four of them to choose from, were all hard and horrible. I went without. The mattress was also hard, lumpy and canted to the middle. But the worst was the noise from possibly "Cubanitas" or some other club/bar nearby. Went to bed at 10 and the bass throb from the music was like...

Thank hbm249
Natasha B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am disappointed to hear that you did not get a good night's rest. We do have rooms that are on a higher floor on the opposite side of the hotel, perhaps that would have been a better choice for you. We also have bell staff...

Gurnee, Illinois
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Boyfriend and I came back to hotel metro after having a great time in December 2015. We love the whirlpool suites. We were slightly bummed to see that they had replaced their restaurant with something new, but that's not to say the new restaurant isn't great. We just really loved the bruschetta and spinach dip from the old place. So...

Thank Kaitlyn B
Natasha B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. I will definitely share your kind words with our staff. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Milwaukee.

A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

The good - great location, great valet, nice servers in restaurants, fireplace in the room. The bad - really run down. Drapes were faded, frayed, most did not close. Just pretty gross. The bed was very hard and pillows awful. The room was pretty clean but there is so much cleaning up and updating needed in this hotel. The furniture...

1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Natasha B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to do some renovating in the very near future. This feedback is very helpful and much appreciated.

Vancouver, Washington
Reviewed 4 January 2017

My wife and I decided to celebrate our 12th anniversary by visiting the hotel we stayed at on our wedding night. Unfortunately the place is showing its age in the last 12 years. Don't get me wrong with the age thing, I have stayed at historic hotels in Portland and Seattle (both managed by Kimpton) and they were amazing. The...

Thank TravelnPhil
Natasha B, Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to do some renovating in the very near future. I apologize for the lackluster interaction you had with our staff, this will be addressed directly. Again thank you for taking the time to share with us, this feedback is very helpful and much appreciated. Happy Anniversary!!

Highland Park, Illinois
Reviewed 29 December 2016

We love this hotel, but they've changed the pillows and they are the worst. If you can bring your own pillows and you like a trendy hotel close to the Art Museum and lots of restaurants and bars, this is your place. And if you want, bring the dog! Soft-loft suites are the best.

Thank maureenliebenson
Natasha B, Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. This feedback is very helpful and much appreciated. We hope to see you back soon.

118 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (68)
Room/Suite (28)
Bathroom (11)
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
View from Room (1)
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (50)
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Room/Suite (27)
Dining (2)
Bathroom (5)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 55 in Milwaukee
1,777 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#11 of 55 in Milwaukee
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 55 in Milwaukee
1,449 reviews
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#17 of 55 in Milwaukee
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This historic, Art Deco inspired, hotel is located in the heart of downtown Milwaukee's Art and Entertainment District. Our suites are not just spacious, they are HUGE! Our suites range from 450 sq.ft. to 750 sq.ft. and can accommodate up to four guests per room. We are located in the middle of a very walk friendly and restaurant rich neighborhood. We are very close to Lake Michigan's waterfront, the Milwaukee Art Museum, Harley Davidson Museum, BMO Harris Bradley Center and the Wisconsin Center. Hotel Metro is a Four-Star, full-service hotel and has been fortunate enough to have been recognized as "One of the Top Hotels in the World" by Travel & Leisure Magazine, as well as "Where to Stay" by the New York Times. Most recently, we were honored with the 2013 & 2014 Excellence Award from TripAdvisor. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 411 East Mason Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202-3702
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Price Range: ₹ 12,107 - ₹ 20,223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metro 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Milwaukee
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#15 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#18 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Metro staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Metro staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't take rooms low down on the SW side.”
 of 5 bubbles hbm249, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from the elevators and don't get a room top floor with AC issues”
 of 5 bubbles MrSmokeyMountainMan, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“corner rooms are the biggest.”
 of 5 bubbles mattpR5830NG, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The Phister is right around the corner”
  • Mold in EVERY corner of the shower.
  • Different inner corner for mold
 of 5 bubbles 207spencev, 24 May 2016 | Read review
“the 5th floor was quite quiet”
  • mini bar
  • counter top and the fridge
  • dining room area
  • Living area with a love seat (not sofa as they have in the description!)
  • Deluxe Suite Queen with two TVsets
  • bright bathroom with 3 windows and big mirror
  • very spacious bathroom with Jaccuzzi
  • Deluxe Suite Queen
 of 5 bubbles Irishka60645, 2 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5